Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yakima, Washington

No beach access.

Posted Oct 29, 2017
The room was outdated. The bed was uncomfortable despite a foam mattress topper they had on it. The floors were dirty and sticky the day we arrived. I would never recommend Kona Reef yo my friends or family. My first time in Hawaii and I was very disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
No activity.. suspect theft from 1st floor patio..
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Katharina , Hotel Management
Aloha I am sorry for your experience, we have notified security to address the issue and hope to see you back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach and walks to town.

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Nice hotel close to the beach and walks to town. Can swim at the beach if careful for urchins. Very much recommended!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2017 by Katharina, Hotel Management
Aloha Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
by Houston

Kona Reef condo

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
The condo was very clean, well appointed, well equipped kitchen and comfortable. The location was not exactly as presented in the website. I would term the view from the patio a partial oceanview. The direct view from patio was to a city park where people were sleeping overnite, picnicking, and carousing, also, a major road was in partial view with lots of noise from traffic going by all day until late in the evening. It was easy walking distance to shops and restaurants along the Kona shoreline. Short drive for groceries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Havasu City, Arizona

Very nice room and pool. Easy walk to town.

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on CheapTickets
Very relaxing, quiet and close to town without all the noise
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wis

Nice hotel close to ocean

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Amy was awesome, she coordinated our activities in such a timely friendly manner enabling us to enjoy our stay without worrying about schedule or planning. The room was great only steps away from ocean with breathtaking views. Thanks for a great vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great condos near town

Posted Jan 14, 2017
This was our 5th stay at the Kona Reef and it was excellent as usual. Great ocean view condos with a pool and just a short walk to town make the Kona Reef our go to place in Kailua-Kona. We'll be back!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Condo was not the one shown online when we booked.

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: The condo has an awesome location. Short walk to downtown Kona, pool area is not extravagant but nice, and the beach is right next to the condo.
Cons: In extreme need of a renovation. The furniture, fixtures, and flooring were years past needing replaced. Not up to hotel standards of clean.
Location: As stated in what we liked, the location is great.
The condo we were given was not the one pictured. We would not have booked it if they had been. Condos should be listed individually so people know what they are committing to. We were there at a high travel time, and no other condos were available. We had to make do. The room has a physical key, but the lock is old and flimsy. You do NOT get a key to the dead bolt. Room security feels inadequate. There were maintenance issues that are easily fixed, but not addressed. The back of the toilet is broken and glued back together, the washing machine sounds like it is going to come through the wall on rinse cycle, racks in the dishwasher need replaced, fixtures were worn out. There is a Home Depot in town, really no excuse for any of this. The furniture in the entire condo was tired, sagging, and bruised. The carpet was stained and needed shampooing. The doors on the bedroom closet did not stay on the tracks. That said the patio was a great place to hang out and eat meals, and the overall location is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Kona Reef

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Location. Room was nice and clean.
Cons: Don't let a few rude people ruin other people's time at the hotel.
Nice during the day, people respectful and quiet. At night however, there were a bunch of younger people who were loud and obnoxious after the quiet hours. Would have been nice if there were security around....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the best, Old, dated.

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Very dated timeshare property, ceiling had black mound where walls met. The room we had B15 had a 4 foot piece of wood to secure the windows on to the patio closed as we were only 1 floor up and at the same level as the local park where sometimes homeless people spent the night. In all fairness they never bothered us but never felt totally relaxed.