Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet relaxing stay

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Quiet relaxing stay, just what we wanted. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gippsland

Secluded and peaceful

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Very quiet and peaceful..possum feedings at dusk are great. Will always come back and stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Geoff, Hotel Management
thank you for staying at Kalimna Woods the possums really make the stay unique. See you again soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pakenham

Quiet Winter escape

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Clean and quiet, able to snuggle by the fire and relax. Host was polite and accommodating. Very close to Lakes Entrance and away from the hustle.
Cons: More signage about which direction to drive- we found out it was one way by chance Outside of the cottage could have been cleaner
Quite Winter escape within 5 minutes drive of Lakes Entrance's town centre or a leisurely 1/2 an hour or so walk (coming back might be a little more challenging!). The host was most welcoming upon arrival and signs showed you how to get to reception.Inside the cottage, whilst old, was very clean and well maintained. Wood was topped up every day for the fireplace. We had 2 bedrooms and a kitchenette with spa in the bathroom. Our cottage, whether by chance, was very well placed near the playground so our children could play. There seemed to be a few activities on site which we didn't get a chance to attend due to having planned activities or our children being tired at the end of the day. The cottages are less than 10 minutes walk from the Kalimna Hotel which one could go to for a meal and the beach as well as a lovely lookout. This would be a great spot for any time of the year- esp Summer if you don't like the crowds and want to be close to the Lakes. The only downside was upon arrival, outside of our cottage had an ashtray full of butts which wasn't very pleasing. We do not smoke and this made us wonder what we had purchased until we saw the cottage and the rest of the environment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by geoff, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review sorry about the ashtray will speak to our cleaner other wise glad you enjoyed your stay .Unfortunately the hotel is closed on the look out I am working on the grounds and about to do new signage shortly. Regards Geoff
5 out of 5
by Char

Give me a home amoung the gum trees

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
We were greeted at reception like we were returning home & nothing was a drama. The surroundings were exactly how we imaged it, in the woods, peaceful & back to nature but we still had the full comforts of home. I enjoyed it that much that I am already organising a girls weekend away in the not to distant future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review see you again soon Geoff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mornington Vic.

Nice secluded bushland setting

Posted May 9, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Rather unique compared to hotels in town.
Location: Close to town which offers a great selection of things to do.
Units welcoming and clean. A great setting in bushland with plenty of wildlife.Very friendly hosts. We will be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Geoff, Hotel Management
thank you for the review see you again soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Rustic cottages in bush setting

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Quiet self contained facilities. Wood heaters make it feel very cosy.
Cons: Tap in shower was dripping constantly when not in use.
Location: Very close to town centre, lots of beach & bush walks nearby. Great fish to buy direct from boats.
Quiet bush setting, cottages are older but very well equipped. Friendly host with lots of opportunities to view local wildlife.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Best of both Worlds

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Location.
Location: Superb beaches nearby - well worth the visit.
The cottage was located in the woods, but very near the beaches. It was very comfortable and well equipped with kitchen and BBQ. Loved feeding the possums and birds. Truly a treat!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC, Canada

Came for 1 Nite Stayed for 2

Posted Mar 13, 2017
We loved the ambiance of the cottage from the moment we entered! Very clean & comfortable & well equipped for our stay. Enjoyed the fireplace in the cool evenings. Bonus entertainment: 8pm feeding of possums & sugargliders & 9am bird feeding. Good location - short drive to town. Geoff was a very friendly host!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Geoff, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review you are right the possums / sugar gliders are a bonus
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Tamworth NSW

Bush Cottage Close to Lakes Entrance

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The bush setting, free standing cottage which is private and quiet; being able to self cater
Cons: There are plans for the property to be updated but it is currently comfortable
Location: Lajes Entrance is a great seaside holiday location about 4 hours east of Melbourne. A very pretty location, good eateries and water activities
For those who like to be among the bush within short walking distance to great views of Lakes Entrance and Kalimna Wharf with self catering, this is a great location. It is only a short drive or 40min walk into town. Each morning there is the opportunity to watch bird feeding and in the evening feeding of a sugar glider and possums. The current hosts have been there since Nov 16 and have plans for some upgrading to the property. We enjoyed two nights in this lovely coastal location in a quiet and peaceful setting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by geoff, Hotel Management
thank you for choosing Kalimna woods to stay we appreciate your comments very much. Geoff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Wotif
The quiet, bush setting, yet only five minutes from town was very relaxing and peaceful. Feeding the possums at night was one of the highlights of our trip. We would stay here again.