Ratings based on 2,090 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Still here, loving it, wish I could stay longer.

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Pros: Staff are so friendly! Amenities like the Lounge with snacks and drinks was awesome. Love that it included a buffet breakfast and also a continental
Location: Movie theater nearby, manta dive happening right off shore, really pretty at night seeing the lights in the water and sounds of happy children
JoJo checked us in and was amazing! It was my first time using Expedia and so he went and made me feel very comfortable, assured me of all the add-ons that I received and gave me a map so I could find my way around. He was so polite and so friendly, I really felt at ease and it made for a really good introduction to the property. I stayed here before but didn't know about the lounge with drinks and "pupus" until this stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Very nice hotel, service excellent.....

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Pools Location on the water
Cons: Bathroom update Expensive resort fees, and also parking fees.......I imagine most people only use the pool, it’s all we used in 3 days......
Location: Need a car Evening manta ray boat tour, looked fab. Haven’t done that yet....but on the bucket list
Beds and pillows the most comfortable ever ...... Found the bathrooms need an update, but that didn’t put us off Everything else wonderful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Friendly and very helpful staff.

Posted Dec 10, 2017
We checked in very late beyond last check in time but staff accommodated us. Less stress for us...able to relax after a long flight. Thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great Views and Location, Staff Could Be Better

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: The rooms are large and clean. Comfy beds. Bathrooms aren't modern but still clean. The ocean views were great and the pool was large and not crowded.
Cons: Nearly every staff person we encountered could use a lesson in customer service. No one seemed interested in helping, we often had to chase them down.
Location: Anything worthwhile is in Kona, about 6 miles away. An easy 15 minute drive. Also close to the airport which is nice.
Our group had two ocean front rooms for a three night stay. Overall, we liked the views, the rooms, the location and the pool. LOTS of walking at this hotel, esp for oceanfront rooms. Only one elevator and not close to pool or ocean view wing. Some food and drinks were great, others just mediocre. Expensive but that's to be expected. However, we would book again if we were in Kona. Unfortunately our biggest complaint was regarding the staff. We encountered several people that could use lessons in customer service. We waited 30+ minutes by the pool the first day with staff running by us and avoiding eye contact. We even waved and tried to call someone over and they still didn't come over. We eventually got up and went and sat at the bar just so we could order. Same thing when booking hundreds of dollars of services in the spa - the woman seemed annoyed to have to talk to us. Our key card also deactivated twice and no one ever apologized, just signed and gave us a new one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First time visiting

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Location: Waterfront row in Kona is a lot of fun!
We enjoyed our stay! They have a very helpful and fun staff. The resort grounds are beautiful and the ocean view from our lanai was amazing!! We will be back!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

$$$ for really poor customer service

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Pros: Great location - next to the ocean and top snorkeling spots, beautiful grounds, and great swimming pool
Cons: Customer service, rooms and bathrooms.
Location: Kahalu'u beach for walk-in snorkeling with sea turtles and fishes. Huggos is an awesome place for food. 2 hours drive to Volcano and Mauna Kea summit.
Beautiful hotel and great locale - right next to the ocean. Grounds are beautiful. What is appalling is the customer service. Booked 2 double beds room with Ocean view for 4 days by paying a higher rate (King bed rooms looked to be cheaper, but we were 3 people). Given a King bed and were told Expedia doesn't know which room it is booking. We requested for a change of rooms and were turned down. really? Then we saw there was no TV in the room. We again called and they said they will send in a TV. We were really annoyed - there is no extra bed, there is no TV .. and total lack of empathy from front desk. Finally, they agreed to move us to another room - which was much better - except for the bathroom. Rooms are dated. Toilet seats seemed to be plagued (it is such a minimal change to replace the toilet seats- but they just acid wash it). The next dismay was that for 2 days they did not replace the toiletries (shampoo, conditioner etc.) and this is an ocean side hotel. We ran out of shampoo/conditioner and lotion and had to go to the front desk to get it, as we had no guarantee when they would deliver it otherwise!! Overall this hotel could have been much better managed. So unless you want to spend $$$$ for really apathetic customer service and dated hotel rooms, you are much better off booking at other hotels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Overpriced hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed, view of the ocean.
Cons: Resort fee is ridiculous. How about a free drink on arrival or breakfast?
Location: Off the downtown Kona path. Nothing much to do nearby unless you use the trips out of the marina next door. The pool slide was fun.
We stayed at Kona Sheraton for our last night on the island so we could go to a luau. They charged us an additional $30 resort fee for our family. This was for using the city shuttle, but nothing else that was even interesting. The shuttle only goes until 830pm so using it for a luau in town is un doable. There is no airport shuttle either, so if you don't rent a car like we did, you would have to pay for a $60 taxi ride one way from the airport. There is no beach here either. But the manta ray night experience is remarkable, you can observe from the hotel, but to go out in the water it costs at least $110 a person. No food included, and overpriced restaurant is all you get. If you want a good experience on Hawaii try a smaller hotel or resort. Overcrowded, unremarkable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario canada

Lovely room and comfortable

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Room was Sheraton A+. Mai Tais were awesome. Food expensive and no room service at all. Location involved a lot of driving to get to other restaurants. View was lovely. Lots of seating around pool which was great. Luau was $169 usd because it was thanksgiving. All inclusive. Food exceptional and entertainment mediocre. Do not go. Many better on island. Really really resented paying $15/night to self park along with the $30 resort fee. Waikoloa resorts INCLUDE parking in fee. A hidden nasty surprise!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel.

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Overall it's a decent hotel but needs better service. We had a issue with clogged sink one night and no one attended to fix until next day after complaining to front desk and showed our frustration. Only one restaurant is on the property which is not comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles california

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Kids friendly ,good for family with kids. Very nice and clean pool area. Will not recommend for there fridays and Monday’s show. Game room was perfect for kids also .