Ratings based on 940 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Great place to stay near the beach

Posted Oct 9, 2017
It was near the beach, and located within a resort, so the beach visits were less crowded and more secluded. The staff was pleasant to deal with, and always very helpful. The hotel itself is older, yes, but we hardly stayed in the room. For us, it was a place to sleep, and it did the job. Comfy beds, big room, daily room service. We were pleased, especially for the cost. We really enjoyed the patio and would sit out there if we ever sat around in the room. It had a great ocean view, a table and two chairs for us. We were so happy with our stay here, and would definitely recommend it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento ca

Disappointed. No elevator. Stinky smell room.

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Staff did not tell me when check in that no elevator,so have to drag my luggage to the stairs up to my room to second floor. Noisy when next door open the Luau restaurant. Room was stinky I have to spray perfume the entire room Rug from the hallway and stairs stinky and dirty . So end up mostly staying at my son hotel at Hyatt just go back to my hotel to sleep. Not a good place to enjoy and relax coz your surroundings on your own hotel was dirty and stinky.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Budget hotel right on beach ,around $130 night.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Girst thr good..the hotel in directly on beach.which is very nice if you like to toggle between the beach and your air conditioned room.they have easy acess to the beack and areas to wash sand off you before going to your room.you also have use of the royal lahaina services,they have a restraunt with nice breakfast buffet.the price is right for $130ish a night.i dont think you will find ocean front property this cheap anywhere on kanaapali .you can also use tge concierge to print boarding oasses wich is a time saver and stress reducer.there is a little convienience store on property close to hotel wich we used all the time.staff was friendly.also if you get3rd floor and have a balcony facing south you have good view of the $100pp luau for free!they also now have ice machine on 2nd floor wich didnt have on our last stay Now the bad.....you pay $15 per day you stay to park.however after about 4pm spots start fillling fast as they have a luau with about 400 peopke every night .so thrre is an uneasy feeling if you need to leave after 4pm wich is not right if your paying this fee.we never had a time ciukdnt find a spot but itwas usually FAR away.then had to wait every mornibg to re park car closer.this was a daily process. Also no elevator,everything up and down the stairs.last bad thing wich we we didnt have/notice last time plenty if roaches.very inconvenient had to keep bags closed whole time couldt leave food out.they sprayed didnt see more after.did discount $75 parking fee
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st louis

Centrally located

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Right by a beautiful beach and great snorkeling area but the rooms have very thin walls. We could hear our neighbors burping and being obnoxious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

On the beach, literally.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Location, location location! Steps away from the beach. Not crowded at this location.
Cons: I would not change anything. That is the character of the place. This is a hidden gem. No one reads reviews, right?
Location: Beach, pools, bars, turtles, dolphins, rentals, parasailing, Whaler's village shopping within walking distance. There is a beach walk spanning kaanap.
This is our second stay at this hotel. We were able to check in early and we were offered an ocean view for a nominal increase in price. It was worth it. No complaints about our experience at the Ocean Inn. All amenities are located at the main hotel. We were invited to the manager's reception for returning guests. Great experience, all the pupus and drinks you can handle. Met some great people there. The room itself was dated but we expected that, we came back for more. They will be remodeling rooms in the future since they decided to keep the building. A couple of notes, there is no elevator in this three-story building. So plan accordingly. There is a luau offered on-site seven days a week. So parking can get sparse from 5pm until 8ish. For guests though if you can't finding parking you can go to valet at no extra charge. All the staff there was friendly and helpful. This is where we will be staying every time we visit Maui.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A old hotel room

Posted Aug 29, 2017
This is a old hotel , out dated , the room ibstayed in smelled old and musty,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HI

Nice old Lahaina charm

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: No high hotel fees Location
Cons: Whole building could use a little facelift, but rooms are nice
Location: shopping, snorkeling, walking, jogging, eating, beach, swimming, tennis....yup, just about everything
Great room with nice furnishings and a great view of the ocean. Hotel is actually part of Royal Lahaina Resort. The building is unmarked and had we not found someone on the property not sure we would have known where to check in. However, once we got checked in, it was great. Excellent area with free shuttle to shops and dining and bus is equally easy to use if you want to go further from resort. Walking/jogging trails go for miles. The room is styled old Lahaina style, wooden dressers, shutters, very quaint. Bathroom was clean but shower was small - who cares, really. Nice balcony with cool ocean breezes - Good place to stay and have already recommended it to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Louis, MO

Economical Hotel Close to Beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Liked the use of Royal Lahaina amenities, close to beach, beautiful beach, lots of activities
Cons: Needs an update,
Location: Close to Lahaina Front Street, Beach Walk goes through the hotel and offers a long walk
Think of Hawaii circa 1950s only add an AC in the room. The room itself is very basic and there is no elevator. However it was clean and offered a comfortable place to stay without breaking our minimal budget. It also offers full use of the Royal Lahaina Resort which is fantastic. The beachfront is incredibly beautiful, there are several pools, a tiki bar, a place for grab n go coffee and snacks, a restaurant and onsite luau. There were some school groups staying in KOI at the same time and they were a bit loud and rowdy, so do not book this and expect quiet. You can also overhear the luau every night. These things didn't really bother us, but I could see if affecting some people.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maui hi

A/c made loud noise all nite and beds old

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Needs remodeled with new beds and everything I suggest to sleep on concrete parking lot and it would be quieter and more comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

nice view from my room

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: location and view
Cons: parking was jammed every night due to luau. luau parking should be confined to back parking lot. not hotel guests
Location: lahina was 3 miles away. Nice
the hotel room was just what I expected. Not super fancy but location, location, location was great!!!