Ratings based on 376 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect place to stay in Juneau

Posted Jul 19, 2017
This was my second time staying at the Westmark Baranof Hotel. I was there 2 months ago, and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Juneau. Great people work here, including the concierge, Keli. Our rooms were clean, there's a great coffee shop in the hotel, and it's walking distance to everything. It was a great place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

The rooms are just too small.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Staff and restaurant.
Cons: The building is just old.
Location: It is on the main shopping street with a distillery and great sporting goods store across the street.
The staff was helpful. The maids were great. The restaurant was also good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted May 23, 2017
It was great to be able to walk to many places from our hotel. Easy to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel in a central location.

Posted May 23, 2017
We frequently stay at the Baranof. Wonderful staff and a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

Close to everything

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Ambiance, friendliness of the check-in staff, reasonable rates for the "off" season.
Cons: A more cheerful morning cafe waiter?
Location: Tons of shopping. Unfortunately I was there on a Sunday when there were no cruise ships so all the cool shops were closed.
Since I live and travel in Alaska, I was not disappointed with the conditions of the hotel. I see previous posters complained about how dated their room was and that the elevator made funny noises. I feel it adds character, and I was quite delighted by the ambiance here. I think it's a charming hotel and I thought the rate for the king-sized bed suite was quite reasonable. I will be back for another stay in a couple weeks so I can do some serious shopping at the Native American art shops. The staff was great, except the waiter in the cafe was a bit dour. I loved the original oils in the lobby, and the lovely hanging baskets along the sidewalk. I look forward to my next stay.
4 out of 5
by Jerry

April 2017 hotel stay.

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel room was very warm. I had to open the window. The walls are very thin and you can hear your neighbors conversations. The two ladies at the front desk could not be any nicer. They are a real asset to the hotel. I am not sure I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Nikki

Always a pleasure

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
I've stayed in the historic Baranof Hotel for years. Yes the rooms may be small but they are lovely. Usually have a view of mountains. Convenient downtown walking!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 3, 2017
This hotel is old and a bit run down. I'm 5.8 and had to kneel to get my head under the shower as the shower head was so low. The floor and rooms were extremely hot with no way to alter the room temp. Check in was wonderful the restaurant staff not so much. I waited 40 minutes in a mostly empty restaurant for a like warm burger And cold greasy fries. Parking is poor and with the snow hazardous. I would not recommend anyone stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Radiator in my room ran hot even with the valve turned off and made some strange noises. Enough to wake me up one night. The shower/bathroom was a bit small.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not convincing

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Maitre de in the hotel restaurant (the cafe).
The restaurant (cafe) staff is excellent, the maitre de has great client servicing skills. The rest of the hotel is quite old and needs significant renovations.