Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Don't waste your time or money. This hotel has decent staff but horrible rooms, parking and cleanliness. Room had a horrible smell, with stained curtains and gross furniture. Suites are very expensive and NOT even worth it at all for the size and offering inside. They need to make some major adjustments to this hotel and it could have great potential, but until then stay away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, WA

Close to downtown but Street noisy.

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: The concierge Keli was great. Got us signed up for our outings with no problems. Fun personality.
Cons: The noise issue on the street out front. People yelling etc all night.
Location: Whale watching tour, Tracy Arms boat tour, Mt Roberts Tram, Glacier tour, Salmon Bake, watching the cruise ships go in and out, great seafood, Red Dog
The actual location puts you within walking distance of most everything in town. At night the street in front of the hotel was noisy all night from the drunks etc. From the bars down the street. Be ready to keep your window closed. Perhaps management could talk to the JPD about night patrols. During the day police are present in down with officers walking, on bikes, and cars. The food in Juneau is great and everyone we talked to was very nice. We were there 12 days and had a new experience every day. Whale watching, full day on Tracy Arms boat tour, seeing glaciers, wildlife. Had a great time overall. Glad we flew in as we had time to see and do what we wanted where the cruise ship people missed out on a lot.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitehorse

Perfect location, quiet but right downtown.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Location. Ambience of what was once quite a grand hotel.
Cons: It would be nice to have a dining room again. Rooms are small but practical and clean.
Location: You can walk to practically everything.
Clean, quiet, good staff. Good breakfast room but no dining. Nice coffee shop attached to lobby. Everyone was accommodating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy, old hotel, great location

Posted Jul 6, 2016
It's an old hotel so rooms and bathrooms are small. They've made an effort to have modern furnishings and amenities. The biggest problem is the walls offer zero sound proofing. You can clearly hear conversations in the next rooms (no privacy here!) The walls are unframed, one layer - you can tell because the electrical runs on the outside of the walls. The only thing to really recommend it is the location. It does have free wi-fi and free parking (though the lot has tiny spaces and is often full).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Staff was not very helpful and amenities were not what I expected based on the price
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Located in the heart of town but very tired hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Noisy, dirty, tired property. It's almost the only bigger place in town but beyond noisy in any of their rooms.
3 out of 5
by Mark from Anchorage, AK

Baranof

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
In town for State Business, could not beat the location for access to the Gov't buildings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok hotel but over priced for what it is

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Location: location is great for the downtown area
the gentlemen that works in the bar is not a very pleasant person as well as he has terrible interpersonal communication skills in front of customers. The rest of the hotel staff is great! Including the café staff they are wonderful as well and I highly recommend the Northern Light as a delicious breakfast option. The rooms are nice however due to age of building you can hear everything going on in the hallways and the rooms next to you as well as what is going on at night on the streets. There is no air and the rooms get stuffy however if you open the window you get all of the late night street noise which there is a lot of.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by RAHUL from New York

Juneau

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
Needs a significant facelift