Ratings based on 2,153 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Have a wonderful time at kona coast resort. The room is very convenience for us because we have a kitchen and a laundry machine in our unit. Like the fact that Expedia take care of every and I don't need to pay extra during checkout.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Staff were very nice, King size bed was very comfortable. Washing machine and dryer unit that we had was noisy. We saw a roach once in our bathroom and another in the kitchen, I'm not sure if that's to be expected because of the climate but we didn't see any during our last stay here 4 years ago. When we were sitting on one of the sofa chairs, we started to itch. The resort activities center sold us on attending a 60 minute sales pitch in exchange for discounts on activities. The presentation ended up taking 3 hours. Overall our stay was nice because the staff was very pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Great home base for exploring the Big Island

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Stayed in the updated section. Condo was clean, roomy and well equipped. Used the grill one night for teriyaki chicken and grilled pineapple - it was one of the best meals we had on the trip! Pool is small, but the location is convenient to most Kona activities as well as the volcano. Staff was very responsive and quickly handled the few requests we had, Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet resort but not what I had expected.

Posted Aug 4, 2017
I was expecting a resort with beach access but it did not have beach access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

We keep going back

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Our suite was recently renovated and had new furniture in the living room. The grounds are very nice as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

old , dingy, roaches

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: needs total remodel. is not worth the money as is is now.
We had roaches in our room and ruined our second night stay,... hotel did not offer any compensation. is not a resort .this is a timeshare so no service or cleaning your room daily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Howell, MI

So much nicer than a motel room!

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: The best thing about the resort was the beautiful condo rooms, and the beautiful, well kept grounds.
Cons: Probably not possible, but more sound insulation between the ground floor condo and the upper floor condo would be an improvement.
Location: It is located on the beautiful west coast of the Island, close to beaches, golf, everything. And a shopping center is right across the street,
We have always stayed in motel rooms on our vacations. Basically they have been a bedroom with a bathroom. The Kona Coast Resort Condos are like being in your home away from home. My wife and I had a one bedroom with two nice bathrooms, both with lovely showers. The condo had a fully equipped kitchen with every dish, glass, pot or pan that you would need. Coffee maker, toaster, blender, dish washer, and even a clothes washer and dryer. The living area, which was adjacent to the large, beautiful granite kitchen counter, had a couch/hide-a-bed, couple of comfortable arm chairs, and a large glass top dining table. There were two flat screen TV's, one in the living area, and the other one in the bedroom. The view from the room included the ocean, the beautiful golf course, and the wonderful pool and Sunset Terrace restaurant. The resort had a policy of "Quiet Time" from 10 pm to 8 am, so as not to disrupt other quests at night with loud and offensive activities. It also had an activity center with staff to help you plan your activities, fitness rooms, barbecue areas ( with fresh herb gardens for our use), shuffle board court, volleyball court, basketball courts, and tennis courts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful rooms and location

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Beautiful rooms with handy location. The rooms were very well appointed and set out. The resort was quiet had a great holiday feel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midland, texas

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Great place that offers free parking and did not charge a resort fee
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles ca

Was excellent very close to the beach nice view

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Was excellent location exactly what I was expecting my kind of place