Ratings based on 4,597 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel if your not looking for a lot of extras

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Hotel is older like all the other hotels in the area but our room had been partially updated in recent years and had an excellent view of the ocean. Close to shopping areas by walking the beach walk and close drive to other things. My biggest complaint was parking, it was fine during the day but if you came in while the luau was going on then good luck finding a place to park. This is something that needs to be fixed but I think this hotel has been doing this luau for years so I doubt they will do anything about it. If I went back to Maui I would consider staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Sep 23, 2017
This was a fantastic location, very tidy hotel, restaurant food was very nice & the on site store was reasonably priced. My biggest issue with this hotel is that the beach bar closed way to early so if you wanted to just relax on the evening you had to sit in the restaurant bar and even that wasn't open very late.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

Old, rundown, poor value.

Posted Sep 20, 2017
This hotel cares more about making money, than about customer service. Stayed in two "renovated" cottage rooms. Renivatuon was lipstick on a pig. Rooms are extermly noisey. Paper thin walls and ceilings and very expensive. Many overcharges on bill. Sliw service and bad hotel food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chico cal.

My 1st trip to maui

Posted Sep 18, 2017
I was very pleased at my whole stay at the Royal Lahaina. The staff was very welcoming. I ate at the bar most of the time because the scenery was amazing and the food was delicious and price appropriate. The sunset Tribute was nice every evening very relaxing. And I absolutely adored my ocean view Room. Cute little patio with 2 chairs and a little Table. The fairway shops were close for picking stuff up &c j's deli has amazing food. The castaway cafe was also really close And had a fabulous pineapple boat .All in all I loved my stay at the Royal Lahaina
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Wonderful Resort. Great location, great beach, great food/snacks, great wifi, great activities. Staff was so friendly and attentive. We stayed in both the cottage and the tower. Loved the location of the cottage but the room needs upgrading. We would definitely recommend this Resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KIRKLAND WA

OCEAN FRONT, OUTSTANDING VIEW

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: LOCATION, VIEWS, BEACH
Cons: THIS HOTEL HAS A LUAU EVERY NIGHT AND PEOPLE COME BY CAR FOR IT, GUESTS THAT HAVE PAID FOR PARKING HAVE TO PARK IN FURTHUST PARKING LOT
Location: PERFECT LOCATION, PLENTY TO DO
HAVE ALWAYS STAYED HERE, GRAT HTEL AND VIEWS FOR THE MONEY
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Very beautiful, room was very clean and the view was very nice. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

location is great close to the ocean close to shop

Posted Sep 13, 2017
great time staff is great and helpful alot of activities good food clean beaches
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach only

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The rooms, were very clean,
Cons: many things, everything is old(er)
Location: Great location,
Restaurant with very greasy/sticky tables and chairs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tampa, fl

Beautiful hotel right on the beach

Posted Sep 11, 2017
We loved our stay here. We were originally supposed to stay in an ocean view room but we upgraded to an ocean front room since they were running a special discounted rate. It was more than well worth the upgrade. We had a gorgeous panoramic view of the ocean from our room with a nice balcony overlooking the pool and beach. Room was spacious and very clean. Hotel staff was friendly and gracious. The whole facility was beautiful and well maintained. We soaked up every minute of enjoying that breathtaking view from our room, often sitting on the balcony. In the evenings we sat on the balcony and watched a live singer/musician playing HawaiIan music. Sometimes we would slide the very wide sliding doors to the balcony all the way open just to feel the breeze and listen to the waves crash. This place was absolute paradise. We would definitely recommend.