Ratings based on 2,550 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
We had a great stay, great staff and a great room upgrade
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rochester new york

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: na
Location: beach and shopping
the on duty manager realized we had used this hotel 3 times in the last 6 yrs and was very reasonable on a huge request that we had , I could not have been more impressed with his managing skills can not remember his name but the date we arrived and time was date was 9/6/2017 4:00 pm . great job by all staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel on beach

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Nice hotel, right at the ocean, has own beach and 2 pools but we did have a few ants here and there not like a infestation but we did have some.the day we arrived I got a email asking If we were offered a room upgrade which we weren't and then the day after we arrived we recieved a email from the hotel stating if we wanted a upgrade to go to the front desk, so we did and it wasn't something being offered it was something we had to pay for....which made no sense to me. Overall the hotel was nice,we loved the pools and the full kitchen, the staff was nice most of the time, and the housekeeping was great.!! Beds could use a upgrade especially the pull out couch beds. The bed in the bedroom was also a little to firm but we managed for the 5days 6nights we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Nice pool and good access to groceries and nearby restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Nice view of the sunset from the beach.
Cons: Rooms need some updating and maintenance.
Location: Nice beaches nearby for snorkeling and swimming.
Some of the hotel staff were nice and some had attitude. The two bedroom suite we stayed in was okay but needed a little work. For example the master bedroom bathroom towel rack was falling out of the wall, the shower drain would back up when you took a shower, no trash can in bathroom so I used a paper bag. The view of the ocean was nice but we went swimming elsewhere bc the beach by the hotel is a little rocky for swimming. There is a charge for parking, the resort and if you want to use the gym it's $5 a day per person. The manager said a lot of hotels charge for gym usage - I'm not a travel expert but it seemed like a lot of extra charges for my liking. We will try another hotel next time we're in Maui.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Mark Mrantz, Hotel Management
Aloha Scott. Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are so glad you enjoyed our ideal and beautiful location, and that we could provide you with a pleasant vacation home. Your valuable and honest feedback is appreciated and will be shared with our management team for careful consideration. It is our hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our corner of paradise in the future. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach, nice amenities, safe area

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Luxurious service and stay for a reasonable price. Convenient location and inclusions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Aston Ka'apalani shores

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: we found one morning desk person to be slightly less than hospitable
Cons: I wouldn't change anything nor 99 percent of the staff as they were great
Location: supermarket across the road, close by car rental, nice local restaurants close by - right on the beach
upon check in we found expedia had dropped the ball and even though we had upgraded our room 3-4 weeks before the trip expedia had failed to notify the hotel about the upgrade or payment had been made. Dawn at the front desk was extremely helpful in getting this resolved and took care of any concern we had - offering advice on local fare and things to do. We found one other employee to be less than hospitable but did accomplish the task we needed. The Resort itself was very nice, clean and easy to use all areas. with the shallower pool with water features and chairs on the shallow shelf being a favorite. the deeper pool closer to the ocean was very nice and comfortable temperature. free scuba lesson was a great bonus and the instructor worked with me even though I had a gagging problem in the beginning - working thru that for a great experience. Supermarket across the road was handy for items we wanted to make in our room, and the fish market restaurant down the road had incredible pork tacos . rental car places down the road offered hotel pick up and drop off at the hotel and at a great rate! would definitely go back to stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Clean, updated rooms. Convenient location.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Clean, up to date rooms with kitchenettes.
Cons: Need more lounge chairs at the beach.
Location: Close to grocery store, dive shop, pizza place
Courteous, helpful staff. Beautiful location, beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kihei, Hi

Perfect for our staycation

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Very nice place to stay. Just perfect for what we were looking for. Very friendly staff and nice facilities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Mark Mrantz, Hotel Management
Aloha GMM! Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and that we could provide you with a comfortable and welcoming vacation home away from you. It is a pleasure to have you in our ohana! Mahalo.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Disappointing

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Hotel grounds seemed well maintained. Staff were pleasant. My kids enjoyed the pool closest to the beach because it was 7 feet deep.
Cons: Room was very outdated. Not a comfortable place to spend time. Patio deck chairs and table needed cleaning and room itself left a lot to be desired.
Location: Beach out front small but there's a grocery store and Snorkel Bob's across street.Kapalua Beach and Whaler Village are within short driving distances.
Our last night in Maui was spent at the Kaanapali Shores after spending 2 weeks in a hotel near Whaler Village. We needed 1 additional night so our family of 5 decided to stay here based on price and reviews. We booked a 1 bdrm- no view. Upon check in, the desk clerk suggested we upgrade to a 2 bdrm suite for $150. We declined- if we wanted to add $150 to the price we had already paid, we would have chosen to stay elsewhere. To get to our room, we walked along an open air walkway and then turned left into a short, narrow hallway with two separate hotel room doors at the end on either side. It felt dark and dingy in the narrow hallway and I was apprehensive about the room itself. The room wasn't very appealing - narrow hallway with living room at one end and a bedroom at other end. The bedroom had 1980s decor and was dark with windows high up on the wall. The "king sized" bed looked like a queen and sheets had long black hairs on them. The bathroom was functional but had stained ceiling tiles and a few ants. The kitchen was more modern but pans were dirty and needed scrubbing. The patio windows rattled with the wind, the PlayStation was broken, and the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. We spent as little time in the room as possible, leaving within the first 30 minutes of checking in and returning after 11 pm just to sleep. The grounds of the hotel were nice but hotel room was dated, run down and disappointing. Would not recommend- can find more value for your $ elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Mark Mrantz, Hotel Management
Aloha Kari. Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed our beautiful property and were well taken care of by our kind staff. However, we are disappointed to hear that your accommodations were less than satisfactory and will share your thoughts with our management as it will help us to improve. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you for an even more enjoyable stay in the future. Mahalo.