Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cuenca

One of the Best Hotels In Ecuador

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Great hotel, great staff, and connected to Mall Del Sol which is a huge convenience in the terrible traffic of Guayaquil. Will def stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Roberto Díaz, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It will be very gratifying to have you at home every time you visit Guayaquil, we have one of the best and biggest shopping center in the city where you find everything you need to your liking. Our hotel staff put into practice the slogans to leave a memorable impression on every guest, Thank you very much for your comments. Best Regards, Roberto Carlos Díaz Lemaitre General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Pool and facilities are closed certain dates

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Orbitz
I chose this hotel based on two criteria, wifi and a pool. We had one day to spend here and wanted to relax in a pool. We check in to find out the pool is closed on this specific day of the week but this information isn't listed anywhere online. I would have chosen another hotel if this was noted to me and I will think twice before booking sonesta in the future (or book another hotel outright).
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Roberto Díaz, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We regret having failed to communicate clearly and visibly through the hotel website about the pool schedule. Please accept our sincere apologies for this situation that was presented during your one night stay. We will be taking the respective measures and we have informed to our Revenue Manager for the respective update of the information of all the services that the hotel offers. We will be glad to assist you anytime. Warm Regards, Roberto Díaz General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel. The breakfast was not worthy.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Cons: The breakfast
Very nice hotel. Confortable. Next to a mall. The breakfast was not the best. Not worthy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Roberto Díaz, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It is very important for us to know how was your stay with us. Your evaluation will help us to continue providing you a high service that our guests deserves. You were our special guest and we apreciate for choosing us. We read all your comments that you let us and we pledge that we keep going. Best Regards, Roberto Carlos Díaz Lemaitre General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location close to shopping mall and airport

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Location, safety, comfort
Location: Please see comment in first paragraph.
I was pleasantly surprised by how convenient is the location of the hotel. Access to the next door mall is through a safe covered corridor so I didn't worry about the rain outside. I was by myself but felt very comfortable walking through the mall and picking up some food to bring back to my hotel room. This is the perfect location if you don't have much time to be in town and you don't know the town. Everything you need is next door, even a movie theater. The hotel has a nice bar. Unfortunately I wasn't able to get a drink because of the "ley seca" (no drinking law) that was in effect around the day of presidential elections. The staff was very friendly and facilitated my early departure; even gave me extra time for check out. For a woman traveling alone this is an excellent hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Thanks, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are grateful for having the time to let us your pleasant comments. It is very important for us to know how was your stay with us. Your evaluation will help us to continue providing you a high service that our guests deserves. We hope to see you soon, fortunately the "ley seca" is every four years, if you have any question, suggestion or additional requests, please contact us, we will be happy to assist you. You are ALWAYS WELCOME! Warm Regards, Roberto Carlos Díaz Lemaitre General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Mar 27, 2017
The reception not so well, food very good, room mmmm not so clean and feel wet all the time
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Roberto Díaz, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your comments and truly apologize for all the inconveniences that you had in our property, I would like to confirm to you that right now we are taking the right measures, our principal goal is that you have a really pleasant stay in our hotel. We really hope to have an opportunity to serve you on a nearby future and demonstrate you that we have fixed our past mistakes. On behalf of our team, thank you very much! Kindest Regards, Roberto Carlos Díaz Lemaitre General Manager
4 out of 5
by Kevin

Highly recommended

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
I've stayed there for weeks at a time. The staff is great and more than helpful. Breakfast is over priced..but very good and you can't get a better locations in the city. I will continue to stay there when on business
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Jorge Gerente General, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for writing us. Your comments are extremely important for us. Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We are looking forward to see you soon. If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us. Best Regards, Roberto Carlos Díaz Lemaitre General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Excellent nice clean very well. I will certainly recommend for others, but if you may includ the breakfast in the cost will be even better!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Roberto Díaz, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are very happy of recieve your comment. We read all your comments that you let us and we pledge that we going to improve. We hope to see you soon. If you have any question, suggestion or additional requests, please contact us, we will be happy to assist you. Warm Regards, Roberto Carlos Díaz Lemaitre General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ecuador and Canada

Typical airport hotel.

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: This is new and modern hotel - an easy choice for the traveller who wants no complications.
Cons: Soundproofing
Location: Very close to the airport and has a mall attached - safe things to do a d options to the hotel restaurant!
This is a well situated and well appointed hotel. It has a mall with good eateries and safe connections for the traveller who wants a simple stay-over before a flight. It is an excellent choice for mid-week stays BUT if there is a potential of a wedding or other social event being held (we were there on a Saturday) don't expect to sleep well. These folks absolutely love to party and the hotel is not well sound proofed or insulated so the Latin beat permeates through the floors and walls! So if you are good sleeping with earplugs - you will love this place, if not take another choice!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Roberto Díaz, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to contact us concerning your recent stay at our Hotel. Your valuable comments about our services and your kind suggestions will help us to motivate us to keep providing the service that our guests deserve. Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We are looking forward to see you soon. If you have any questions, suggestions or additional requests please contact us, we will be happy to assist you. Kind Regards, Roberto Díaz General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Great airport hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Close to the airport with free shuttle. Good price and great facilities.
Cons: The room could be aired out as it was a bit musty.
Location: N/A
We were picked up at the airport at 11:30 in the evening by a friendly driver. Check in was efficient. The room was very nice other than being a little bit musty. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We only stayed one night but overall a very pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by roberto.diaz@sonestaguayaquil.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I was very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated. Our team read your appreciation and they feel very happy having given you an unforgettable experience. Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We are looking forward to see you soon. If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us. On behalf of our team, thank you very much. Kindest Regards, Roberto Díaz General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterrey,Mexico

Nice hotel close to the airport

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Greeted by their since I set foot in the property and welcome with a courtesy drink, rooms are functional and confortable and their restaurant has a superb kitchen
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by roberto.diaz@sonestaguayaquil.com, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your latest experience with us. Your opinion certainly assist us through our continuously process of improvement. Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We are looking forward to see you soon. If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us. Kindest Regards, Roberto Díaz General Manager