Ratings based on 956 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Misrepresentation of the rooms

Posted Sep 8, 2017
When you book an ocean view, instead you get a pool view what's called "an ocean view" be careful with that if a view matters for you
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by The Westin Kā’anapali Ocean Resort Villas, Hotel Management
Mahalo for taking the time to provide your comments and feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies that your stay with us was less than perfect. While our ocean view villas vary from room to room, we empathize that your placement wasn’t to your expectations. Again, please accept our apologies for the shortcomings you experienced. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Mahalo, The Westin Kā‘anapali Ocean Resort Villas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Good beaches for snokeling nearby.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Overall good stay in Kaanapali area. Room was fairly clean and well kept considering this as timeshare resort. Room maid were all working hard and keeping the room clean while we stayed. Met our expectation. But attending staff by the pool area (especially at the location where selling floating devices & sunglasses) need to be re-trained with better customer service skills. Do not want to name the person but he was not approchable and rather grumpy. Other than this, overall good stay !
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by The Westin Kā’anapali Ocean Resort Villas, Hotel Management
Aloha Sean, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We appreciate you choosing us as your Maui resort destination. Thank you for your feedback regarding the pool activities desk. We will pass your response on to that department. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Mahalo, The Westin Kā’anapali Ocean Resort Villas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Orange, California

Great Snorkeling

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Very nice beach. One particular hotel staffer Joe Madden was very good at his job.
Cons: Some of the hotel staffers working with the kids activities were not very nice or sympathetic to needs of my child.
Location: We went to a luau at the Sheraton which is a quick shuttle ride from the hotel
The best amenity at this hotel was the snorkeling. There is a natural reef right off the coast, and some off the best snorkeling on the island is right here. The kids had a blast as well. The big downer was that my daughter wanted to do the tie-die shirt activity and there was an hour on the schedule to do it, but they said that it was done. My daughter was upset and started crying, and the hotel staff were very unsympathetic and did not offer anything as a replacement. They just went about their business like it's a job. However, we did have a great experience with Joe Madder of the engineering dept. He helped me fix and explain some things in the room. He's is very kind and knowledgeable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Public Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review. We are saddened to hear your stay was not to your complete satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcoming you have experienced. Your experience is important to us and we wish to further discuss your concerns with you. Please send your preferred contact information to experiences@westinkaanapali.com so that one of our Westin team members can reach out to you. We do appreciate your feedback. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Mahalo, The Westin Kā‘anapali Ocean Resort Villas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Awesome hotel!! Amazing staff!! Overall fabulous vacation!! I would stay here again in a heart beat and recommend this place to all my friends!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by The Westin Kā’anapali Ocean Resort Villas, Hotel Management
Aloha! We are excited to hear your kind words and want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you were so satisfied with your stay and service and that you would be back "in a heartbeat". Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Westin Ohana. Mahalo, The Westin Kā’anapali Ocean Resort Villas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Excellent Choice for Families!!!

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Room was comfortable and well stocked--ate breakfasts and some lunches in room. We were in North Tower Villas. Kids loved all the pools. The Pool with water slide always crowded so reserve a cabana days/weeks ahead. Other two pools were not crowded. Beach at hotel was fabulous for snorkeling--tons of fish, eels, and fun waves. Lots of rental places but kids snorkel/fin sets were hard to find. Bring your own for kids. Tip: We ended up renting a car for the second half of our trip--so much cheaper than expensive cabs. Enterprise and Hertz walking distance to the Westin across the street. Front street was so fun for shopping, dinner, and the giant Banyan tree park. I highly recommend Mama's Fishhouse for a very spendy but delicious brunch--reservations a must! See up to 50 green sea-turtles on beach behind the restaurant! Road to Hana--the waterfalls are a must--every tour goes early so go about noon or after to miss some traffic. Some things close at 4:00 so plan accordingly. Car sickness gets to you after only a few miles after that so beware. Great family destination and Westin North Villas had excellent everything! Even Moana movie night on the beach! Loved it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Nice hotel, near the beach

Posted Jul 24, 2017
A/C was out one complete day. Toilet issues two days. Would not work with us for an upgrade because we used Expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great place for the whole family

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Cons: With all the birds a lot of the deck chairs had bird poop on them and didn't look to be cleaned often enough.
Location: The location was convenient to a lot of places. The beach was the best on the island.
Our family had a great time there. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. Will definitely go back with more people.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice property, good ammenities

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Westin Villas is a great family place with a good set of amenities, so long as you're ok with a family mega resort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Good location and amenities. Room comfortable and good size. The Concierge and the staff in the Italian restaurant were extremely helpful and friendly, however we did find some of the reception staff not so helpful, especially with check in as not much information given.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

The hotel of 'No'

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Claudia, one of the servers, was cheerful and helpful. The grills were clean and functioning - I really appreciated that as well.
Cons: Staff attitude. Encourage and empower your staff to say yes as often as possible. I won't be coming back to this property.
Location: Perfect beach. Perfect weather. Amazing snorkeling right off of the beach. Restaurants: Mala, Aloha Mixed Plate, Pizza Paradiso (take out).
We stayed at Westin in Princeville for a week the prior two Summers and quickly realized that we'd been spoiled there. At Westin ORV Maui, the word 'no' rolls of their tongues like water. If I asked for a salad with olive oil on the side instead of dressing and they said 'we don't have that' (? seriously?). If I wanted to order something for the kids that we saw on another menu at the adjacent pool, I couldn't order it. Two days in a row, they put cheese put on a salad for someone who is allergic to it (when it's not listed as an ingredient on the menu and they were specifically told 'no cheese'). That kind of thing. Everywhere we went, we found an obstacle and little effort to accommodate. The staff also appeared jaded; 'sorry' with a smile. On the resort: Westin ORV in Maui was a metropolis with many huge buildings, three pools. The room was fairly well-equipped. However, the wall in the living area made a very loud knocking sound at least once every 2 minutes, which woke the kids up (and us) all night long because we thought someone was knocking at the door. It was horrible. When I reported it, I hit another roadblock: Sorry, we're at 90+% occupancy and we can't keep you near your mother, who is disabled. It's like any big company - if it's too big, the individual ceases to matter as much. It now appreciate Westin Princeville more than I did before, where our experience felt intimate, personalized and the staff was cheerfully and graciously accommodating.