Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

not an excellent hotel at this price.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Late Checkout Policy should be allowed till 2.00 pm if not more.
Front Desk staffs are less accommodating for any late check out even if its an hr extra besides standard checkout . Despite of late check out request through initial booking through expedia, the front desk was not in a mood to entertain an extra hour late check out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

1 NIGHTER OKAY

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: BED COMFORT AND PARKING
Toilet bowl could have been cleaner. Toilet flush too loud. Should have had a little bigger soap. The room door didn't close completely when entering and leaving room. I had to pull it shut. Refrigerator did not make items inside cold . Beds were a good size and comfortable. First time in this type of hotel since becoming an adult. Nothing compares to the 4/5 STAR hotels my family usually stays in. But since it was just an overnight stay, it was okay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Major Health Hazards

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Upon checking in and first entering room observed the following: feces in toilet, bug casings on floor and along wall, grimy, broken sink pipes and sink stopped up, was told to run faucet 15-20 min before using water because it's "hard water"- water was dark brown and linens yellow brown that should have been clean white. No ac in halls or lobby. Terrible. Overheard from employees and manager that two master keys had gone missing 2 weeks ago. This is not a good accommodation choice to say the least. We were fully refunded and left after an hour of waiting for others to be checked in though we reported the problems and asked for refund to depart before any others had come to check in. Treated as though we were unreasonable to request a full refund. We were in the hotel less than 15 minutes total before returning to lobby to inform staff/manager we would not stay and ask for refund.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by harryp, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay.If you have a moment and are willing to share any specifics on these items it would help me to remedy these concerns. However, regardless of your response to my request I want to make sure that you feel your comments were heard. I'm hoping that you'll visit us again. If you'd like, you can reach me at the hotel phone number. It would be a pleasure to personally discuss with you any specifics and / or suggestions you'd like to offer. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Dirty carpets on stairways, etc. Kind of shabby outside...door trim falling off etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are striving hard for excellence in cleanliness and guest satisfaction. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that your stay was less than perfect due to the condition and cleanliness of the hotel during your stay. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like for our valued guests to have. Your feedback is appreciated and will be forwarded to the hotel management for further improvements. We hope for another chance to exceed your expectations.
2 out of 5
by Philip

Never cleaned my room.

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
We spent two nights. The second day, house keeping never came to our room. Beds not made, no clean towels. I pay the same amount for each day I stay in a hotel, there for, the room should be in the same condition everyday as the first.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out to us. We apologize that you were not satisfied with the service you received from our housekeeping staff during your stay. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.
3 out of 5
by Sead

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
SMELL SO BAD, POLL IS DIRTY , BREAKFAST IS NOT GOOD ( FIRST DAY OKAY, SECOND DAY BAD) , THE ONLY GOOD THING IS YOU CAN OPEN WINDOW FOR FRESH AIR
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by Harry, Hotel Management
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receiving our best service. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
5 out of 5
by Jim

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Posted Apr 6, 2017
This hotel is super ugly. Outdated gold and reds that make your eyes sore. Our two full size bed room was small, but not horribly so. The bathroom was definitely on the small side. But both were perfectly matched with the low price of the room. And...everything was very clean! The beds were very comfortable. The pool well maintained (the lighting was dim, I'm sure they would have fixed that if we'd asked.) Breakfast was delicious and hot. And most of all service was wonderful. Polite. Kind. Extremely helpful (lookin' at you, Tri!) This will definitely be our go to hotel when we stay in Kalamazoo/Portage. There are great businesses and fun things to do close by as well. Sky Zone is right next door, so that's fun for kids.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Overall Terrible. Good staff, run down, facility in disrepair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by awmanager, Hotel Management
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.