Ratings based on 1,354 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Really nice hotel. Upscale resort. It is an older resort but kept up. Nice choices in restaurants as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Great resort, beautiful facilities and well managed. The restaurants are extremely pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Over all 5 stars

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Kahala is always been my favorite Hotel in Oahu and its always exceed my expectation. I considered that hotel a paradise since it’s awsy from a busy part of Waikiki :-) From the entrance of the hotel, to the main lobby and of course the room and all the amenities and the quality of food and entertainment, it sfor everyone! Weather you want to bring the whole family or your loved ones to celebrate the special occasion. kahala Hotel Resort is highly recommend. Again it’s 5 stars over all! I will always Come back here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SanFrancisco

Reputation exceed reality

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: The location and the service.
Cons: The hotel is a nice old hotel. It's small. They charge you for everything, Not much they can do to change /improve the hotel. It is what it is.
Location: Waikiki shopping and eating. It's Honolulu, an international city. Museums, Pearl Harbor, waterfalls, tropical forests and exploring.
I've stayed at the Kahala many times -- twice last year. Service is always excellent, especially the bell/valet staff and restaurant staff. I made my reservation about 6 months early. I got the "4th night free with breakfast' package with the scenic room. If you go to the Kahala website, the room picture shows trees, grass and mountains, which is what I got the last 4 or 5 times I stayed there. This time, my room was on top of the restaurant and my scenic view was of the restaurant roof and hotel parking lot. I went back down to the check - in counter and asked for a different room. I was told that they didn't have any other scenic rooms available but they would upgrade me for $150.00. I agreed and they moved me up 2 floors, directly above the first room, I was still over the restaurant and my view was still the parking lot, but now I could also see the ocean. I was upset, but didn't want to make another move. Fast forward to check out and saw that the upgrade was $150 a night AND they charged me for all four nights ... no fourth night free. I had to get to the airport so, I decided to let it go, but the sting of the situation stayed with me during the entire flight and I'm still irritated .. probably more at myself for not complaining to the manager. In any event, that was my last stay at the Kahala and that is why I would not recommend it to any of my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Incredible Resort

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Staff, Rooms, Food, Spa, Private Beach, Pool, etc
Cons: nothing!
We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. It was absolutely beautiful in every way and was far enough away from the business of Waikiki to truly feel like a tropical vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Nandi Waidyatilleka/Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us. Hope to see you again very soon. Mahalo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

this hotel is amazing

Posted Nov 26, 2017
my check inn was bad, they gave me a lower room, no upgrade and can’t have late check out. i was upset because it was my second stay in this beautiful hotel. later i got a call from the front desk telling me i got a late check out until 6pm!!! that was amazing. they made my day since my floght was around 9 pm. thank you Kahala hotel for making sure i am happy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Amazing and relaxing hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Went with my parents for their 50th anniversary, along with my husband and 12-year old son. Everything was lovely from beginning to end. Our rooms overlooked the dolphin cove. My son loved the dolphin shaped cookies that greatd us to our room on arrival. The staff was excellent. The pool is a little small, but with the Pacific Ocean to play in, that is a small quibble. We ate at all of the restaurants except Hoku, and the food was consistently delicious. I had my doubts about an Italian restaurant in Hawaii with a Japanese chef - best meal of the trip! The resort never felt crowded or noisy. We are now completely spoiled to stay anywhere but the Kahala
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Paula. So glad we were a part of a very special occasion for your family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Wonderful!

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Staff is amazing- each one works tirelessly to ensure a pleasant stay. Whatever you need, they deliver. Comfortable, clean, quiet rooms and a lovely private beach. Wonderful breakfast buffet. Beautiful laie upon arrival! A hidden gem tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. We will be back soon!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Mahalo for sharing, Joanna!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

5 Stars All the Way

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Beach, dolphins, turtles and rays in lagoons all around the hotel, shuttle to 4 shopping locations.
Cons: The pool is beautiful and clean but also a bit too simple.
Location: The beach is amazing! The nearby Kahala Mall has a Whole Foods, a couple of restaurants and nice boutiques as well as a yoga and barre studio.
1. We loved the beach . It was well sheltered from the waves, quiet, peaceful and not busy like other beaches on the south side. We were less than 50 steps away to the beach from our dolphin lagoon room. Very practical when you have small children. Ample lounge chairs. 2. The ladies who cleaned our room (I believe it was mostly Miss. Sandy C.) as were just absolutely amazing. I've never experienced such top notch service. Everything was absolutely spotless each day when we came back to our room. 3. Unlike some other 4.5-5 star hotels I've stayed at, where it can sometimes feels like you're being forced to pay $10 for every sip of bottled water , this hotel provides all those little things you need that make your stay so much nicer, free of charge and in abundance: chocolates, water bottles, coffee, tea, soaps, shampoos and other toiletries...The girls would run to the door when the bell rang for turn-down service . The turn - down service maid would always give them lots of little chocolates. 4. The FREE shuttle to the nearby mall and 3 other shopping destinations near Waikiki. 5. Restaurants: The food is really good but very pricey. The wine is outrageously expensive and so are the buffets. In my opinion, the buffets are not worth their price but most a la carte items were within what we would consider a fair mark up for dining at a 5 star resort in a city that is already quite expensive to begin with.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Jelena. Thank you for sharing. I'm sure our housekeepers were delighted to see your girls! Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, California

Exceeded Expectations!

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Aloha, If you are looking for a secluded (on private beach) luxury hotel; the Kahala Hotel and Resort is the place. The Kahala staff are very friendly and eager to assist you. At check-in you will be presented with a fresh lei and a cool scented towel (very refreshing after a day of travel). The Resort is very clean and well maintained, the rooms are clean and large. Bathrooms have dual vanities, a shower, a soaking tub, dual closets, robes, slippers and Washlet toilets (heated seats). Housekeeping provides a turn down service in the evening complete with chocolates, additional complementary bottled water, information on the island/resort, and a fresh plumeria flower. Mahalo to the Bell staff; Daryl, Jeff and Kelly for assisting with our luggage and shuttle reservations to Waikiki. Mahalo to Front Desk Supervisor, Jacquie for assisting with the upgrade to a ocean front balcony room. The views of the sunrise, sunset, ocean, pool, and lagoon was well worth it. Also, mahalo, for the assorted chocolate macadamia nuts, and pastries you sent to our room for our birtday; we appreciated it. Concierge staff Cameron and Leimoni for providing and assisting with tour arrangements. The shuttle driver who provided information/history of the city on our way into Waikiki. You all made our first trip to the island a memorable experience. Mahalo nui loa!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
aloha, Dee. You are most gracious! Mahalo for honoring our staff!