Ratings based on 4,225 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenwich, CT

Amazing views top everything else

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Royal Kona is a wonderful and charming Kona hotel. We had the 4th floor corner king room and it was amazing. Though the hotel is a bit outdated it holds a Hawaiian charm that we love. The evening Luaoa (spelling?) can be seen from our balcony perfectly and the sunset too. Staff were incredibly friendly, informative and efficient. We can't wait to stay here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice view shame about its age!

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: The view
Cons: Decor, better beds, China cups and glasses.
Location: Location was good in Kailua. Options available to do tours but more information about the local trolley bus would be great.
A very dated old hotel that takes pride of place on the edge of the ocean. Great view from our 7th floor room however, the design is such that guests in a corner room could look straight into our room. No privacy and awkward for them as well as us. Must have been a top place to stay way back in the 60's and 70's. No free wifi in the room was a definite minus also paper cups for tea/coffee and plastic cups for drinks. The bed was hard. Needs a total refurbish.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Pleasant resort

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Great facilities. Friendly staff. The sound of the ocean - so calming. Close to the historic village of Kona. Reasonable price. We stayed for 8 days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, Good Beach View

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Restaurant services
Location: Great location with easy access to shopping and other convenient amnesties
Nice Hotel, Good Beach View, but not access to the access to the beach. The front desk staff are wonderful people, very personable and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Nice hotel with great view

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Overall everything was nice. Pool was dirty. View was great. Location was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

I'd come back

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Peaceful location close to amenities.
Cons: The luau could be noisy for those in 2 of the towers. The gym was small & patrons sweated all over the equipment & didn't clean up (gross).
Location: Shopping, relaxing.
Great location within walking distance of some nice shops (but touristy) and restaurants (Bongo Ben's!). I had the best deep tissue massage (can't remember the guy's name but I felt so much better after) and Cary the bartender is awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Best place to stay.

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Everything is close and convenient Love this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from omaha

Best location in Kona

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bar area could use a heavy cleaning as the tables and chairs were extremely sticky. The hotel could offer a booklet on hotel amenities and services.
Location: Short walking distance to shopping and restaurants.
We have been there before and the hotel is gradually updating rooms. The shopping spaces are all filled. The ocean view is fabulous from the 6th floor. There could be a shelf in the handicapped bathroom. The handicapped parking was right in front of the hotel making a short walk to the car. The breakfast buffet has improved.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Disappointed

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: The manager apologized and acted on our complaints the next morning by contacting Expedia for a refund. Thank you.
Cons: Renovations and exterminators are needed.
Our experience MAY have been colored by which side of the building we were placed -- there were noisy fans and compressors below room 516 that were so loud that we couldn't hear the waves that we saw crashing below us, AND the noise interfered with our sleep. BUT, the bugs that came out in the night in the bathroom are a different story. There is no excuse for this...We had to catch them and flush them down the toilet! Furthermore, we think that in this day and age, guests shouldn't be charged for WiFi access. The Royal Kona was presented as a resort experience and while some of the common areas are still beautiful, our building (the main -- middle-- building) was showing its age: peeling paint, dated fixtures and marred surfaces. This was not the grand ending to our 18 day stay in Hawaii that we had imagined. Even our drinks were watered down!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HONOLULU

GOOD HOTEL FOR TOURNAMENT FISHERMEN

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: GOOD LOCATION AND COMFORTABLE.
Cons: SOMEHOW BETWEEN EXPEDIA AND THE SPEEDISHUTTLE THE SHUTTLE ROUNDTRIP BETWEEN AIRPORT AND HOTEL AND BACK DID NOT GET CANCELLED??? EXPEDIA EXPERT LENA.
Location: PICK UP THE BIG ISLAND MAGAZINE AT THE AIRPORT BAGGAGE AREA FOR LISTING AND REVIEWS OF THINGS TO DO.
GOOD LOCATION AND COMFORTABLE PLACE TO STAY DURING THE MANY FISHING TOURNAMENTS---SEVERAL GOOD RESTAURANTS WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE. VEHICLE PARKING AT THE HOTEL AT $12 A DAY IS TOO MUCH!