Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A nice enough stay!

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Freshness of room
Location: Kayaking and pelagic tours to see dolphin and albatross
For the area, this is a nice enough place to stay. The reception experience was a bit cold and unaccommodating and no budging on a late checkout ... not even 30 minutes! With 10:00 am being the absolute latest you can stay, you cannot really do anything during the morning hours and return to the room to freshen up before leaving town. And although the rooms are clean and the beds comfy, there was an odd odor in the room that was very off-putting. Overall, with our party renting two hotel rooms, we would have hoped for a more pleasant welcome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

great hotel close to whale watch centre

Posted Mar 10, 2017
stayed 2 nights in kaikoura. this was a great place to stay to go whale watching.comfortable bed and cooking facilities. staff very helpful with any queries and full of information on surroundings
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel if there are any other available.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Ok hotel.
A normal hotel, nothing special like the other evaluations suggested.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Rudest guy on reception Michael.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
We couldn't make it to the hotel because of the road closures from the earth quake but didn't find out about this until we were 30 km away from the hotel after travelling 8 hrs. The hotel didn't bother to inform us that the roads might be closed. We were told we had to go around another way to get to the hotel which would be another 9 hours. We rang the hotel and spoke to Michael. He is the rudest person I have ever spoken to. Instead of being sympathetic about our problem he told us to find a solution ourselves as it wasn't his problem and that we should have checked their Facebook page to see the info about the road closures. We asked for a refund and he flat out refused. We asked if he could offer any suggestions since we were new in the country and had no idea what to do and he pretty much said it wasn't his problem. Never have I encountered such a rude person in the hospitality industry. I don't recommend this hotel to anyone. Don't support this organisation. Expedia were amazing. They understood our problem and gave us a full refund on this hotel even though the hotel refused them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Mike, Hotel Management
I am sorry that you found me rude. You would have passed a couple of sign along State Highway 1 leaving Blenheim telling you that the road to Kaikoura was closed. We have information on our web site and facebook page telling people about the situation with the roads. You had made your booking at the end of December and the road was closed at that time and the information clearly states on travel sites that the road will be months before it is open again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect place to relax. We picked a room with a view and it was spectacular view morning and night. Hotel is close enough to walk to town for restaurants or shopping & for breakfast it has the albatross cafe right next door. Perfect weekend with this relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

A great hotel in a great location

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Everything was faultless; located in a stunning position on the Kaikoura seafront, the facilities and the customer service was first class.
Cons: Cannot comment here since all aspects exceeded our expectations.
Location: Kaikoura Seafront; whale, dolphin and sea watching. A plethora of good eating places in the vicinity, ranging from good pub-grub to fine-dining.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Beautiful Seaview

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Located next to Encounter Kaikoura, convenient if you plan for Dolphin Encounter tour.
2-bedroom apartment was comfortable but bedrooms are located upstairs. Difficult to carry lugguage to bedrooms if you have big luggage. Bathroom is located downstairs with another toilet without shower facility upstairs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and spacious hotel

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Comfy beds
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Generally good but our room was next to the cleaners storeroom with noisy chitchat early in the morning
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from christchurch

Great stay

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: Good location to everything even with a 3 year old
Very helpful staff. They went out of their way to help me.So a big thank you to them.