Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whangarei

Absolutely top notch staff, supportive and helpful

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The character and layout.
Cons: Put plugs in the rooms beside all the beds. Put in a Spa Bath and an indoor pool for the guests and a small kitchenette with a sink and tea towels.
Location: Was there for a function so did not sight see.
The first night I slept on a very old and worn bed. The springs in the mattress were uneven to the point that I woke the next morning with a terribly sore back. However I approached the staff and they sorted me out for the 2nd night, which I had a much better sleep. I was really grateful to the staff for their help. I enjoyed the facilities and its layout. Unfortunately the phone network and wifi connection was unstable a lot of the time so this was disappointing. Neither of the rooms we stayed in, had plugs on the sides of the bed so this was a let down as we could not plug our devices in to charge while we lay in bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt Maunganui

Great location to excellent restaurants

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: Very warm reception with professional courtesy.
Cons: Larger kitchen area.
Location: No time to explore this trip, although the area is well known to us.
Had a wonderful time visiting friends in Peria and finished with a great dinner at the Beachcomber Restaurant a couple of minutes from the Hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nz

Tired

Posted May 15, 2017
Situated on a generous portion of land close to town, the northerner is a sprawling shadow of its former self. I can imagine that once upon a time it was the jewel in the crown of Kaitaia but these days it's in desperate need of a refit. The yellow wallpaper with faux Tudor lead light wall sconces also decorated in yellow glass provided a 70's theme that continued through to the stained wood furnishings, the stained burgundy carpet and the ancient bed all pointed to an owner more keen on selling the motel than providing a comfortable nights lodging for its guests. All told the stay was disappointing and despite the clean crisp linen and happy demeanour of the staff member I dealt with, I wouldn't be overly keen to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

The friendliest staff ever

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Wotif
My stay with my family was great at this location. The staff were really friendly and went above and beyond for service. The hotel is a little old but the price was good for what it is. I would easily recommend this to anyone. Thanks
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weymouth, Auckland

Quaintly quirky.

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The very welcoming and accommodating staff. That includes Lipton the cat!
Cons: Standardising the bulbs in the lamps. A few were missing and a number not working. Consider replacing the mattresses too - they're a bit hard.
Location: Kauri Kingdom, 90 Mile Beach, sand dune rides and the brilliant Waitapu Vineyard near Ahipara. The Northerner is well placed to reach all of these.
An experience not to be missed if you would like to go back in time. The decor is dated and tired but the hotel is clean and reasonably tidy. The staff were very welcoming and one of the highlights of our stay. The resident cat, who is as big as a bear, stole our hearts though. Good on yah Lipton! The food was very good and well supplied so that no-one in our party of 80 odd went short. A good effort on behalf of the very accomodating staff. I wouldn't have missed the opportunity for the world and would be very happy to call and stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
We arrived really late, so it's very nice that there is a night manager who was very nice to us. It was a busy weekend, there were no hotel's parking slots, but we were allowed to park wherever we won't block the drive. The hotel itself is a bit a old but has it's own charm.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
I get bitten by lots of mosquito.
3 out of 5
by T

Free parking and wi-fi.

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Nice comfortable motel. Free parking and Wi-Fi. Supermarket is very close.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No view. Bed was old. Room wasn't very clean

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Stayed two nights. When we first arrived the fridge was open and switched off at the wall which was fine, we closed it to find rubbish in the floor behind the open door and something spilled down the door, this wasn't cleaned either day we were there
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Don't use the spa they said at check in.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location was fine
Cons: Everything - some basic cleaning procedures could be implemented.
Very dirty and full of spiders and insects. Probably the worst stay in a hotel in my entire life. Itched and scratched all night. Receptionist recommended that we don't use the spa facilities as we may get sick. That say it all really. Appreciate her honesty.