Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel is closed until further notice

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel closed because of too much earthquake damage. We were not notified by hotels.com. Hotel did not have our e-mail. Very frustrating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel condemned

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Please see my other e mails to you. We booked the hotel in August 2016 and it was condemned after the earthquake in November. NO ONE INFORMED US. We had to drive 140 km to Hanmer Springs to find a room. Pleas refund the money we paid as soon as possible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Gem in the scenic Kaikoura

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Very warmly welcomed by Jen and her enthusiasm and bubbliness was immediately buoying. The hosts Jen and warren were very nice and helpful in any which way we look at it and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and at home. The room was warm and cosy and the bedding was great after a day out. The breakfast was adequate and warren was not only a good company and a considerate person, but one who could make a great cup of coffee. Very highly recommended place to stay. Thanks Jen and Warren for making or stay memorable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
The hosts were just great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Nice hotel close to whale watching and town centre. Although recently renovated it still is a very small room that also gets quite cold. The staff are not on site full time either. Renovations are nice, room is clean etc... but not ideal for big people or ones that like warmth.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very over-priced for what you get.

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
We had a courtyard room that was very nicely decorated but tiny - more like a holiday park cabin than a $200 hotel room. No wardrobe or drawers (no space for them!) and a tiny bathroom and shower cubicle. Our room (No.7) also had a skylight with no blinds/curtains, so we were woken by the sun at 6.30am. The room rate included a continental breakfast.The owners were friendly and helpful, and provided gluten-free bread and cereal to go with the boiled egg, tinned fruit and yogurt at breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chch, NZ

Friendly comfort

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Wotif
Great stay, friendly staff, awesome courtyard to sit back and enjoy a beer or two. we had an early start on the Saturday morning but this was no issue, a beautiful breakfast was served. Good local knowledge with helpful advice. We'll be back. Many thank
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel overlooking the water

Posted Sep 14, 2016
A lovely stay. The continental breakfast was delicious.