Ratings based on 524 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome place

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Everything was great beds where newer room was clean bathroom clean and spacious swimming pool was wonderful even hand patios and even had out door grills and picnic tables room was afordable with expiedia's discount it was $$66$$ and some change
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

after 12 hr. drive, it was nice to find this Hotel

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: clean and easy to find
Cons: caroet could have been cleaner
Location: Joplin, plenty to do. impressive selection of places to eat.
after 12 hr. drive, it was nice to find this Hotel, clean, easy to find, great shower, slept good. then we drove another 8 hrs the next morning to Temple Texas, got the worst Super 8 i had even stayed in. room stunk, dirty, very upsetting. I thought i could rely on Super 8, and i lost. THANK YOU DAYS IN
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Great stay small price, awesome breakfast!

Posted May 21, 2017
Recently stayed here, polite and friendly staff, great comfy room with a small balcony nice to sit outside after all day in the car. But the biggest surprise was the great breakfast buffet, eggs, potatoes, meat, biscuits, fresh fruit. No more waffles and stale Danish! Awesome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Good for a short stay! Lots of restaurant choices!

Posted May 17, 2017
Beds, pillows, bathrooms all comfortable! Breakfast was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just a overnight but we were very comfortable!

Posted May 15, 2017
It was just an overnight stay but we were very comfortable!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never happened

Posted May 12, 2017
Expedia booked this hotel when it was already full. Never stayed here. I won't use Expedia again due to this experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL.

Unbelievable!!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: Not good!
Cons: Entire Refund!
Location: Not good!
Check-in over the phone lack immediate response to return calls.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrid staff and management

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: Customer service-learn your point of sale system When mistakes happen, fix them Stop lying to customers
Location: Joplin doesn't have much for vacationers. It's a central location where KS, MO, AR, and OK come together
I stayed here while in town on business. The hotel double charged me, meaning they charged me for the room even though I prepaid via Expedia. This actually happens often and is normally not a problem. When I brought the over charge to the attention of the front desk, I requested they void the transaction. The desk attendant told me the hotel didn't have the ability to void a pending transaction, a lie. He informed my that the transaction wouldn't be closed out and would drop off. When the transaction closed, I called the hotel and spoke to the manager. She informed me that a credit had been issued three days prior, another lie. I was forced to report the transaction to Visa fraud and dispute the charge with my bank.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by KP, Hotel Management
Hello Chris! I am Sorry you had a such hassle with the property in regards to your transaction issues. It typically takes 3-5 business days for a reversal of such a charge. If you have not received your fundings then please call Jaclyn R. to further investigate into the matter and to provide you a folio of the funds being released from our end, so that way you have proof from us that it has been taken care of. Regardless, we want to help you handle this situation faster and can get in touch with your issuing bank with your permission, of course! Have a blessed day and I hope we can look past this one day in efforts to see you in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very reasonable

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Many eating places close by. Easy to find. Easy access to main street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Poor customer service

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Upon arrival to our room we discovered the toilet did not flush properly. That itself is understandable as an unforeseen issue. However, when the front desk was notified and a plunger requested, we were told to come retrieve the plunge ourselves. So the first 30 mins of our stay was spent trying to alleviate a plumbing issue without any help from the hotel staff. The end result was that the problem was unresolved and there were no other rooms like ours available to move into. It was just poor customer service to be expected to deal with a plumbing issue ourselves.