Ratings based on 1,441 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

great location

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: Some maintenance required.
Location: Close to restaurants, bars and cafes, and within walking distance of the nearest beach, the wharf (for boat trips) and some local attractions.
Older style hotel with character. The hotel is centrally located in Kona so there were plenty of restaurants, cafes and bars nearby. We could walk to the nearest beach and to the wharf (for boat trips), while the local bus runs past the hotel. The room had a balcony, and the hotel has a pool and provides a continental breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, New Zealand

Seemed ok at first, but...

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Pools, staff were friendly and location fantastic. Parking very handy.
Cons: The whole hotel! Needs some serious upgrades!
Location: Great location, 5min walk will get you walking past lots of shops, restaurants etc.
We stayed at Uncle Billy's on two seperate occasions on our most recent trip. Your experience will really vary depending on the room you get. Our first stay was on the 2nd floor, the room was a bit dated and run down but seemed ok (until the two roaches came for a visit). The second room was on the ground floor and was terrible. Worse than some hostels I've stayed in for bottom dollar. Very old, dated and super run-down. The breakfast was very simple but ok. The checkout procedure took ages both times. Positives are the pools (they were great), the location (right beside shops, water, restaurants, etc) and the staff were very friendly. Easy parking too ($5 a night). Some good points but overall we won't be back I'm afraid, can't recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Terrible

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Water in the pool was perfect and the staff were really nice.
Cons: EVERYTHING!
Location: Lots to do nearby.
This hotel is very run down and shows that no one cares about it. No money has been put into this place in decades and it really shows! Location is good, but the property is just way too run down.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The mildew in the room was horrible. Sleeping with that mildew, musty smell was hard. There were roaches. At the front desk the water in the dispenser was warm.it also was a bit scary with people hanging out in the back under the umbrella area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Seemed ok at first, but...

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Pools, staff were friendly and location fantastic. Parking very handy.
Cons: The whole hotel! Needs some serious upgrades!
Location: Great location, 5min walk will get you walking past lots of shops, restaurants etc.
We stayed at Uncle Billy's on two seperate occasions on our most recent trip. Your experience will really vary depending on the room you get. Our first stay was on the 2nd floor, the room was a bit dated and run down but seemed ok (until the two roaches came for a visit). The second room was on the ground floor and was terrible. Worse than some hostels I've stayed in for bottom dollar. Very old, dated and super run-down. The breakfast was very simple but ok. The checkout procedure took ages both times. Positives are the pools (they were great), the location (right beside shops, water, restaurants, etc) and the staff were very friendly. Easy parking too ($5 a night). Some good points but overall we won't be back I'm afraid, can't recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

OK

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Very old and non renovated rooms. Air conditionning and fridge leak and smell. Humidity smell all over. Doors broken. Much too expensive for the facilities we get. Breakfast very poor, wifi never works (barely just a half an hour a day if lucky). OK for short stay and sleeping. Bed very confortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Nice hotel ocean view. No beach. But little one more like a pool within walking distance. Real beach about 30 minutes drive towards the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Central to everything

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Easy access to beaches,restaurants, night life, we had a blast....thanks again Nicolas
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Kona Bay Hotel Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Mahalo for your feedback! We appreciate all guest's reviews, and thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a good experience

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Cons: customer service, friendliness....
i would like some one to contact me regarding my issue there with early checkout and still being charged. front desk clerk was very rude and i will dispute these additional charges i'm being charges. hotel is a dump, needs to be blown up and rebuilt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Kona Bay Hotel Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Aloha, and thank you for taking the time to contact us. We are very sorry that your experience here with us was less than the standards we wish all our guests to experience. We would be more than happy to speak with you regarding your stay, however, we are unable to find contact information from you due to the anonymous post. You are more than welcome to contact us at the hotel directly to allow us an attempt to ameliorate the concerns you posed. Mahalo, and we look forward to hearing from you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Very run down. Rooms across the street need to be demolished.