Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Not really what I was expecting, but ok.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
First, I didn't know that I would be staying in a smaller house across the street. It was nice but the bathroom was really small. In the middle of the night the toilet started making a loud bubbling noise and started to smell like sewer. The fixed it immediately upon letting know. You have to walk back to the main house for breakfast in the morning. It was very slow service, but it was delicious.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint, historic castle B&B

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Ongoing renovation to castle and grounds in progress. Staff was very friendly. Food was amazing! Window air conditioning on 2nd and 3rd floor inadequate. No handicap restroom on 1st floor dining floor. Spa seemed disorganized. Called and asked us to go a half hour later and when we showed up still was not able to accommodate so we ended up canceling couples massage due to poor communication between their staff.
4 out of 5
by Larry from Otisville. Mi

Not handicap orientated

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
The castle could be more handicap friendly. The walkway was uneven brick and a long walk to enter. I finally tried going up the ramp behind castle and that was a very long walk too. Using a walker was very hard. Elevator was not working so I could not walk up the staircases to use the hot tub or see the terrace. I brought my own toilet riser and due to the shape of the toilet in the Library room could not use it. I had to have help sitting and rising off of it. No shower chair was in the bathroom. I had to sit on the toilet to shower.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mi

Victorian beauty

Posted May 16, 2016
Amazing staff, very busy on a Saturday night. Room was a bit dusty, but to be expected in an old house. King bed was super comfortable.
3 out of 5
by LindaDennis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Patricia from Town!

Great Castle but needs a deep cleaning!

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
I loved the Henderson Castle but would have loved it more if I could have opened the windows to my room, they were sealed shut with liquid nails or some other similar product. The curtains were dusty and musty and smelled up the entire room, a hotel should smell clean or like food! Finally, because this is an old Castle, noise travels so I wouldn't go here on my honeymoon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2016
This property is a work in progress. The grounds are beautiful and the property hopefully can be restored to its historical significance. I am hopeful that the owner and chef can achieve his dream of being a world renowned destination, the possibilities are certainly there. While we were only able to enjoy the continental breakfast, it was wonderful and certainly made us want to return again.
3 out of 5
by Ruth

Mixed reviews

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
They are doing renovations. Very fancy place. I stayed in the cottage. The bed was bad and the sofa bed was not much better. As they say looks can be deceiving and in this case yes very much so. I would stay here again but maybe in the Castle.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old world charm

Posted Apr 2, 2016
The castle was even better than expected! The staff were gracious and accommodating throughout our stay. We had a great time exploring the many areas of the castle, especially the roof top hot tub overlooking downtown Kalamazoo. The restaurant was an amazing experience as well. Keep in mind it is French couise prepared by a French chef. If you are expecting Applebees you will be disappointed but if you have an open mind you will really enjoy the experience. I would definitely recommend the Henderson Castle!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels