Ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AK.

Old rooms

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: not much
Cons: everything
Location: For a hotel located in the state capital downtown it is very shabby and unkept. Nearby looked in better shape and was upgraded but the Prospector!
There was hair everywhere especially in the restroom. The bed was small and old. Their was two top sheets used for bed and the bottom one was very small and ends up uncomfortable and wadded up easily. The room was barren, old and quite empty. No guest bottled water. Very noisy along main highway but view was good. TV is very small. It just needs a remodel and better cleaning help.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the staff was really nice. close to beach

Posted Aug 9, 2016
One of the employee staff was really nice and also the maids. They need to upgrade their furniture. Buffet breakfast is a bit expensive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Alaska

Posted Jul 30, 2016
For it's age this was a very well kept hotel. We ate at the restaurant in hotel for dinner and breakfast. Both were very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

SERVICE,SERVICE, SERVICE

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Excellent service by all hotel staff, especially the front desk personnel.
Location: The hotel is located on the waterfront within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions. The State Museum next door is a must visit.
From our arrival to our checkout, the service we received could not have been better. Our room was large and well appointed. Our wi-fi connection was fast and efficient. We would return gladly at any time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cottonwood, CA

GREAT STAY IN JUNEAU

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Made our trip work after the Ferry had to go to dry dock & we were stranded with a family of nine with four generations including a one year old.
Cons: Just perfect & client oriented.
Location: Location, location, close to everything & just so easy to do what is important to you.
Great location with a Staff (Rodney & Steve)) so helpful & can answer with important information. Thank you Staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford, MS

Good choice in an older hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Location right by the harbor for the cruise ships, which makes for a wonderful view
Cons: No elevator to or from guest rooms on the ground floor (main entrance is on second floor)
Location: Lots of good shopping and restaurants nearby, including the excellent Sandpiper Cafe.
Everything was fine. Good rooms, good reception. Free wifi.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs modernization

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Views out to the water
Cons: See above
Location: Easy walking distance to downtown and tourist attractions
You can hear through the very thin walls - neighbors talking as well as the loud flow of water from adjacent bathrooms. Had to wear ear plugs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Hot shower and fresh news. Good Internet. I stayed in my room, so not much to comment on.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Solvang, CA

Past it's prime

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Cons: remodel
the hotel was fine, old, and didn't seem very clean. the room was hot and stuffy - a portable fan was in the closet, but we just opened the windows as the thermostat on the wall didn't work. bedspreads are circa 1970, and bathroom probably updated about then. We only stayed overnight, so it was bearable - but definitely in need of a face lift.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Nice hotel right by the water

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Didn't stay long as had to be up at 3.45 am to catch a ferry. Staff were super helpful in ordering a cab and helping us in every way.