Ratings based on 6 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Needs improvements

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: The lady that checked us in was very polite and nice. The bed was comfortable
Cons: Needs to be updated and be advertised correctly only web-sites like Expedia. Nice quiet area.
Location: We didn't look for anything, spent time elsewhere
Planned a week-end trip to Fredericksburg Texas but all the rooms were booked. Found this motel and by the pictures, reviews and only have two rooms left according to Expedia website, thought it was a good deal. We arrived around 3 and checked in long enough to put suitcases in the room. When we returned later did we find out the rooms needed a lot of repairs. The curtains was missing several hooks, plaster in the bathroom off over the shower head and on the ceiling, shower head sprayed water everywhere, chair was filthy, pillows flat and one pillow had yellow stains on it, A/C cover was dirty and taped on, and no wash rags. We didn't have wifi or continental breakfast which we paid for. We were the only customers there that night yet the website showed on two rooms left.
1 out of 5
by Mitchell

Don't even waste your time.

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
This motel is ridiculous. I gave it the benefit of the doubt based on the pictures online. Those pictures are in no way reflective of its dilapidated state. The wall covering in the bathroom was peeling, the mini-coffee pot had to be moved to find a plug that it could reach, and the state of the floors and bed were questionable. The A/C did not even have a cover on it. In addition to this, the front lobby was not open from the time I checked in until the time I checked out (which was through placing a key card in a window). I did a walk around the facility and found broken down vehicles with cords running from the rooms to their engine compartments, as well as hanging wires and broken furniture/appliances placed on the walkway. Their was an old tennis court with broken cement and bushes growing through, and there was a disgusting pool area that was emptied. Do yourself, and your family and friends, a favor and avoid this location!
3 out of 5
by Jack from Iowa

Good value overall

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
New owners working hard to renovate facilities and provide expected services. My overnight was as expected: quiet and comfortable. Older air conditioner was not as quiet as newer ones, but temp was such that I didn't need it after retiring. Electric outlets: one not working, and one needed for coffee maker where its located.
3 out of 5
by jerry

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your response. We understand that you have various choices of lodging and appreciate that you have selected our property. We look forward to hosting you again. Hotel Management Team
4 out of 5
by Brian

clean room

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
Room was clean. Water was hot. We stayed for two days while we were in the area. Dont expect a 5 star hotel but if you need a clean place to stay and a decedent price. This will work well
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2016 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and look forward to hosting you again. River Valley Inn and Resort Management Team
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Economical hotel away from town

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Very nice. The room was clean and comfortable. The grounds were well kept and very scenic. The staff was super friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016 by River Valley Inn and Resort Management, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. The hotel staff is constantly striving to better your staying experience. It is the guest reviews that serve as a encouraging tool as well as a tool to improve our performance. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again.