Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from England UK

Convenient hotel for Western Michigan University

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Convenient, comfortable, clean. Helpful staff.
Cons: I hadn't realised I would have to allow a $40 hold on my card, which lasts for 7 days.
Location: You need transport to get places, but it was convenient for a taxi to the university. It felt safe.
I stayed one night before heading for the Medieval Congress at Western Michigan University. The room was extremely comfortable, clean and spacious and I had an excellent night's sleep. The staff were very helpful. I didn't have a meal there, but enjoyed being able to get a free coffee and buy snacks if needed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2017 by Abby W, Hotel Management
Thank you kindly for your feedback. We truly appreciate our guests and love to hear about their stay. Hope to see you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Apr 20, 2017
It was easy to find, clean, and there is a good restaurant/bar on premises.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by Abby W, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 out of 5 rating. We're glad to hear about your stay and hope you return soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
This hotel was clean, quiet and in a safe location. It was within a few minutes of downtown Kalamazoo and had a restaurant on site. I would stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Abby W, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and 5 star rating, we appreciate your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Clean !!!

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The waitress was very friendly; even remembered my breakfast order for the second morning which made for faster service.
Cons: The front desk girl did not explain direction to my room or elevator (I had to ask). But, was otherwise friendly.
Location: I could see Field & Stream retail store from the hotel :-)
The hotel was one of the cleanest I have ever stayed in. I chose a poolside room and it was a bit loud but I should have expected that. The exercise room was located in the middle of the pool and billiards area - which made me feel safe and secure even being alone. I would recommend this hotel and stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Abby W, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We strive to provide great customer service and hope to make each guest stay a memorable experience.
5 out of 5
by Chuck

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Chuck for the 5 star rating, hope to see you soon! Abby W Guest Service Supervisor
5 out of 5
by Amanda

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Just there for a night with family & friends. The kids had a great time in the pool & the game room. The adults enjoyed the bar!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Amanda for taking the time out of day to provide us with great feedback and the 5 star rating. Hope to see you again. Abby W Guest Services Supervisor
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Service

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
Was in Kalamazoo for business. Left my toiletry bag behind running to a meeting. Sara C. behind the front desk was very helpful in getting returning it to me before my next business trip. Hotel was clean, comfortable beds and quiet and the made to order breakfast was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valuable feedback, we are very happy that Sara was able to get you the belongings left behind in a timely matter. We look forward to your next stay! Abby W Guest Services Supervisor
4 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Mark for your 4 star rating,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
It is a nice hotel and is my go to when I visit my daughter who is attending WMU. I would have to say that my only complaint is that there is no "free breakfast" like there is in all the other Holiday Inn Expresses we have stayed in. I know it is because there is a restaurant on location, but their breakfast was way expensive and we usually only require a small nibble in the morning. Next time I will make sure to pack some morning goodies. Other than that, I really like this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your valuable feedback, we look forward to your next visit to WMU. Abby W Guest Service Supervisor
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was very welcoming and made me feel at home!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star rating, and we're happy to hear we succeeded being your home away from home. Look forward to your next visit.