Featured Image

Reviews of Maui Seaside Hotel

3 out of 5
Maui Seaside Hotel
100 W Kaahumanu Ave, Kahului, HI

Overall score and ratings

4.0

Very Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 534 out of 1572 reviews
5 - Excellent 34%
Rating 4 - Good. 659 out of 1572 reviews
4 - Good 42%
Rating 3 - Okay. 267 out of 1572 reviews
3 - Okay 17%
Rating 2 - Poor. 74 out of 1572 reviews
2 - Poor 5%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 38 out of 1572 reviews
1 - Terrible 2%

4.1/5

Cleanliness

4.3/5

Staff & service

3.7/5

Amenities

3.8/5

Property conditions & facilities

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Expensive not many amenities
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Dec 2, 2021
Thank you for staying with us, Abhinay. Though we have many happy guests, I'm sorry to hear we were not the Maui hotel for you.

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Good location and the facilities and lobby are great areas. The room themselves are on the older side but still not bad.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Nov 29, 2021
Aloha Robinn Acel: Mahalo for your review and for staying with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. A Hui Hou!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Beautiful setting and the we loved the style of the front drive, lobby and pool area. Beautiful beach nearby - great for swimming. Room was nice enough. We would definitely stay again.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021
Response from Mattie on Nov 25, 2021
Aloha Matthew: Thank you for staying with us. Mahalo for your positive feedback! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Maui.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The view around the hotel is beautiful. It’s not super fancy place, but the atmosphere is nice.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2021
Response from Mattie on Nov 25, 2021
Aloha Po-Wei: Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Maui. A Hui Hou!

2/5 Poor

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
I felt compltely lied to. The photos of this property are not what you actually get. The lobby and pool area are very nice. I was really excited. The staff is great. The room... I have stayed a hostels that are nicer for a whole lot less. No blanket provided, just two sheets. No fitted sheet, so the sheet just kept get tangled and waking me up. Ants. A lot of ants. They also were not servicing rooms daily unless you requested it... for the price, I wouldnt think I would beed to request someone bring me fresh towels ocaasionally. No microwave, so made eating leftovers difficult. Just overall poor quality motel. They do a good job of looking nice up front and on the internet, but i would never stay here again. Oh! And you had to pay for parking... how is that nit included in the price? This places ad needs to be updated.
Stayed 6 nights in Nov 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Nov 22, 2021
Aloha David: Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words for my team. As we are still concerned about keeping our guests safe from COVID, blankets, additional towels and housekeeping service are offered upon request. We have a routine pest inspection and control program; I apologize for the ants in your room. We do indeed charge $15 a night for parking. A Hui Hou!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
This property is in the center of Kahului and about 5-7 min to Costco and major shopping centers. The building and rooms need some renovation because if they want to attract more vacationers. Due to COVID, they do not clean the rooms daily so need to put in your request at the front desk.
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Nov 16, 2021
Aloha Vinh: Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Maui. A Hui Hou!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Close to everywhere
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Nov 15, 2021
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review, Mae! We look forward to your next visit - A Hui Hou!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The place is very conveniently located near the airport so you are not spending your time driving from other parts to Maui to go to airport. We stayed here on our last day coming back from our Hana trip.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021
Response from Mattie on Nov 11, 2021
Aloha, Mahalo for your positive feedback! We appreciate it. Hope you enjoy your stay with us.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Big clean room! Super friendly staff!
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021
Response from Mattie on Nov 11, 2021
Aloha, Mahalo, for your positive feedback! Hope to have you back in the near future.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Really well done conversion of a motel into a nicer property. It's still a motel, and you're getting what you (relatively) paid for. The staff is SUPER friendly. I had a bit of a mishap and they were extremely helpful and patient with me.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021
Response from Mattie on Nov 10, 2021
Aloha Avichai, Mahalo for your positive feedback! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Hope to see you in the future. Mahalo, Mattie

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Quite,clean motel style place with green space and pool.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Nov 5, 2021
Aloha Margaret: Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Maui. A Hui Hou!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Very good
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Nov 2, 2021
Mahalo for staying with us and for the kind review, Larry! A Hui Hou,

