Ratings based on 932 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

On the beach, literally.

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Location, location location! Steps away from the beach. Not crowded at this location.
Cons: I would not change anything. That is the character of the place. This is a hidden gem. No one reads reviews, right?
Location: Beach, pools, bars, turtles, dolphins, rentals, parasailing, Whaler's village shopping within walking distance. There is a beach walk spanning kaanap.
This is our second stay at this hotel. We were able to check in early and we were offered an ocean view for a nominal increase in price. It was worth it. No complaints about our experience at the Ocean Inn. All amenities are located at the main hotel. We were invited to the manager's reception for returning guests. Great experience, all the pupus and drinks you can handle. Met some great people there. The room itself was dated but we expected that, we came back for more. They will be remodeling rooms in the future since they decided to keep the building. A couple of notes, there is no elevator in this three-story building. So plan accordingly. There is a luau offered on-site seven days a week. So parking can get sparse from 5pm until 8ish. For guests though if you can't finding parking you can go to valet at no extra charge. All the staff there was friendly and helpful. This is where we will be staying every time we visit Maui.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A old hotel room

Posted Aug 29, 2017
This is a old hotel , out dated , the room ibstayed in smelled old and musty,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HI

Nice old Lahaina charm

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: No high hotel fees Location
Cons: Whole building could use a little facelift, but rooms are nice
Location: shopping, snorkeling, walking, jogging, eating, beach, swimming, tennis....yup, just about everything
Great room with nice furnishings and a great view of the ocean. Hotel is actually part of Royal Lahaina Resort. The building is unmarked and had we not found someone on the property not sure we would have known where to check in. However, once we got checked in, it was great. Excellent area with free shuttle to shops and dining and bus is equally easy to use if you want to go further from resort. Walking/jogging trails go for miles. The room is styled old Lahaina style, wooden dressers, shutters, very quaint. Bathroom was clean but shower was small - who cares, really. Nice balcony with cool ocean breezes - Good place to stay and have already recommended it to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Louis, MO

Economical Hotel Close to Beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Liked the use of Royal Lahaina amenities, close to beach, beautiful beach, lots of activities
Cons: Needs an update,
Location: Close to Lahaina Front Street, Beach Walk goes through the hotel and offers a long walk
Think of Hawaii circa 1950s only add an AC in the room. The room itself is very basic and there is no elevator. However it was clean and offered a comfortable place to stay without breaking our minimal budget. It also offers full use of the Royal Lahaina Resort which is fantastic. The beachfront is incredibly beautiful, there are several pools, a tiki bar, a place for grab n go coffee and snacks, a restaurant and onsite luau. There were some school groups staying in KOI at the same time and they were a bit loud and rowdy, so do not book this and expect quiet. You can also overhear the luau every night. These things didn't really bother us, but I could see if affecting some people.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from maui hi

A/c made loud noise all nite and beds old

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Needs remodeled with new beds and everything I suggest to sleep on concrete parking lot and it would be quieter and more comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

nice view from my room

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: location and view
Cons: parking was jammed every night due to luau. luau parking should be confined to back parking lot. not hotel guests
Location: lahina was 3 miles away. Nice
the hotel room was just what I expected. Not super fancy but location, location, location was great!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno, Calif.

In need of updates but close to the sand

Posted Aug 2, 2017
I traveled alone for a week in Maui, and chose this hotel based on price and the fact that it had a/c, and was right on Kaanapali beach. The only additional fee is nightly parking, no resort fees. The Ocean view room had a partial view of the ocean and Molokai from the balcony. The room itself was old, outdated, and had ants. Housekeeping would make the bed, but not clean the sink or bathroom floor that got sandy over the week. I booked a King size bed, but upon checkin, only a double bed was available, so that was disappointing. The Royal Lahaina property has pools and restaurants available for use by the Ocean Inn guests and they are convenient. Ive stayed at a more expensive resort on Kaanapali and was treated with much more warmth and "Aloha" than at the Royal Lahaina/Kaanapali Ocean Inn. So, this hotel has a great location on the west side resort row on Kaanapali, and a more affordable price. However, you get what you pay for. Don't expect to be treated warmly by staff, and don't be surprised by the old, run down feel of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Room with balcony overlooking beach!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: My room, position on beach, comfy beds, clean towels daily, beach towels provided, Quieter part of Kaanapali beach. Good massage.
Cons: Devore in room a little tired.
Location: Many things to do Swim in sea or pool Snorkel Helicopter ride Kyaking
Room a little dated but wonderful location 3 floor of small 3 storey block with balcony overlooking quiet part of Kaanapali beach. Loved my room, sunsets, palm trees, sound of ocean..suited my needs perfectly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, close to the beach

Posted Jul 6, 2017
On our first night there we come across a huge flying cacroch in our hotel room. We had a hard time going to sleep the next three nights. We also run into big cacroch on the hallway right in front of our door. It was a bit stressful for my daughter and I
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sad and bad smell!

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
The location was great, view was beautiful!!. But your on Maui, how hard is it to find a good view? The Inn's rooms were moldy and had such a bad odor that I got a headache and we had to leave and go next door to the Royal Lahaina. Royal Lahaina owns a lot of property there, the ocean inn and bungalows. They really need to update the Kanapaali Ocean Inn building! Others have seen cockroaches there,