Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a great location and there are beautiful views from the hotel restaurant and some from the 4th floor. The reception staff were helpful at times and a bit unfriendly at other times. The breakfast was very nice!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017
First of all thank you very much for your interest in our hotel and for the nice comments you have made. It made us very happy to stay as you wish. We would love to welcome you back at our hotel. Mehmet Sefer Hotel Manager Kaldır Düzenle
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Value

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location, comfortable rooms, clean and good housekeeping, good value breakfast, and spectacular views from the the top floor breakfast/dining room. The only negative; cigarette smell coming into the rooms, as there's no restrictions on smoking. A good policy and management of this problem can attract even a higher rating for this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017
HELLO ! Thank you for your comment. We will salt this problem to next your visit. thanks again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Nice hotel that is close to major transportations

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Friendly staff who spoke English. The hotel is close to shopping area and restaurants. The breakfast buffet is very traditional Turkish and quite delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good local hotel a short walk from harbour

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Good breakfast with fantastic views from the restaurant.
Cons: The shower didn't work properly - you could use it but it needed fixing. However with only being there a couple of days I didn't bother to report it.
Location: Good transport links, close to Metro and water bus for connections to the European side, and buses for local transport.
This is a comfortable local hotel a short walk from the harbour. Fantastic breakfast on the top floor with views right across the waterfront. Comfortable bed and a quiet room where it was easy to sleep. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: I really enjoyed the breakfast. The terrace has an amazing sea view..
Location: Nice neighborhood.
Cozy room. If you come from the sea side, you will need to walk uphill for a while to reach the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Description of hotel and city

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Proximity to business sector on Asia side and availiability of all types of transportation. Plus hotel rates were cheap for the hotel.
Location: Shopping, and dining. Tours are available by bus and ferry on this side. Most of the historic sites are on the Euro side from what we could see .
Hotel is near business sector of Asia side of Istanbul. Transportation by metro, ferry, taxi and bus availible and close. to get to Euro side. Most people not fluent in English. Very pleasent atmosphere and friendly. Hotel is old but in good enough condition for cheaper stay than a Hilton or other larger chain. Staff speaks English. Restaurants are plentiful and food and goods on Asia side are cheaper than Euro side. Had an amazing time and would recommend trip. Plan to visit again. Plenty of historic sites to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Typical Istanbul

Posted May 11, 2015
We were only able to stay one night due to a fire at the Rome Airport that forced us to stay at the Rome Airport for 2 days. The hotel was situated right in the heart of the city in the Asian side of Istanbul. Able to see the ferries going to the European side of Istanbul. The area was great for walking due to closure of some streets for only pedestrians. Great food and very friendly people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

clean hotel, friendly staff, nice food.

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: close to the harbour and ferry access to sights and close to access to bus for transportation to and from airport.
Cons: wall lights in one room over bed did not work. we had two rooms and otherwise we were very happy.
Location: the harbour nearby with access to the major mosques of interest to tourists. Good access to bus to and from airport.
we were pleased to stay in close proximity to the harbour and bus transport to airport. We liked the hotel accommodation and will recommend to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff

Sidonya Hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Very good value for money. Welcoming staff. Clean, comfortable and very good breakfast buffet. my room had very efficient air conditioning.
Cons: I don't think it could be for the price
Location: Asian side, so extra time needed to get to the tourist hotspots. Shopping good with lots of bargains.
Nice 3* hotel on the Asian side of Istanbul. The Hotel is undergoing a complete refurbishment, but his did not affect my stay as work is carried out during the day when most guests would be out of the Hotel. The only drawback is that it takes a cheap ferry ride to get to the main tourist spots but this adds to the tourist experience. The Hotel itself is clean, comfortable, with good food and very helpful staff. It does a very good free breakfast buffet from the restaurant on the top floor which has fantastic views over the harbour to the Golden Horn of Istanbul. I'm surprised rooms were so reasonably priced. taxis from the hotel are very cheap by western standards. There are lots of local shops, (including jewellers), where the prices are ridiculously cheap so, if you don't like haggling the Asian side is the place to be.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Antalya

Terrible hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
You need to wait at the restaurant for breakfast for a place to sit, capacity of restaurant is 1/4 of the hotel capacity. Room ammenities awful, it's not a hotel it's a dormitory at all