Ratings based on 496 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from joliet, Illinois

Nice and clean hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2015
The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. It a nice hotel for the price. The hotel staff was friendly. I would definitely stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southfield, MI

Never Stay Here if Visiting Kalamazoo

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: It seemed convenient for access to the event I attended but there was NOTHING to like about the facility.
Cons: Smoke free zones. Better trained night staff. Cleaner rooms.
Location: It is easily accesible from expressway. There is a Denny's near by for breakfast. There are other far better hotels in immediate vicinity.
If I could give this location in Kalamazoo a lower rating I would. There was nail polish smeared on the nightstand. Room smelled stale. It is a non-smoking facility but smokers are allowed to congregate DIRECTLY outside of rooms. I was able to smell/choke on smoke from inside room. Cigarette butts everywhere in the morning. When I checked in I was told they had to keep a copy of my driver's license on file INDEFINITELY because of a police regulation. I asked if it was destroyed at some point and how did I know my personal information was secure to prevent identitiy theft. I was told it was kept in a box where only one person had access. I did notice that the woman who checked in before me did not receive the same treatment. Is this random or some sort of profiling?This online deal was no deal. Not what I expected from a facility on EXPEDIA!!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last minute hotel stay

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Not bad. Hotel is older and it shows. Area is pretty lousy. Abandoned business across the street is sad. Counter was nice. Room was clean and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Three days in Kalamazoo

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Close to destination.
Cons: All of the above.
Location: Open Market on Saturday for fresh fruits and vegetables and entertainment.
Condition of the hotel and room was OK. Breakfast was weak. Added the third night, but refused the Expedia rate by both hotel and Expedia No clean towels for the third night/fourth morning were provided. There was no hot water on the third night/fourth morning. We will use other lodging when visiting family again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo, MI

Baymont is off the list of preferred hotels

Posted Aug 10, 2015
We walked in to check in for our stay and another occupant called the front desk to say the previous tenants had left their trash. Then another guy came down and complained about cleanliness. Our reservation said check out was at noon but we were informed the manager had changed it to 11 am. There were dirty socks next to the bed (not ours) and the maid did not change out the toilet paper from the previous tenant. Overall, this was a horrible experience
2 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could have been good but wasnt

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Pool, breakfast.
Cons: More professional staff who can get the job done.
Arrived an hour before check in time as was told the room wasnt ready yet. No problem. Came back an hour and fifteen minutes later, only to be told the room still wasnt ready and the clerk (blond girl) had just sent housekeeping up to clean it. Why she waited so long was unclear, knowing that we were in town and waiting to check in. So, another half hour later the room still wasnt ready so she upgraded us to a suite with a jetted tub. Was great except the room absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke ( had requested non smoking). Smoke was so thick you could feel it on your skin. How housekeeping could ignore such a flagrant situation I dont know. Finally was able to flag down housekeeping to get air freshener spray which helped some. The breakfast was very nice and I did not use the pool but it appeared clean and well kept. Aside from issues mentioned would have been a good stay. The next morning I took a shower (to get the smoke residue off) and left.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sufficient Motel

Posted Jul 30, 2015
This motel is relatively clean and the staff is nice. It is a great inexpensive alternative.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great Staff, O.K. Hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Lots of building maintenance.
Location: Once the repaired exit is finished, it will be easy access. Kalamazoo and Battle Creek are close by.
Due to limited availability we booked here. Highway construction at the exit made for lots of detours. Hotel is old but some cosmetic updates have been made and outdoor pool is nice and has great handicap access. There was a baseball tournament the weekend we stayed, so to say that this hotel has no soundproofing is an understatement (aka lots of kids running around). But the next day when all had left, it was very quiet. Hotel staff is great! Sent us to some awesome restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Would be nice to have room service

Posted Jul 20, 2015
We booked this stay from Tuesday thru Sunday. By Friday I had to ask housekeeping to please empty my trash. We would get back to our room around 3:00 in the afternoon and our room was not tended to. By that time we just wanted to relax and rest before we had something scheduled at nite. On Sat. We got back to our room around 4:30 and could tell housekeeping was just there, as her cart was only a couple doors down. Have stayed in Baymont's before and never had this problem. Also the room seemed small compared to our other stays.
5 out of 5
for Business Travelers
by Alex

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels