Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Homeless - moving

Good position - but.....

Posted Jul 15, 2017
I don't know whether it's Expedia's fault, but when I re-read the listing just now on which I based my one-night booking, I confirmed my suspicion that it said there was 'Free Internet' - meaning in my room to me - and there was 'Free Parking' which I assumed was on the hotel grounds. On arrival, I was informed that the free Internet was only in the public areas, and the 'free' parking was just on the street outside, which might not actually be available, and certainly was not secure. The fact that I would have had to pay for Internet in my room if required, was hidden further down the page doesn't impress me very much. While Lisa told me this was because of some customers in the past misusing it to download movies and using up the bandwidth, I still believe it should have been highlighted. At the same time, I could also understand people misusing it, because the TV available in the rooms is awful: I'd certainly suggest the hotel arranges for a DSTV basic package because SABC is rubbish, and e-tv isn't much better! Otherwise, the hotel is fine and in a superb position to enjoy the excellent Kalk Bay attractions. Being up the hill you get a lovely view of False Bay from your room and the walk back up from below can be well overcome with some alcoholic refreshments from the Brass Bell restaurants. One minor gripe - I'd suggest the management provide coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. Lukewarm cappuccino at 07:15 isn't very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Posted Jun 20, 2017
Pros: Views, location, large two bedroom unit.
The views and the staff were both great. But we had two real problems - first the unit was freezing. We built a fire, but that only helped warm up one bedroom. Also, the family upstairs (permanent residents we think) were extremely loud. We aren't usually very picky - but it was extremely loud, from running and jumping kids to playing the piano - you could hear every little noise loudly. Also,one of the bedroom windows had a broken lock and thus couldn't be locked.
5 out of 5
by Nicola

Great location, friendly staff and clean rooms.

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, friendly staff and clean rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hidden gem

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Great place one block back from waterfront. We wish we could have stayed more nights to fully enjoy this property.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 6, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice stay!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Location was ideal.
Cons: Room was very light so difficult to sleep (without eye mask). Also, footsteps ☹️️
Location: Whale watching (weather permitting) as well as boat trips. Nice (no frills) cafe called Kali cafe right down on the harbour was great.
We stayed in room 1. Only downside really was hearing every footstep from the room above (I know, not much they can do about that). Breakfast also was extra (R120 pp) when booking indirectly...free if booking direct with the guest house. Location was great for seeing the sights. No evening meal option meant eating out which was ok. All in all, everything you need and I suppose you don't really spend too much time in room anyway (well, we don't tend to). Oh, wifi was extra to (250mb foc, they more available at a fee)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great choice for a few days away from Capetown

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
Great choice, a lot of charm a lovely and welcoming team
4 out of 5
by Wesley from Colorado, USA

Great sea views up the hill from fresh seafood

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay. The owners and staff are so friendly and welcoming, and very helpful. Older home renovated into guesthouse with 16 rooms. Complimentary morning room service coffee or tea.
3 out of 5
by CJ from jeffreys bay

Nice view with rude staff.

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Very rude staff. Could not find the 2nd room we booked, and blatantly told us that we will have to phone Hotels.com to sort it out ourselves. Eventually the booking was found but with a wrong first name? Admin error?...No introduction given to what facilities are on offer at this hotel? Our 2 rooms were allocated in 2 opposite areas of the Guest House. No effort were made to ensure their guests were happy and comfortable. Luckily the Guest House had a great location for shopping & restaurants & pubs...which made up for our rude welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Excellent Getaway

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Very clean and the room was exactly as pictures on the website.
Chartfield Guesthouse was a very pleasant surprise and a great escape from the hustle of Cape Town. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. We only stayed two nights ( it was winter there) but I would stay longer during the summer months if the opportunity arose. It is close to the center of town and all restaurants are within easy walking distance. The Olympic Cafe is a must!