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Really nice place
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Oct 29, 2021
Thank you for staying with us and for the review, Mark! A Hui Hou!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
No bar other then that had a wonderfull time
Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Oct 28, 2021
Mahalo for staying with us, John! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Maui. A Hui Hou!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Great value and right on the harbors beach. Polite staffing and enjoyable pool and patio. Showers were unpredictable in temperature and the firepits around the pool were out of order. Quiet and local community.
Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Oct 31, 2021
Aloha Chandler: Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I appreciate your remarks about our location, pool and team members - mahalo! Thank you, too for letting me know about the showers; I have shared your comments with our Maintenance team for their attention. And, the fire pit issue has been rectified! We look forward to seeing you again soon. A Hui Hou!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Ocean access is a great perk here. Quiet at night in October although might not be during busy season. Excellent breakfast. We took ours to go for ocean front dining. Nice renovations in public areas. We were in one of the older buildings which were ok but definitely need some work and updating. I believe that is their intention. Shower head way too low. This place was great for a first night in Maui recovering from jet lag. Clean, basic rooms. Ocean views. The grounds are gorgeous!!
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Oct 18, 2021
Aloha Carla: Mahalo for staying with us. It is pretty quiet around here most evenings, even during our busy season. I have shared your remarks about breakfast with Tante's. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again. A Hui Hou!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Can’t use pool after 7 fire pit before 7 and rooms don’t look like the pictures in the website housekeeping don’t clean if you don’t ask in 5 days they clean my room ones
Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Oct 18, 2021
Aloha Judith: Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review. We are servicing rooms upon request rather than automatically; service can be set up via the front desk. Our pool closes for swimming at dusk which is when we will light the fire pits upon request.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Close to the city
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Oct 11, 2021
Thank you for staying with us Carla! A Hui Hou!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed here because it’s three minutes from the airport you can take a car over to Kannapali for a chunk of change and spend the day at save on hotels over there! Booked for convenience for our short stay in Maui! Hotel is nice, just enough for the money and a short stay, we went over to Kannapali for the day and did a Hana tour out of the area thus hotel is in worked for us!
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Oct 11, 2021
Mahalo for staying with us, Christopher, and for sharing your experience at the Maui Seaside Hotel! We're happy our central location near the airport was the perfect spot for your Maui getaway. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Valley Isle. A Hui Hou!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The property was clean and beautiful, the staff was friendly and our room was just what we needed after a long day of exploring the island and a place to rest and recharge.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Oct 11, 2021
Aloha Cassidy: Thank you for your kind words and for staying with us. We're so pleased the Maui Seaside Hotel was perfect for your Maui visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon. A Hui Hou!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed one night to catch an early morning flight. Check in was smooth. The room was nice and clean the the grounds we very well kept. We would go back again.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Oct 10, 2021
Thank you, Gary, for staying with us! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back again. A Hui Hou!

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Friendly staffs, good location, quiet at night, beautiful views of ocean and mountains. I would stay here again.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Oct 4, 2021
Thank you for your kind words, HANH! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Maui. A Hui Hou!

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
pool & convenience
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Sep 30, 2021
Thank you for staying with us, marijune! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Pool was quite nice. Also used laundry room. Very efficient but washer 2 wouldn’t program so we used washer 3.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Sep 20, 2021
Mahalo for staying with us and for the the great rating, Nancy! We're waiting for a part for washer 2; thank you for understanding. We look forward to seeing you again soon. A Hui Hou!

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
very dirty. If you want to take a shower you should stay on your knee
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Sep 15, 2021
Aloha HYSEN: Thank you for staying with us. Though we do take pride in our overall cleanliness, as I am unable to identify any details of your stay from your username and review, I would appreciate your contacting me personally so I may address your concerns.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
The stuff was really nice. I had an early check in at no charge. The common areas were beautiful and well taken care of. HOWEVER, the superior room shown in the pictures has nothing to do with reality. The room was clean but really ugly and needs urgent updating. The bed was only the frame and mattress on top. No headboard. Rooms shown online are really a misrepresentation.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Sep 14, 2021
Aloha Gustavo: Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words for the Maui Seaside Hotel staff. I appreciate your remarks about the condition of your room and am working to make changes which will depict the rooms in a more accurate light. We look forward to seeing you again soon. A Hui Hou!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Everything is fine!!
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Sep 17, 2021
Mahalo, Anzhelika! Hope to see you again soon!

