Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Great location
Location: Close to downtown
Perfect in every way....clean, modern, safe area, easy public transportation available,.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Stay for the View!

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Older property but well maintained grounds. Rooms are outdated but spacious. The bed was terrible, hard as a rock and flat, flat pillows. That view though!! The view from the lanai is spectacular. All-in-all, the room served its purpose and I would probably stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Honest Review

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Location: This hotel is close to Kona. You can walk or drive to town.
The positives of this hotel are the views from the ocean front rooms, spaciousness, and the quiet little "beach". However, if you don't need the kitchen or the space, you might be happier somewhere else. The couch in our unit (309) smelled terrible like mildew or something worse. I've experienced rooms in tropical places taking on a mildewy smell, but this was different. We couldn't sit on the couch and it made the entire room smell, so we couldn't spend any time in there comfortably.The windows in the bedroom faced the walkway, and the because of the shape of the windows and the coverings that were chosen for them, we had to choose between putting the blinds all the way down to the point they bulged out and people could see in, or putting them down until they covered the tops of the tinted windows and gave us privacy but did not block out hallway light. The sheets on our bed had both a hole and a stain. I understand that these condos are individually owned and just managed by the hotel, but if you are going to call a place a hotel you need to have uniform standards on comfort and cleanliness that are enforced throughout. Because of the problems and the hotel's lack of ambiance, we decided to try to check out early giving 1 day's notice to move to a comparably priced resort with real resort amenities. The manager was out and did not get back to us for 24 hours to approve an early check out, which by that point, would have been 1 day early. We were stuck and disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Nice place right on the water

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Location. Great ocean view
It was a great place to stay. Quiet and well looked after for a older building. Staff was great and tried to help in anyway they could. Felt safe and found it a relaxing place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

Nice hotel within walking distance to downtown

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Great location. Clean. Quiet. Spacious.
Cons: Hot water could be better. Would go cold quickly after just one short shower.
Location: Close to town, shopping, great food, and other attractions.
Very nice place to stay. Room was a bit dated but in good condition, clean and quiet. Great location. Nice pool. Staff was very friendly. Smokers will be a little inconvenienced as this is a non smoking property but they do have a small shack near the road that a smoker can smoke in. I wasn't keen on the large sliding doors to the Master Bedroom in the two bedroom unit I stayed in. They were large, heavy and tough to slide. Also with the slats gave little privacy from other guests that may be sitting in the living room. Other than that I would recommend this hotel and would stay again if I visit Kona again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view. No beach

Posted Nov 6, 2017
The staff was friendly. No super amenities but the basics were great. No beach access but beautiful views. Would have been great for a month.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Dave Schneider, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for taking a moment to share the details of your experience at our hotel. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful views, friendly staff and helpful amenities. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future! Mahalo.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

dated but spacious and well located

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Pros: spacious with kitchen/laundry and ocean view (can hear the waves 24-7!)
Cons: clean carpet, spruce it up some.
Location: take surf lessons with Kahalu’u Bay Surf & Sea
ocean view in spacious room with comfortable memory foam master bed but sub-par bonus bed in second bedroom. dated, with stains on carpet, but full kitchen/laundry. very pleasant staff. well situated in area. small resort fee got me a newspaper, free wifi, free local calls, free dvd rentals (room has playstation and nice flatscreen tv to play dvds on).
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Dave Schneider, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your experience with me. I'm so happy you enjoyed our spacious accommodations, beautiful ocean views, comfortable bedding, plentiful amenities, friendly staff, and ideal location. I'm glad you had a pleasant stay at our hotel, and we look forward to having you back again soon! Mahalo. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Great view

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Good location. Wonderful view. Spacious condo. Loved having two bedrooms and large lanai to enjoy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by Dave Schneider, Hotel Management
Aloha Janell! Thank you for sharing your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our spacious accommodations, ideal location as well as our beautiful views. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Mahalo!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

room

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Cons: paint, clean sticky cubords.
first part of trip room was upgraded and was terrific, Returned for second part and everything went bad, Room stunk. Reservationest was on the rude side. rooms that they showed me to replace my original room that i was not going to stay in there for a week, were either unavailable or dirty, My first floor reservation was never honored. I have a height issue;
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Dave Schneider, Hotel Management
Aloha Puffy. We appreciate the time you took to share your review. It is disappointing to hear that your stay was less than exceptional and appreciate you sharing your concerns with us as it helps us to improve. We are dedicated to providing our guests with a warm and welcoming experience, and hope to have another chance to better do so for you in the future. Mahalo.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017
Mahalo for sharing your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and can’t wait to welcome you again. Aloha and a hui hou.