Ratings based on 2,285 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Roach and nats

Posted Nov 18, 2017
On our honeymoon and was aiming for a great time. We checked in and had nats the first night put a towel under door see if that’s where they were coming from. Very hot in hotel had to get a fan. Second night after exploring came back to hotel while getting settled in found roach on floor next to bed. After telling front desk they transferred us to another room which was a lot better spent for remainder of honeymoon. We picked hotel because Rays on the bay seemed like a nice spot at the hotel for adults, we got there it was closed for renovation. Breakfast daily downstairs was 29.99$ or 39.99$ per day. Better to explore island and get great breakfast outside of hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh..

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Hotel did not honor my room request that I made months in advance and then charged me for two cars parking fees when I only had one. Much to be worked out. Not exactly a satisfied guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Manga Viewing at Night

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Good location right in the middle of the west side of Big Island; easily accessible to both north or south end of the island. We were able to drive around to all the places we wanted to go easily with no problem. Our room was clean and upkept well. We never ate on sight so I have no opinion about restaurants or food offered. Front desk staff was good to us and accommodated a room with an ocean view when we asked. Overall, just a pleasant stay. P.S. they turn on a spotlight to shine right into the ocean which draws Manta Rays into view at night. Very cool so make sure you spend some time out at night to check it out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Lovely hotel. Nice welcome with shell lei. Attended the Luau. Amazing show.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Room given away after making special request

Posted Nov 17, 2017
After having made a special request for double beds (in all the hotels we booked) many months in advance, Sheraton, gave our room away, and decided to upgrade us to a king bed despite our specific instructions for seperate beds. This was just sloppy on their part and made for a lousy experience as one of us had to take a cot. Not a good way to treat guests and their excuse was to say there was no guarantee that a request could be honored. Really? Despite a waive of parking fees, I will never recommend or return here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Gorgeous Property from the outside and lobby

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: The views, landscape, and the pool
Cons: The hotel rooms, especially the bathroom
Location: Near a marina that picks up for the manta ray snorkelling tour, 5 minute drive to a plaza with plenty of food options and grocery store.
The Sheraton Kona has a proper resort feel from the large balcony windows upon arrival to the lobby, to the huge swimming pool. However, I wish the rooms were updated. The size of the room is perfect, only that the bathroom has an old tube and toilet that is from school days (the ones you flush with a huge handle). If the hotel had upgraded the rooms, I would definitely return here. We had a great time at the pool and even being in our 30s, we enjoyed the waterside. We also booked two excursions through the hotel. Swimming with the Manta Rays was unbelievable and the volcano tour is a good alternative if you didn't rent a car. Like most nicer hotels in Kona, the hotel is secluded and you will need a car to get around the Island. The staff is pretty friendly. The restaurants don't have very good hours, so if you are hungry after 9pm, you will likely have to order food from somewhere or drive somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Nice views of both mountains and ocean

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Location, views, price, pool area
Cons: The rooms and hallways are in need of some maintenance and TLC. Facilities appear old at times.
Location: This is near the "main drag" in Kona, and is right next to both a golf course and a boat launch area that takes guests on snorkeling and canoe tours.
This was a relatively budget-friendly place to land after the long flight from the mainland. The beds were comfortable and facilities were clean. The rooms are basic and in need of some TLC, but the common spaces by the pool, bar, and restaurant are beautiful. We especially enjoyed the pebble-bottomed kid's pool - even without kids. Parking is convenient, and the location overall is convenient to the many offerings Kona has.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location!

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Great staff everywhere except the restaurant. Very clean and pleasant hotel. Keep in mind this is a tropical climate. Great pool and you can watch manta rays from the grounds. I would skip the restaurant and the luau. Very nice gift shop and activities. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hawaii

Looking a little tired

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Location: The hotel is positioned in a lovely spot, but out of town quite a way.
We spend 3 nights at the Sheraton and I must say it was a little disappointing and not up to the standard of other Sheratons in the world. We had paid extra for a ocean view room, and while we were not directly ocean front, we had a side view which unfortunately came with the carpark view and noise. Staff were ok, but only had one person serving the pool area at happy hour while the rest of the staff fratanised around the bar with each other. Room was clean, but I need of upgrading. Over all our stay was pleasant, but not what you would expect for Sheraton Hotel, wxpecially when you are paying top $$$$$.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Korea

Sheraton Kona Resort

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Excellent stay overall! We had booked this hotel stay the day of, due to a last minute change from a previously booked resort at Castle Bali Kai (poor accomodations, lack of maintenance and cleanliness). The staff definitely assisted us with our needs and did so in a professional manner. The location is perfect in terms of driving to beaches, shopping, and distance from the airport. The pool is a great place to relax or play with the kids and coupled with the best sunset views. Highly recommended!