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Staff was excellent.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Sep 10, 2021
Thank you, Marie! We look forward to seeing you again soon. A Hui Hou!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The views were spectacular and the staff was friendly
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2021
Response from Mattie on Sep 10, 2021
Happy to hear you are enjoying your visit, Hope to have you back in the future. Mahalo! for staying with us.

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Clean, nice, quiet hotel, has great view from the courtyard, 10 mins from the airport. Overall great place to stay for first time Maui visitor
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Sep 2, 2021
Mahalo for staying with us, yi, and for your kind words. Our central Maui location is indeed convenient to the airport and to seeing all of the Valley Isle. We look forward to seeing you on your next Maui visit. A Hui Hou!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Amazing customer services
Stayed 9 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Aug 30, 2021
Mahalo for your review, Martha! I have shared your kind words with my staff. A Hui Hou!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Walls are very thin can hear everything
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Aug 30, 2021
Thank you for staying with us, Sherry A, and for sharing your candid feedback. Though we don’t hear this often, I will see what we can do to minimize noise.

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group, Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Need to reserve gym and pool. they are closed at 7pm, :(
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Mattie on Aug 26, 2021
Mahalo for letting us know about your arrival experience! We hope you enjoy your stay with us!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Lovely courtyard, great porch area with lots of places to sit and relax, great service, courteous staff.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Mattie on Aug 24, 2021
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!

3/5 Okay

Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Sep 17, 2021
Mahalo for the great review, Amanda!

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
The complex has two hotel buildings. The first building we were placed was in fair condition with views of vacant lots or parking lot. The building show in the marketing material is very nice and situated around the pool. We had to move three times to get the better building and rooms.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Mattie on Aug 21, 2021
Mahalo for letting us know about your arrival experience! We hope you enjoy your stay with us!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Not so good usually when I travel parking is free especially for disabled Veterans. We fought for your freedom and we still pay for a battle that can never be won. An thats the American way of life? Go figure!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Mattie on Aug 21, 2021
Mahalo for letting us know about your arrival experience! We hope you enjoy your stay with us!

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Close to everything and friendly staff.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Sep 9, 2021
Mahalo for your kind words for our hotel staff! We're happy you liked our central Maui location and we hope to see you again soon. A Hui Hou!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Staff were professional and friendly. Hotel service was excellent. The best part about this hotel was its next to the beach, clean, accommodating with your flight circumstances, fast hotel service, and mostly, my parents felt homely at this place, specially at the TANTE’s restaurant.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Aug 17, 2021
Mahalo for staying with us and for your kind review! We are happy to be of service to you. I have shared your remarks with both my staff and with Tante's owner. We look forward to seeing you again soon. A Hui Hou!

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Aug 17, 2021
Thank you for the review and for staying with us, Alexander!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Stayed 6 nights in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Property felt very clean and fresh. Looks like they had a recent total renovation so everything was new. Murals and pool area were very welcoming and staff was friendly. Would definitely stay here again if I’m the Kahului area.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Aug 12, 2021
Thank you for staying with us and your kind review! I have shared your remarks with our hosts. A Hui Hou!

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Sep 17, 2021
Thank you for the review, Mike!

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Maui Seaside Hotel was a beautiful property. Upon arrival they were able to accommodate an early check in. The staff were extremely helpful and kind, it was some of the best customer service that we received while in Maui. They provided exceptional service throughout our entire stay. The space looked as if it was just remodeled and the view to the ocean was spectacular. It was clean and the outdoor space was perfect for relaxing and hanging out. There was also a restaurant that served local and Filipino food attached to the hotel. We would stay here again when we return to Maui. Thank you for great accommodations.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Aug 9, 2021
Mahalo for staying with us! I have shared your remarks with everyone here at the Maui Seaside Hotel; we appreciate your kind words recognizing their aloha. We look forward to seeing you again soon. A Hui Hou!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
The hotel is a great place to stay, it is clean and the staff is great.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Sep 9, 2021
Mahalo for your great review, Kirby! I appreciate your kind words for our housekeeping and for our staff - thank you! We look forward to seeing you on your next Valley Isle trip. A Hui Hou!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very friendly at front desk.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2021
Response from Bill Rees, General Manager on Aug 7, 2021
Thank you for your kind review and for recognizing our front desk hosts. We hope to see you again soon. A Hui Hou!