Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Charming hotel, walking distance to beach

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: We loved everything about the hotel, especially the owners and staff. Very kind, friendly, and helpful. We hope to return again!
Location: Location is remote. 5-minute walk to beach. Grocery store 3 minutes by car. Turtle hatchling release at nearby beach. Many beaches accessible by car.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mundo Milo Eco Lodge. It is definitely off the beaten path, but well worth the drive. If you are looking for peace and quiet, want to get away from the tour group crowds, and be near the beach, then this is your place. The owners and staff make your stay extra special, and you are treated as if you're part of the family. Rooms were spacious, modern, and comfortable. We had A/C, a large fan, and a mini-fridge, as well as some dishes, silverware, and glasses, should we need them. The bathroom was large and very modern. The restaurant on site was excellent! Lieke and her staff offer an excellent selection of dishes and can accommodate meals to meet your dietary needs. They also have a very tasty Sushi Night on Tuesdays. A copious breakfast was also served every morning, which included fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, juice, tea, coffee, bread, eggs, gallo pinto (Costa Rican rice & beans), etc. You can walk to the beach in about five minutes. It's very secluded and you won't see many people on the beach. You can also walk to other beaches during low tide for good swimming and snorkeling. Lieke and Michiel were extremely knowledgeable about the area and were extremely helpful in giving advice, directions, etc. Because their lodge has just five units, they are able to cater to to the needs of their guests. This is a hidden gem and well worth the drive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nature friendly hotel with great food.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Cons: A. C. in rooms.
Location: Drove to a nearby beach to snorkel. The local beach has a turtle egg protection and release program. Very quiet beach, no crowds, great swimming !
A small hotel with 3 cabinas, pool and restaurant. Food was amazing, pool refreshing and about 500 metre walk to the beach. Very helpful staff. Comfortable room but did not cool off much at night when the temperature is 35 C. in the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Owners take care of you.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: Just very pleasant.
Cons: It doesn't pretend to be a fancy resort. It is pleasant with attentive owners.
Location: Close to beach and other restaurants.
I booked based on price and reviews and I agree with positive comments by others. I particularly enjoyed the food that was excellent at a reasonable price served in an open air restaurant with a nice atmosphere. Playa Junquillal is the polar opposite of the Tamarindo vibe. Beautiful deserted beaches yet a surprising choice of accommodations and good restaurants. Don't miss it and try an evening meal at Mundo Milo even if they are fully booked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Beautiful ecolodge very close to the beach

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The cottage was well equiped with everything you need, and the restaurant was amazing. The owner is a great cook and breakfast is incredibly good.
Cons: The road to get to the ecolodge is not paved and very dusty. I guess that cannot be improved by the hotel owners.
Location: walking distance from Junquillal beach, there is a small grocery store nearby and a good restaurant besides it.
We really enjoyed our stay at Mundo Milo, it was conveniently located very close to the Junquillal beach, which is very private and beautiful. It has a nice pool to cool down and a nice area to relax, read or socialize. Their restaurant is the best option for dinner, affordable prices, good wine and gourmet food prepared with care, love and fresh ingredients. You can enjoy the visit of monkeys and birds in the nearby trees.
5 out of 5
by Jasmine

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
We had a good stay at Milo Mundo Eco lodge. It is very clean and welcoming. The food is excellent. You want to have a car if you're staying there. It is a little off the beaten path and you can count 15 minutes to get to the beach. The pool is really nice and refreshing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Great Eco Lodge

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Location. Food. Pool.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beaches
Fantastic eco lodge in the forest a few minutes walk from an awesome, deserted beach. A true tropical paradise. Cabinas are spacious and comfortable. We stayed in the cabina without air conditioning - but the ceiling fan and table fan kept the cabina very comfortable. Food - especially the Sushi - was excellent. The pool was great. Very friendly staff. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by Emily

Romantic gettaway

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
My husband and I absolutely loved staying here. Leike and Miechel go above and beyond to help and take care of you, and they pay attention to every detail. Breakfast is fabulous - crepes, espresso, fresh fruit, homemade yogurt, and real eggs. They also serve high quality dinner at night for purchase (local & European Cuisine), and it's such a romantic setting. The black sand beach is very close as well as many other beaches. We almost never visit a place twice, but I loved it so much, I'm thinking about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Friendly staff, environmentally conscious

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Location: Location is remote, but great for nature walks, beaching, surfing and fishing.
We've stayed all over Costa Rica, and this is for the money one of the best. The owners are always around and working hard to create fabulous food and the best mixed drinks using natural ingredients we've found in CR. Price is really low for what they are offering. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Your own quiet paradise in the jungle

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Location: The kayak estuary tour was wonderful
This was a wonderful place to stay. The host and hostess are extremely helpful and go out of their way to make your stay the best. The food is 5 star and the service exceptional. It is walking distance to the quiet peaceful beach.
5 out of 5
by Elena

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels