Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great place, in Downtown, walk to all!

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: In downtown, could walk anywhere.
Cons: Dinner in off-season? Yet, I was alone everywhere I toured, that was great!
Great staff, great service..... Desk clerk very helpful and kind. Service staff, awesome job!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Een heel eenvoudig hotel, maar met aardige mensen!

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Alles ziet er niet heel luxe uit, maar dit wordt door de vriendelijke bediening geheel gecompenseerd.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older facility but clean and acceptable

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Close to everything on the main street. Breakfast was good. Nice staff.
Cons: Lobby is dark and outdated. Elevator is slow and makes very scary noises.
Location: Everything in downtown Juneau is close together, so the location is pretty good.
This hotel is like walking into the 1950s. Retro decor is interesting. Room on top floor was clean, spacious, quiet. Nice staff. Sadly, I left my Fitbit in the room at checkout, but after one phone call that afternoon, the housekeeping supervisor mailed it to me within just a few days. Incredible!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Fine for what it is. Very close to Mt. Roberts for hiking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

High expectations?

Posted Sep 1, 2016
The Baranof Hotel is supposedly one of the nicer ones in town. We usually stay at 4 star expedia ratings or higher but the hotel selection did not offer this. The hotel is in a great location. Walking distance to downtown. The rooms were clean but outdated. The door stuck so 1 out of 3 times had to actually kick the door in to enter. We had unusually warm weather so was hot in the room. Had the window open but then could not sleep through all the street noise and I am not a light sleeper. If you choose to stand near the front door, beware that everyone in the rooms above can clearly hear your conversations. The staff was very nice so made up for my lack of sleep. Juneau is a great town. Go see Karl@Woohoo travel at the excursion booths by the cruise ships. He will hook you up with whale watching and glacier tours by helicopter......awesome!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, u could walk to everthing

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: well maintained. Breakfast was good. friendly staff
Location: ride the tram up the mountain, lots of dining choices, shopping, all with in walking distance
we loved the location, you can walk to shops, restaurants and tourist activities. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing like the pictures

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Great location, short walk to everything in downtown Juneau.
Cons: Complete updating of the entire hotel.
Location: Easy walk to everything in downtown Juneau
Very outdated, marginally clean, nothing like the pictures on their website.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Stay over prior to leaving on our small ship cruis

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Check in staff was friendly and helpful. The concierge gave us a great recommendation for dinner.
I was surprised to see the long line waiting to check in when we arrived just after 3 p.m. Some were complaining they had to wait 1-2 hours to check in....something about a computer malfunction. Given that there were cruise ships departing and arriving I would have thought they would have been better prepared for the crowd. We did have to stand in line to check in...but our room was ready on time,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hayward, California

Hotel in Juneau, Alaska

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The central location & adjacent Taxi stand were a big plus. The relatively affordable price, wasn't bad either.
Cons: It would have been nice to have a "user guide" for the TV. It was really complicated & I was unable to figure out how to make it work.
Location: Are your kiddding me. All of old downtown Juneau. Enough said!!!!!
I really enjoyed the civilized comforts of this gem in Juneau, Alaska. I just got off the plane from 12 days river rafting. It was refreshing to be back among the land of creature comforts. I especially enjoyed the fine dining in Juneau. It was really comforting to have the Taxi stand right outside the hotel. Sincerely yours; Thomas Hartmann Thartmann68@yahoo.com
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ashland, OR

The Westmark Baranof

Posted Aug 6, 2016
This hotel is very close to downtown activities, and the State Capitol, making it very convenient. The morning cafe area is a bit dated but has excellent food for breakfast. The elevators are small, as are the rooms. The bathrooms have no fans, and the toilet was exceptionally loud. The rooms are small, and have no drawer/storage space. They are also somewhat noisy. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The concierge was outstandingly friendly and helpful.