Ratings based on 626 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Price was right for our stay. Great location.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: odor of room
Location: easy access to highways
Missed not having coffeemaker in room. Had to leave motel to get coffee. Would like in room coffeemaker..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Old, filthy, smelly hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: NOTHING. ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. THIS HOTEL IS SHOCKINGLY DIRTY, SMELLY, AND OUTDATED.
Cons: DEMOLISH IT AND START OVER. THEN HIRE DECENT MAINTENANCE AND HOUSEKEEPING STAFF.
Location: SERIOUSLY, LOOK FOR A BETTER HOTEL NEXT TIME AND JUST PAY THE HIGHER RATE. THIS PLACE IS A DUMP!
The hotel was absolutely filthy. By filthy I mean hair, bugs - dead and alive - in the shower/tub along with other unidentifiable debris. The floors had hair and other garbage everywhere and had not been vacuumed in a long time. I made the mistake of looking under the bed and nearly vomited. The room smelled like spoiled garbage. The TV remote did not work. The air conditioner was very noisy and broken open so the inside was visible (could be why it was noisy, huh?). The door had no security latch because it was missing/stolen/broken off. There were no facial tissues in the room. We were a party of two only staying overnight and did not touch anything we did not have to touch. Luckily, I brought some Clorox wipes with me and wiped everything I thought I might touch. When we woke up in the morning, we put on our shoes, packed our car, and left - no shower, no toothbrush, nothing as we were surely cleaner by not using or touching anything else in this so-called hotel room. We pulled into the next rest area on the interstate to freshen up. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at without exception. By comparison, I once stayed on Bourbon St in New Orleans during a garbage and SEIU (hotel workers) strike. This is still worse. Red Rood Inn should be utterly ashamed at having a property as filthy and outdated as this bearing their name. I have stayed at Red Roof Inns off and on for more than 40 years and was extremely appalled and disappointed in this property.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Many things were broken, or poorly maintained.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Cons: Tons. Start with management.
Beds were clean, dresser drawers were broken, bathroom door had a new knob on it, but was installed incorrectly and would not close. Definitely not worth the money, unfortunately.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will Not Return

Posted Jun 5, 2017
As a female business traveler, I might have felt safer at a different facility. Staff here was courteous and efficient with their service. The rooms were mostly ok with small issues (missing ironing board, tub not fully clean). There were people hanging out outside repeatedly walking the premises, sitting on the curb, sitting in vehicles and drinking in front of the rooms. I have lived in large cities where these activities are drug-related. Upon check out, a man sitting in the lobby was loudly and commenting on my check out procedure. Contractors were doing work in a large block of rooms in the building I stayed in. Overall, I couldn't sleep well here. I have stayed in a very nice Red Roof Inn by comparison, but wouldn't stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Gustavo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by David

Dirty Sheets and Comforter

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Sheets and comforter had stains and there was sticky stuff on the nightstand. Toilet was running and I had to fix it. The soap package was all sticky and the overall cleanliness of the room was terrible. I don't recommend this hotel especially for the money which was $105 for 2 double bed room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017
David, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave feedback regarding your room. I want to apologize for the issues that occurred during your stay. What you were provided is unacceptable. I will utilize your review as a teaching tool to ensure situations like this do not occur again. We expect much more from our housekeeping team and much higher quality for our guests. Again, thank you for your feedback. It is very important to us. I hope next time your Kalamazoo and require accommodations, you'll give us the chance to serve you better. Truly, Brittany S. GM
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
The room itself was nice. The rooms were loud with poor soundproofing. Had to ask to move because people in adjoining room could be heard 1) teaching their child to count 2) playing music (including hearing all lyrics) and 3) smoking pot
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017
Thank you for your feedback! It is important to receive feedback such as yours to prevent future occurrences of this problem. I will share your feedback with my staff so they'll be aware they need to take special consideration in choosing adjoining rooms for guest's. We appreciate your 3 star rating and hope you'll choose Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo West next time your in our area! Thank you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017
Thank you for your 3 star review! We hope you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us next time your in the Kalamazoo area!
4 out of 5
by Alexandre

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Got upgraded to the better King room from standard, no charge!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017
Dear Alexandre, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're happy you enjoyed the free upgraded king room with a coffee pot and mini fridge. It's the least we can do for guest's when we have the space available. I will share your 4 star review with my team as they'll be excited to see you were satisfied. Thank you!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Good for local stay
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017
Thank you for your 4 star review. We hope you'll be back to visit next time you need accommodations in the Kalamazoo area!