Ratings based on 185 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fancy not plush.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Hotel was nice but there were no snack machines or refreshment machines accessible. 1 set was located in the lowest area in the hotel. No refrigerator or microwave in the room. Very small bathroom. Forced valet parking or park in the garage that was around the corner. I think I will look elsewhere the next time I'm in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west Michigan

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Staff was very nice and helpful. Valet Parking attendants were excellent. Clean, comfortable rooms.
Cons: Better access to the pool. Better parking conditions. Micro wave oven and refrigerator in rooms would be better.
Location: Easy to find. Farmers market was convenient and nice. More restaurant choices near by would be nice.
Was satisfied mostly but some things could be improved. Conference rooms were excellent and always ready when needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethlehem, PA

Truly Excellent Staff

Posted Jul 10, 2015
We stayed for a whole week. The Staff were excellent--really outstanding!!! They were very helpful with everything, both hotel related (e.g., helping with a TON of luggage we had) and non hotel related (excellent restaurant recommendations and directions to the zoo). The hotel was really comfortable and clean. Pleasing decor. Starbucks right there within the same building. Loved the Farmer's Market right outside the hotel (Wed and Sat--really good food--try the taco stand!). Great view of fireworks and hot air balloon events over the Fourth of July right from our room. So clean, fresh towels every day. The pool and hot tub were WONDERFUL. So great to have a place to relax and play every day. Wonderful for children. Right next door to a water park--had a fun time there one day. Extremely close to a WONDERFUL Mexican Restaurant called Nina's--went there twice. Yum. Very close walking distance the river walking park for beautiful walks, great food (Arcadia was GREAT, also bakeries), fun bookstore, a number of churches. The only reason I marked a 4 is that it took us a little bit to get used to the trains that run through Battle Creek. But if you think of it historically, it helps!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sidney

Working Progress

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: comfortable rooms and valet
Cons: guest services, room amenities, signs
Location: fourth of july festival
We stayed at the hotel because of the pool and the closeness it had to the activities we were attending. The room did not have a Fridge or Microwave which we were unhappy about. My daughter requires special milk and we couldnt even pop popcorn! The room was comfortable and the valet were greet (even if it cost $10). But the staff didnt provide where the pool was located (it was hidden and NO ONE could find it). You saw people wandering around trying to find it in their bathing suits. Smh. We also stayed because of Michigans Largest Starbucks located within the hotel. Come to find out it was closed Fri Sat and Sun. Maybe alittle heads up would have been nice. Disappointing stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Valet hours limited

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Arrived at 10:30pm, valet not available, parked car myself. Still charged for valet parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2015
very nice staff, and helpful. The train can keep you up all night if you are a light sleeper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and friendly employees

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: Convenient for our needs
Location: We were there for a memorial service for a friend in Richlands but we liked having the Casino nearby.
The coach that valet parked for us was extremely nice and friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Two weekends in a row.

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: The only bright spot in our stay was a young lady named Comfort who seemed to be the only person working in the restaurant, she did a great job ALONE.
Cons: It seems like the management I encountered weren't trying too hard to manage, allowing Jr. staff to shoulder the load.
We booked a room at The McCamly Plaza Hotel two weekends in a row for family events taking place in the Battle Creek area, we chose this location based on it's close proximity to our events and a decision we made to get away from chain run hotels. Our first weekend was uneventful, the room was clean however overall this entire facility has a tired worn out feeling to it, they appear to be renovating slowly, construction debris were blocking the elevator on the twelfth floor. The second weekend we had a two night stay booked, I woke up the first morning and went downstairs and inquired in the hotels restaurant if I could have a room service menu so my wife and I could order breakfast when she woke up only to be informed there was no room service this weekend only a dine in option in the restaurant. I went upstairs and my wife was awake so we decided to go down for breakfast, we were seated by a young woman, never offered menus and told all the were offering was the breakfast buffet, no prices posted. The buffet consisted of the same fare you get for free at a chain hotel at an exorbitant price, the family next to us thought it was free only to get a bill for fifty dollars! The hotel was not busy so the decided to put everyone on the same floor to make it easier for the housekeeping staff this resulted in our being surrounded by families with kids making all sorts of noise. I will not ever return to this facility, or recommend it to anyone the owners have a long way to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Battle Creek, Michigan

Nice

Posted May 21, 2015
It was nice, no complaints...I would stay again. Bt this time I'll try tha top floor penthouse's too get an even belbvs experience....lbvs...with my family. I would like to try tha pool out next time I stay as well as the food...other than that I think the hotel was very nice, clean and staff where polite.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Angela from battle creek, Michigan

nasty pool area & construction

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
This was my first time but heard about this hotel since I live in this town. Just needed a night away to enjoy the pool and hot tub with friends. The room was nice but I was very upset with my pool experience. The water was cold to the point my daughters lips turned blue and was shivering. There was a sewage smell that got worse in the stairwell. The hot tub was out of order which made me mad bcuz this was the main thing I was looking forward to enjoying. Along with the smell there were knats flying around. This was the dirtiest pool area I have experienced. They did not want us going through the lobby with swimsuits (understandable) but there is construction on the 2nd & 3rd floor so I had to walk up 4 flights of stairs to catch the elevator (with a child). There was a nasty sewage smell in the stairwell. Then when I went to check out I called for help with my bags and no one ever came to help. I ended up going down to the lobby, leaving my bags, to grab a cart myself. The front desk clerk thankfully watched my daughter as I went to get my bags. I always thought of this hotel as being fancy and top notch but I did not experience this. The main reason I went was to enjoy the pool area and was highly disappointed. If I knew the hot tub was out of order I would have stayed somewhere else. I will not be wasting my money here again.