Ratings based on 576 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yuba City, CA

Cheap Option

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Good location, great view and easy walking distance to everything.
Cons: Have maid service at least every 3 day. Balcony and floors need to be cleaned before arrival.
Location: Easy access to everything.
Good location, great view and easy walking distance to everything. Unit was OK, no maid service so you have to wash you own towels. Kitchen was adequately equipped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Loved room, pool, and having access to the ocean. The location was stellar: great fun walking along Kona waterfront!
Cons: There were 8" black hairs everywhere, including in the bed! Had some difficulty with bedroom AC.
Location: Food, swimming, lovely sunsets!
Redundant. Already said everything I had to say. Hair in apt. Issues with AC in bedroom. What else is there to mention. Loved the walking experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by -Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and making us aware of the few issues with the room. We are glad you had a great vacation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
There was no clean service! We did not have enough soap or shampoo for 3 people! Still have to pay 155 dollars for cleaning and in the end no service!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by -Management, Hotel Management
Unlike hotels, our condos do not come with a cleaning service during a guests stay. However, we will provide a replenishment of amenities upon request.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Had everything we needed, convenient location, loved it! Home away from home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by -Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ocean front condo.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Great location. Amazaing views. My room needs updating .
1 out of 5
by Linda

FILTHY!!!

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
This place was absolutely FILTHY - the floors, curtains, lamps shades,etc. The A/C and Hairdryer did NOT work. Would not recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

OK....HOTEL... great location/ view of the beach !

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: LOCATION, VIEW....A BEACH WAS NEXT TO PROPERTY...
Cons: I DID 'T APPRECIATE...HAVING TO DRIVE....TO ANOTHER LOCATION..1.5 Miles to check in??? I HAD A RENT A CAR...WHAT IF I DIDN'T??? EXPEDIA..NO WARNING!
The Hotel was located in a convenient spot, near the main downtown area etc...a short drive to the pier ..other restaurants etc... The staff was professional...etc... I think for what I $$$ (200 @ night ? Was too much) I have traveled to kona ...for over 10 yrs...& HAVE Stayed at different types of locations in kona _ this was the first time!! I had to "check in" at another hotel location?? Approximately 1.5 miles... !! I had a rented a car so...I guess.... no worries ... But what if I didn't!!! Expedia..provided No info /warning ect.... about this _ having to check in at another hotel location ( a sister hotel??) Thus my experience ..on this trip with these accommodations..I RATE as just OK.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Kona Reef has no onsite Management so Kona Bali Kai down the street manages. Samantha is awesome and very responsive. This is not a hotel but condos and some are privately owned- so we dealt with construction noise next door. Beds are hard as a rock but everything else was great. Washer and dryers in units and all kitchen necessities that you can possibly need. Close to town but far enough away to not deal with it if you don't want to. Great location and great views!!!! No sand beach which is typical for Kona.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Condo was very outdated, smelled moldy and not very comfortable. Kitchen also old but with sufficient cooking and eating utensils. We were on the bottom floor with a "garden view" but it was very dark and gloomy feeling. Not what you want when you're on the ocean. Positive was that pool area very clean and easy access to green grass in front of water.
1 out of 5
by Andrea

No stay at all

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
The property may be amazing but we'll never know. We booked through Hotels.com and I then placed a call to the property directly to confirm our booking and get instruction for late check in. We arrived and got our rental car, arrived to the property at about 10:40 PM , found the posted # to call, were given the run around, placed multiple calls to them, and 40 min later left the property after being told we had no reservation. The manager finally called at 1:40 AM but we had found alternate lodging and let it go to voicemail. Hotels.com has refunded us and the Castle properties has stated their general manager will be in contact. Horrible experience.