Ratings based on 1,785 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from victoria

Be prepared to be nickeled and dimed to death

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: The bell staff
The hotel is nice but needs to change several things. Our room needed a deep cleaning... dirty doors and baseboards; smelly wash machine and a patio door that wouldn’t completely open. The FREE wifi and gym access are included in the high daily resort fee ... how does this make them free? We had just stayed a week at the new Nanaea resort next door and their fees were half of Honua Kai. The beach towels were grey and ugly and you are threatened with a $20 fee for not returning them! Who would want them???
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Fantastic resort. The kids loved the pools and Duke’s Restaurant has great food. Concierge helped with booking all excursions. Great family holiday !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2017
We enjoyed our recent stay. Room was very nice and outdoor pool area was great. Staff was very friendly and accomadating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Great hotel and close to beach.

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Cons: Add another restaurant
Beautiful view and great studio apt. Needs to have another restaurant though. Food was fantastic at Dukes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Very comfortable; great location; beautiful beach. We had breakfast every morning at the restaurant on the beach - amazing view and excellent food. Our balcony was directly over the resort entrance which was disappointing but overall we were pleased with this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Beautiful place to stay.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
The grounds were beautiful, loved having the store inside the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cave Creek, AZ

Beautiful hotel on the beach

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Setting and amenitites
Cons: Housekeeping!! Make sure all appliances, lamps, etc are in working order
Location: Great pools and nice walking paths
We were originally put into a very poor room but were upgraded to a much nicer condo. The only real complaint is that the housekeeping staff was very poor. We rented three condos and many of the lamps and appliances didn't work. Also, the housekeeping staff didn't always leave us towels..had to ask for them..not very efficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Amazing Hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Pool is great, beach is even better because you can rent snorkel gear at the hotel and snorkel right by the hotel with fish and see turtles everyday.
Everything about this resort is AMAZING. Location, beaches, restaurants, our room, and the staff. I want to come back!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Got young kids and want a kitchen... stay here.

Posted Nov 12, 2017
I used to love this place when my kid was little but we have outgrown it for sure. Pregnant ladies and famllies with very young kids ..under 8 ...will like this....but those wanting a quieter and more refined stay should stay at a nice hotek in wailea. The large grass area in the central block is used as a screaming field for kids whose oarents can no longer cope and it starts around 7am....not my idea of a vacation anymore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Quiet Luxury Condo on the Beach

Posted Nov 10, 2017
The condo was absolutely beautiful, clean, and quiet. There is a fantastic restaurant, Duke's Beach House, right on the beach where we had dinner and watched the sunset on a few evenings. I highly recommend the Seafood Risotto! The location is perfect - about 2 miles north of black rock and Whaler's village, so it's less crowded than the busier resort area south of black rock in the main Kaanapali beach area. Being only 2 miles north, taking the beach walk down to the area is easy. Lahaina town is also just a 10 minute or so drive south. Housekeeping is outstanding. We were pleasantly surprised they even emptied and loaded our dishwasher! The condo comes fully stocked with pots, pans, silverware, dishes, glasses, blender, hair dryer, top of the line kitchen appliances, and washer/drier. There's an amazing organic market / coffee bar, Aina, on property, serving the best coffee I've ever had and outstanding lox and cream cheese "Goldy Lox" amongst many other great things. There's a more standard market on property as well and a grocery store just out on the main street in front of the complex. Our room was mountain side and the views of the West Maui mountains were spectacular! All staff were incredibly kind and helpful. I literally have nothing negative to say about the entire experience! We will be returning again for certain!