Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst bed ever

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Location was ok.
Cons: Too much too write here.
Location: Ok restaurants nearby. Beach walking.
In over 40 years of traveling this was the first time I have ever complained about a room.The bed was so bad I found it impossible to sleep. The springs had collapsed in the centre on one side and I felt like I was rolling out. They gave us a bigger room but the bed was pretty much the same. Otherwise, the hotel was very basic and low quality in almost every way I can think of.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A truly awful experience

Posted Aug 15, 2017
We went on a trip round the Baltic States and had a brilliant time, staying in a range of hotels all of which we enjoyed until we stayed here. The room was dirty, the sheets didn't cover the beds, the tiny towels were frayed and dirty. The 'bed' for my daughter was a hard sofa, not even a sofa bed. The worse thing was that every hour for fifteen minutes the electricity generator fired up and made the most awful noise and made the room vibrate. This went on all through the night. When I went to complain about the noise, they knew exactly what I was referring to and said there was nothing they could do. They told me this was not a four star hotel and that they would not give me a refund. When I said I would post this on Expedia, they said they did not care as they were refurbishing in September. Whether their refurbishment sorts out the generator I can't say, what I can say is that no refurbishment will address dirty illfitting linen and utter contempt for their guests.
4 out of 5
by Kalle from Tallinn

Normal stay

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
Good location, friendly service, our room was in the main building and it was good, the other building was an old fashioned soviet one, happy we. Normal breakfest.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Good locaion, poor service

Posted Aug 22, 2011
They say Latvia has problems with unemployment, but the hotel staff doesn't seem to be eager to work at all! Good location, the very center of Jurmala, nice old building (the main one), renovated. 3 star level.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells, Kent, UK

Eiropa Hotel, Jurmala, Latvia

Posted May 2, 2011 on Hotels
We would highly recommend this hotel, the location of the hotel is perfect and in easy access to Riga. There is lots to do, the beach is only a couple of minutes walk away. The staff were amazing, helpful, attentive, so very friendly and could not do enough for my wife and I. We had a number of requests and the staff and housekeeping went out of their way to accommodate us. The Hotel is clean, the room we were in was clean and cleaned everyday...(what was nice is to have clean towels every day and bed linen every second day), very comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious, every day something new on the menu. Overall our stay at the hotel was amazing and an excellent venue for our Honeymoon. Thank you to all staff for making our stay a most enjoyable one. John & Aira
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado USA

Very pleased

Posted Nov 3, 2010 on Hotels
Great location near the sea. Pleasant neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Halesowen, England

Would definately go back

Posted Oct 14, 2010
We have stayed in Latvian hotels before and our experiences have not been that good. We could not believe how low the prices were so our expectations were not high for this visit. What a delight it was to arrive at this hotel and it was modern,clean with friendly and helpful staff. It is situated 50 meters from Jurmala's vast beach and 5 minutes walk from the main shopping centre. We were able to park our car right outside the hotel too. The costs also included a buffet breakfast which was as good as you would find anywhere. The restaurant was very competitively priced compared to the local area. We could easily have stayed for longer and we would definately recommend a stay at the Eiropa.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Nice place in Jurmala

Posted May 28, 2010 on Hotels
Me and my wife spent a week in this hotel. For us, it was a kind of sentimental journey to Jurmala, where we have spent many great summer vacations in the past. "Eiropa" is a small, clean, quiet and comfortable hotel. Good service, unforgettable breakfasts in the hotel restaurant with the nice view (pines and the sky). 300 meters from the famous 10-km long Jurmala beach, 300 m from the street with restaurants and small shops. 20 min on foot to the nearest railway station, 30 min by train to Riga. All in all, strongly recommended to those who is interested in seeing the "interface" between East and West.
4 out of 5
by Erja

Hyvällä paikalla mukava hotelli, aamiainen ok

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Jurmala on hieno paikka myös keväällä. Hotelli hyvällä paikalla ja sopivan sievä. Vain aamiainen oli aika pelkistetty.