Ratings based on 1,800 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kelowna, BC

Overnight stay

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Cons: Please supply bars of soap.
Very close to airport and major shopping (Costco, Walmart and major shopping Center). Dated but clean. Lots of parking but they charge $5 usd per night. Also charge $15 usd per night for resort fee - that's $20 usd additional per night. Our flight from Vancouver got in late so perfect place to stay overnight and then hit Costco in morning before heading to our condo. For some reason, no bars of soap, only small packets of liquid soap and there was only one. Not convenient - ask for more. Staff okay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

right on a beach

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The proximity to the airport, the beach, the pool, the shuttle and the cost
Cons: Perhaps a frsh coat of paint would go a long way to make the property look less dated?
Location: There are two malls, both within walking distance. Queen Kaahumanu Mall is basically across the street and Maui Mall is 5-10 mins away.
We checked in after a late flight. The staff who greeted us was very, very friendly and helpful. There was another woman who worked at the desk other times who wasn't as friendly. From the reviews I'd read I immediately recognized her. Her name is Nancy but she doesn't wear a name tag, I guess for anonymity. Our a/c unit gave out and they were more than happy to switch us, upgrade us even to an ocean view room. There was a shuttle and the driver was more than happy to give you a ride wherever you wanted to go, within reason. Surprisingly, they were also willing to come and pick you up! I just called and the shuttle came directly. There are two malls, both about 5-10 minute walk in either direction. Both have plenty of food options. We didn't have the hotel dinner but it looked tasty, just overpriced. The beach in the hotel's back yard was really cool and private.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from guam

1 night arrival stay

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Cons: Add a continental breakfast
We always use this hotel when arriving late rather than drive all the way to the west side at night. Have stayed here 7 or 8 times in past 3 years. Always friendly, predictable, clean, and comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2017 by Lei , Hotel Management
Aloha Ed, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable feed back with us. We would like to thank you for your continued patronage through these years. We are delighted that your stay was met with such positive results. We look forward to your next visit! Mahalo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Hotel with Lovely Grounds

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Comfortable beds, pretty grounds
Cons: Cleaning stall needs to pay attention to detail, i.e. Cleaning glass tops on desk, nightstand, and bureau
Location: Close to shopping, airport
Nice facility with average room but very nicely kept grounds.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Lei , Hotel Management
Aloha Traveler, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your star rating with us. We see that your stay was less than what you expected and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We will share your review with our team and have them make improvements to all the areas that you have listed in your review. Mahalo
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: One thing going for the hotel is that its on the beach!
Cons: UP grade the pool, it's terrible, didn't want to swim in it!
Location: Not much, out of the way so you'll need a car!
Just OK experience, will stay in Piaia next time. Need better restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Lei, Hotel Management
Aloha Traveler, We would like to thank you for sharing your review with us! We love to see suggestions and comments of how we can better your stay with us. In you comments you mentioned for us to upgrade the Pool. We assure you your comments have not fell on deaf ears we have planned to upgrade our Pool in the near future. Bad news is that during this time the pool will be out of service. We hope to see you in the near future so you can take a dip in our soon to be new pool. Mahalo
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable Avg Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2017
I came for work. Hotel was affordable, every room has balcony some face in to ocean some to the mountain but all have nice view. First night my room was loud as it was next to highway but it didn't bother me the rest of the time. I was off on the weekend so I spent the time out exploring so i really only slept in hotel. Commuting to other areas was easy as this is on the main road. I would caution those who want to relax here as pool does not face ocean and food was subpar. I'd stay here again though if I was looking to have the same type of affordable experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Lei, Hotel Management
Aloha Vanessa, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with us. We are delighted that your stay was met with such positive results for the most part. Thank you for choosing the Maui Beach Hotel! Mahalo
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, Arizona

Good hotel if you have business in Kahului

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The rooms and beds are small and the beach cannot be used for swimming. I would not recommend it for a vacation but it is great if you have business in Kahului.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Lei , Hotel Management
Aloha Libby, Thank for taking the time to share your review with us! We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with us. Mahalo
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco ca

Posted Jul 16, 2017
When we checked in it was very nice of nancy to help us .....but when we are checking out...the lady in the counter was busy chatting with a guy and my daughter asked if we can follow up with our airport shuttle she answered my daughter in a rude way kind a irritated voice.......she needs to be trained on how to prioritize customer and not to yell especially to a kid.....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run Down

Posted Jul 16, 2017
I booked a room that was supposed to have 2 double beds and a pullout couch. Got there and no pullout. Room was VERY small and very dated. Hotel in much need of updating and repair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Greg Peros, Hotel Management
Aloha Traveler. Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are very disappointed to learn that your accommodations did not fully suit your needs, and also appreciate your valuable feedback regarding the areas of our hospitality that have room for improvement. We hope to have another opportunity to better serve you in the future. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HI

Right on the beach close to town.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Maui is beautiful the hotel is really nice. Comfortable bed fridge PlayStation with games and videos to rent out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Lei , Hotel Management
Aloha Dillon, Mahalo for sharing your review with us! We truly appreciate you choosing the Maui Beach Hotel. Mahalo,