Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Old hotel in the mountains outside Geneva.

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Owner was trying to make our stay enjoyable. The room is small but complete and clean. Parking was close and free.
Location: The town is very small but picturesque. It is in the Alps and is a ski area for Geneva. It was cold in the last of May; ice on the windshield in the m
Excellent value in a very nice little French mountain town. The lady that is the owner is limited in English but functional. The restaurant is open for dinner and the breakfast is excellent.
4 out of 5
by Celine from Hamilton

Old hotel with character

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed one night at Le Soleil. This small hotel is in a small village in the Jura region in the Alps. The hotel is what you can expect for a hotel from 1740. Small room but clean. The staff very welcoming and friendly. We would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Australia

Comfortable hotel in the middle of the village.

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The staff went out of their way to please.
Location: Short drives and walks throughout the region.
Very comfortable rustic hotel centrally located. Staff, although not fluent in English, were extremely accommodating and tried very hard to ensure our comfort. Would recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
by QINGBO from Castro Valley, CA

nice stay

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
We booked two rooms. The host was very nice. I was especially impressed by the little town - serene, cute with gorgeous views. We had Fondue for dinner. It was delicious. The breakfast looked beautiful but unfortunately we didn't have the time to enjoy it. My daughter left the phone in her room and the host kept it for us. We went back and picked it up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wrexham, Wales

Posted Aug 12, 2015
The hotel owner/manager was very friendly and helpful, she really made us feel at home. We will definitely stay again if we are visiting that area again.
4 out of 5
by David from Cockermouth

Good base for the Haut Jura

Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly basic hotel. Good base for the area. Good value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice hotel in the mountains

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Good price, convenient to Geneva.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Must be great for winter sports enthusiasts (which we are not). But such a locale is delightful in other seasons as well.
The tortuous road from Gex to Mijoux is well worth the trip because Hotel le Soleil was a great place to spend a quiet night, at least in mid-June. In ski season this village would be hopping with activity, but in mid-June it was quiet and delightful. The hotel staff were gracious and generous.
3 out of 5
by Philip from Las Vegas

Quaint older hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is an older quaint place with a charming owner. The room was comfortable and generally acceptable. Overall condition was what one should expect from a building that must be at least 100 years old. Breakfast was very good. The area is a ski location high in the mountains. Getting there is an experience as one winds up about 100 hair-pin turns, and probably 6 or 7,000 feet in altitude from the highway on the Swiss side of the mountain. Not hard to find with a GPS. The biggest drawback is the lack of an elevator (lift). Two long flights of stairs with luggage is a challenge.
5 out of 5
by Geoff from melbourne

how far?

Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels
lovely hotel, but the website said 13 miles or 21 km from geneva, but it is really 44 km up steep mountain road with hairpin bends. The website on hotels .com is misleading and must be fixed. The hotel itself was very nice
4 out of 5
by Andrew from Alfreton, UK

Quick ski getaway...

Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay and a nice hotel which was adequate for our needs.