Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Texas

Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: The Volcano water and the river.
Cons: air conditioning.
Nice hotel. I enjoyed everything except that they did not have air conditioning like the advertising states. Not that is needed with the nice weather, but just a thought. Overall I was satisfied.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel scenery

Posted Aug 21, 2016
It was a nice and fancy hotel. I wish that breakfast, lunch, and dinner was offered but only a breakfast plan was offered. I think there should be more activities at the hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anahein, Ca

Old hotel need improvement

Posted Jun 18, 2016
I have been in this hotel several time, I recon and to my group, they were very disappointed. Very low light in reception area and all lights for the general area were turned off, the breakfast was very cheap, pool was dirty and more
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heredia

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Pros: The breakfast is great at least for me every day "gallo pinto" Costa Rica typical food very nice.
Cons: The TV can be change for a new model, maybe some rooms can have A/C, better training on the front desk
Well this is a nice hotel, but they should improve in some places, they have old TV on the rooms, no A/C and I believe because the place is cold but in some times of the day is a little hot, they send us to a room and was not ready and when we speak with the front desk looks is normal since they not even apologize. Is details but overall is a nice hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One day

Posted Oct 12, 2015
The spa is excellent, but not the hotel,...............................................
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CR

Nice Hotel, but not that nice to be a 4 star hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: The thermal water at the river
Cons: Overall service and room improvements like TV, A/C.
Location: n/a
Nice Hotel, but as a 4 start hotel, there a lots of things that need to be improved. Room was ok, but it didn't had A/C (which said they had when I booked it), also the TV was a very small and old TV (like 16 to 20 inch TV). Old towels, some of them ripped at their sides. Breakfast buffet was ok, but not too many options to have. Nice pool and Excellent river thermal water. Hotel staff was ok, but at the restaurant no one helped us at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful natural environmeny

Posted Aug 1, 2015
The Hotel has a great resource in its thermal waters and wooded surroundings. The Stone sauna was an added surprise.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Terrible Hotel!!!

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: Terrible Hotel, nothing! Just the restaurant location besides the river is good.
Cons: Everything, is a old and terrible hotel.
Location: San Carlos and specially La Fortuna is beutiful, so please, don't stay in this hotel, go to La Fortuna.
Terrible facts: 1) I booked in Expedia and it says the Hotel has free wifi... well they only have wi fi in the restaurant and the lobby but they dont have wifi in the room! 2) The room was old, lack of privacy because it has a huge window in the front door so you could hear everything has anybody could hear you inside when the people has to pass at the side of your windows to go to others rooms. 3) The TV is a joke... is like a Ipad side old TV. 4) There is no A/C that could be a good idea in the humity tropical area. 5) The bathroom is too old, no towels so I have to call to bring some so old towells like the ones. 6) The sheets of the bed has a hole... and when you think that could be the worst... 7) The pillow smell sweat... the sheets don't smell fresh but the pillows smell sweat :-) ... because it was late at night I just dont (cant) use the pillows... at other hour I will move to another hotel, hostal or whatever because I am sure that any other Hotel in San Carlos, small or not, wont give you a bed with sweat pillows but any way, I stayed... I wish that the night will pass as fast as possible. 8) The breakfast is ok, you could sit in a balcony and see the river that is just at the side and the mountain in the other side. 9) I paid $95 and I feel terrible, because $60 will be expensive for the old and terrible conditions... but the worst part is that somepeople pays $130... no way!! I have made a lot of reviews in tripadvisor, this is the first time that I ha
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Paradise property.... hotel left in the past....

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Natural hot pools Trails
Cons: Everything related to room quality and general services: in room amenities, restaurant, indoor / outdoor activities.
Location: The hotel is placed in a location where really is to spend within hotel area. Not really much around.
El Tucano property is beautiful, with natural river and trails to walk.... but highly disappointing how the hotel has been left in the past... you can definitely see the lack of investment and strive to bring the hotel into the new century. Rooms are OK in size, but so very much left without amenity (in particular important in a place where rain is always present). 10" Box TV, no coffee maker or in-room amenities (even charge extra to use the safety box)... bathrooms good in size, yet, not even a dryer. Bed... OK, yet the cover seem to have been the same from 10 years ago. With all the options near by (in particular Arenal) the hotel should really try to serve better to their guests to make their in-room / facilities experience more enjoyable. WIFI only in specific areas (lobby, restaurant), which is challenging specially as Mobile Signal in the area is quite bad (didn't have in my room). I know that part of the enchant of being in this type of hotel is to disconnect from the world, nevertheless, that does not mean that hotel shouldn't strive to cater for all type of guests. Some 15 years ago I believe it was a great place.... today.... it is the same place it was 15 years ago... left in the past... seems that there is no way that this place will compete with others in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay, very relaxing.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Hot water
Cons: Tell the restaurant staff to pay attention to the customers. Some are amazing but others...
Location: Aqua Varcas has good cheap restaurants and grocery stores.
Overall I would recommend and return. Some of the restaurant staff were amazing and some completely ignored us. I would have liked to have had a wilderness path to walk through. Pools were lovely and the steam room really hot!