Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san josé

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: nice arquitecture
Cons: more information about things to do, both on the internet and upon arrival (minigolf, spa, tours,..) I didn't know about many things until the lastday
I was looking for some peace and tranquility surrounded by nature and that is exactly what I found. The hotel is nice and the thermal pools are amazing. But what I enjoyed most was sitting in the river, which is also fed by hot springs. A very special experience!
4 out of 5
by Oscar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leesburg, VA

Horrible staff

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Birds, toucans, parrots
Cons: Front desk staff
Location: Hot springs, Arenal volcano
Management should fire all the front desk staff and replace with someone professional at this place. We booked a spa service with the hotel and the only appointment they had was around noon. By the time we got back, they put all our stuff out and forced vacating the room. We even told them we will pay extra for late checkout and they said thats okay for upto an hour and we can pay. But even before we got back (it was only half hour beyond checkout time), our poor kids were dragging the suitcases out of the room. Ridiculous. On top of this, their attitude is so rude. If they change their attitude, this could be a good place.
4 out of 5
by Mario A.

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Ease to access,very good service and perfect to relax at the river of termal waters
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Beds were uncomfortable and made without covers (sheet only). Pillows and bathroom linens were old and threadbare. Buffet style meals were subpar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds and nature, but lacking maintena

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel is built right on a thermal spring. The river springs are amazing as is the steam room built just over the origin. I would go back just for that. That said, there is a bar by the pool area that was not staffed for half the evening, we were missing towels in our room, and one room had no bedspreads. The staff did correct the situation promptly. Not luxury, but natural beauty. The rooms need maintenance and updating
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle,wa

Tired and not well organized

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Pool area was comfortable though limited chairs and chaise lounges.
Cons: Rooms small and need updating especially bathrooms,beds,pillows,linens.
Location: We were only there to catch a tour to river two hours north..
Uncomfortable beds,terrible pillows,principally a tour group stop but also Mexican families to enjoy pool and spa.. Food o.k. ,dinnerabuffet or menu,breakfast o.k.but very limited..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: The Volcano water and the river.
Cons: air conditioning.
Nice hotel. I enjoyed everything except that they did not have air conditioning like the advertising states. Not that is needed with the nice weather, but just a thought. Overall I was satisfied.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
food very expensive...and no that good there are rooms with no ac.. they smell...the water is soft.. .5 for the boys that welcome you at the restaurant..nice people... .alex,is at the front desk very bad service...all others just fine...its too bad because it is a nice place...but i think there have to be better options
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel scenery

Posted Aug 21, 2016
It was a nice and fancy hotel. I wish that breakfast, lunch, and dinner was offered but only a breakfast plan was offered. I think there should be more activities at the hotel.