Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy!!!!

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Last minute due to weather emergency. Very noisy!! All night long!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warren Ohio

Excellent food but place needs upgraded

Posted Mar 5, 2017
The castle is in need of major upgrades in the esthetic value . The room we stayed in was quite cold with poor heating. The bed is not comfortable with worn out bed linens that were thin. I developed my allergies in lieu of dust buildup with the accreutiments of historical value displayed all over the room . But the food prepared by Chef Moyet was excellent !
3 out of 5
by John

Romantic Getaway

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
It was pretty busy due to Valentines Day. There were 2x the planned bookings so the place was understaffed. Servers were great. Very clean Good food
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

False advertising

Posted Nov 13, 2016
The website leads you to expect a room in the castle. We were in a house across the street. Not convenient to any facilities and basically just like visiting my grandparent's farmhouse as a kid. Also no way to control room temp. We roasted. Management in the Castle was very disorganized. No one seemed to have answers. BUT-the food at dinner was amazing. Eat? Yes. Stay? No.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing considering the price and hype

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
I've heard such great things about the Henderson Inn, but unfortunately our stay did not meet expectations, especially considering the price. First, we were given a different room than the one we booked. When I pointed out the discrepancy in the original receipt, the person at the desk did not apologize and refused to put us in the room we booked. The employees overall were rather unhelpful and seemed very impatient/disorganized. We also did not realize when booking that the room we were assigned was in the guest house, which is a bit of a hike from the castle itself. The room was cozy and had plenty of character, but was not very clean. One of the lamps next to the bed was unplugged when we arrived, and when venturing under the bed to plug it in, we discovered the floors were incredibly dusty. And although the room was equipped with a Keurig machine, there was no caffeinated coffee provided. While cereal and fruit was available for breakfast, the fruit was far past ripe. Finally, after checking out, I realized I had left a pair of pants hanging in our room. When I called to see if we could come pick them up, I was put on hold for several minutes and told they had to wait until the room was cleaned (I guess it wasn't possible to just go look?). Anyway, because of the private wedding, I was told I couldn't re-enter the inn, so I had to wait outside for someone to bring me the pants, and the staff failed to return the hanger. Overall, not a great experience for the price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great experience, even with the ghosts.

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
The building is magical and just like stepping back in time. I HIGHLY recommend that you give it a try. I only had 1 disappointment. When I booked the room it came with breakfast, which I got up early for. When I got downstairs the entire place was empty and not a soul to be found. I waited around for awhile, but nobody showed up so I just left. I was looking forward to it. Bummer. On a side note, I do believe that the place is haunted as I sensed 2 visitations throughout the night and awakened by nightmares. DON'T let this keep you from staying here, if anything it's adds to the experience. I will definitely go back next time I'm in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Not really what I was expecting, but ok.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
First, I didn't know that I would be staying in a smaller house across the street. It was nice but the bathroom was really small. In the middle of the night the toilet started making a loud bubbling noise and started to smell like sewer. The fixed it immediately upon letting know. You have to walk back to the main house for breakfast in the morning. It was very slow service, but it was delicious.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Shane from Tulsa Oklahoma

Highly recommend

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
What a great surprise to find this hidden gem.
2 out of 5
by Nicole

Not worth the money at all

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
I was very disappointed. The castle was closed for a private wedding and I was not told this before I went and was unable to use any of the amenities. I was stuck in my room like a grounded teenager. I also was not able to have the continental breakfast because the castle was closed.