Ratings based on 4,640 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dream vacation

Posted Oct 21, 2017
The staff was second to none. The resort size was perfect. We never felt lost in the crowd. The room and views were amazing. We visited the neighboring resorts and found nothing that the Royal Lahaina Resort was lacking. Mahalo Royal Lahaina.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Great hotel. Perfect location and by far the best beach from all of the hotels in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Lovely traditional style resort on the beach

Posted Oct 19, 2017
This was our second visit to this hotel and we were not disappointed. The hotel is styled in traditional Hawaiian decor, the rooms are well appointed and the beds and pillows are extremely comfortable. The food is good although some dishes were lacking in flavour compared to our last visit, needing more spice and seasoning. Good cocktail bar and Hats makes the best spicy Bloody Mary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from idaho

Best overall hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2017
We have been to many Maui hotels and find Royal Lahaina the best for us! The staff is so genuine and sweet, the restaurants offer delicious food with friendly service, and the beach is THE BEST!!! Absolutely the best beach at any Maui resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Overbookedi

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Never had a chance to find anything. I would have enjoyed a cottage on what looked like nice grounds.
Cons: Reservations and notification
Hotel was overbooked and we were sent to the Sheraton for a less than comparable room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Main building great but side building terrible

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Main hotel was beautiful but the side property was terrible.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Very disappointed.

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Put lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beach!
Couldn't believe we were staying on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world and we had to pay $50. a day for two chairs and an umbrella! Plus tip for set up. There were lounge chairs at the pool and on grass area but warning signs not to take on beach. No view from these spots as bushes hid the waves crashing. Absolutely no shade so you are forced to rent umbrellas. Very hard on my 83 year old mother who needs shade. We will not be recommending or going back. Too bad, the staff are very well trained and helped salvage my complete anger and frustration of this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, old school Hawaii

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Stay was great in almost every regard, save for hosts at restaurant. Would stay here again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Swarm of flies

Posted Oct 13, 2017
We spent $400 on a room and woke up swarmed with bugs crawling all over us. No window were open at all. We had to shake out our clothes and shower bc there were bugs in our hair. The hotel manager was barely apologetic and literally told me he couldn't do anything for me. When I voiced my frustration with this response, he said he could give me a $100 refund on a $400 hotel room. Thanks! Won't be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockton, CA

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: N/A
Cons: We stayed in one of the cottages...they are a bit out dated. The bathroom could use a facelift.
Location: We were pleased with the location, using Uber got us were we needed to go in a timely manner
Loved the cottage in the garden setting experience, left windows open all the time and enjoyed the sound of birds.