Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing like the pictures

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Great location, short walk to everything in downtown Juneau.
Cons: Complete updating of the entire hotel.
Location: Easy walk to everything in downtown Juneau
Very outdated, marginally clean, nothing like the pictures on their website.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Stay over prior to leaving on our small ship cruis

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Check in staff was friendly and helpful. The concierge gave us a great recommendation for dinner.
I was surprised to see the long line waiting to check in when we arrived just after 3 p.m. Some were complaining they had to wait 1-2 hours to check in....something about a computer malfunction. Given that there were cruise ships departing and arriving I would have thought they would have been better prepared for the crowd. We did have to stand in line to check in...but our room was ready on time,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hayward, California

Hotel in Juneau, Alaska

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The central location & adjacent Taxi stand were a big plus. The relatively affordable price, wasn't bad either.
Cons: It would have been nice to have a "user guide" for the TV. It was really complicated & I was unable to figure out how to make it work.
Location: Are your kiddding me. All of old downtown Juneau. Enough said!!!!!
I really enjoyed the civilized comforts of this gem in Juneau, Alaska. I just got off the plane from 12 days river rafting. It was refreshing to be back among the land of creature comforts. I especially enjoyed the fine dining in Juneau. It was really comforting to have the Taxi stand right outside the hotel. Sincerely yours; Thomas Hartmann Thartmann68@yahoo.com
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ashland, OR

The Westmark Baranof

Posted Aug 6, 2016
This hotel is very close to downtown activities, and the State Capitol, making it very convenient. The morning cafe area is a bit dated but has excellent food for breakfast. The elevators are small, as are the rooms. The bathrooms have no fans, and the toilet was exceptionally loud. The rooms are small, and have no drawer/storage space. They are also somewhat noisy. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The concierge was outstandingly friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Don't waste your time or money. This hotel has decent staff but horrible rooms, parking and cleanliness. Room had a horrible smell, with stained curtains and gross furniture. Suites are very expensive and NOT even worth it at all for the size and offering inside. They need to make some major adjustments to this hotel and it could have great potential, but until then stay away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Close to downtown but Street noisy.

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: The concierge Keli was great. Got us signed up for our outings with no problems. Fun personality.
Cons: The noise issue on the street out front. People yelling etc all night.
Location: Whale watching tour, Tracy Arms boat tour, Mt Roberts Tram, Glacier tour, Salmon Bake, watching the cruise ships go in and out, great seafood, Red Dog
The actual location puts you within walking distance of most everything in town. At night the street in front of the hotel was noisy all night from the drunks etc. From the bars down the street. Be ready to keep your window closed. Perhaps management could talk to the JPD about night patrols. During the day police are present in down with officers walking, on bikes, and cars. The food in Juneau is great and everyone we talked to was very nice. We were there 12 days and had a new experience every day. Whale watching, full day on Tracy Arms boat tour, seeing glaciers, wildlife. Had a great time overall. Glad we flew in as we had time to see and do what we wanted where the cruise ship people missed out on a lot.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitehorse

Perfect location, quiet but right downtown.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Location. Ambience of what was once quite a grand hotel.
Cons: It would be nice to have a dining room again. Rooms are small but practical and clean.
Location: You can walk to practically everything.
Clean, quiet, good staff. Good breakfast room but no dining. Nice coffee shop attached to lobby. Everyone was accommodating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy, old hotel, great location

Posted Jul 6, 2016
It's an old hotel so rooms and bathrooms are small. They've made an effort to have modern furnishings and amenities. The biggest problem is the walls offer zero sound proofing. You can clearly hear conversations in the next rooms (no privacy here!) The walls are unframed, one layer - you can tell because the electrical runs on the outside of the walls. The only thing to really recommend it is the location. It does have free wi-fi and free parking (though the lot has tiny spaces and is often full).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Staff was not very helpful and amenities were not what I expected based on the price
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Located in the heart of town but very tired hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Noisy, dirty, tired property. It's almost the only bigger place in town but beyond noisy in any of their rooms.