Ratings based on 4,364 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great sea view

Posted Nov 5, 2017
We were given an upgrade to the king size ground floor room . Thank you. A great room. Sleeping to the surf sound. On the first morning we saw dolphins in the sea outside our room and swam with them for an hour. How cool is that.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kona beach room

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: The central building and amenities.
Cons: Cleanliness of carpets. Soundproof windows. Wi-if included in price.
VERY noisy - Hugo’s entertainment could be heard clearly through the closed doors. Unfortunately we were there over Halloween - LOUD. Wave action was amplified by shape of veranda roof - sounded like a strong wind storm. Not worth the price - perhaps a room on a different side would have proved better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice location but upgrades needed

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Very dated room with water damage in bathroom that should have been repaired years ago, and older scratchy linens. Can hear neighbors thru walls. Right on ocean with nice view--surf is loud! Outside stairs are a bit of a tripping hazard in low light. Front desk staff was very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane

Great location on the beach with harbor view

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: Best location in town
Location: Five minute walk to restaurants and bars.
Received an upgrade to a corner suite over looking the harbor. . Friendly staff. Would definately stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Just one complaint

Posted Nov 1, 2017
We loved everything about the resort, EXCEPT THE BED! The bed was terrible, it was like a rock. Royal kona resort, please just buy a cheap half decent matters topper and it would make all the difference in the world.. Again, everything else was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from salt lake city

Right on the beach, great pool and open air restur

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Loved it. Close to fun resturaunts, shops etc. beautiful grounds and right on the beach. Close to great sandy beaches.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good location but condition not great

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Lobby is nice.
Cons: Just about everything...
Location: Pretty close to the center of Kailua-Kona. Shops, restaurants, and flea market just down the street about a 5-10 minute walk.
We spent the extra and upgraded to a king corner suite. View was amazing but that's about it. Room and hotel is in major need of a facelift. The lobby is really nice which makes it look totally misleading. Another major downfall is that you can easily walk over onto the next lanai so if you leave your room make sure you lock the lanai doors. Overall would not stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from honolulu

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Cons: As mentioned above
Hotel is quite old and can do with a renovation. Also didn't like the fact that no swipe was needed to access the lifts and rooms that all levels of hotel can be seen as its a open plan.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Royal Kin

Posted Oct 22, 2017
The hotel itself was fine. But they charged $12 a night paling, and because there is so little we had to park at the opposite end of the property to our room on a steep dirt/grass hill next to the tennis courts. Would have been mud if it had rained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Nice hotel, great location, Close to many shops & restaurants. Have a great Luau!