Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI, USA

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Staff was nice since we were late to check in. Room is big and clean. Breakfast is good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Pat, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. e are always happy to have feedback on cleanliness and friendliness.. Best wishes from all at Sonnekus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kona, Hawaii

Absolutely Perfect

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: I liked everything about this property. It's far to intimate to be called a hotel. The buildings, grounds, rooms, breakfast, and location are perfect
Cons: I can honestly not think of a thing that could be improved - and that's not like me!
Location: The property is in St. James - about 5 min from Muizenberg and not far from Cape Point, penguins, baboons, Capetown, Table Mountain,& Stellenbosch.
I have just returned home to Kona Hawaii after two fantastic weeks in Muizenberg South Africa. I stayed at the Sonnekus Guest House and am so glad I did. I tend to be the sort of guy who is up front and honest when someone asks how something was. In this case, I honestly not think of a negative (or even constructive) thing to add to this review. The house, rooms, breakfast and location are excellent but the very best part of staying there is Pat, Mike and Nick. I felt so at home and incredibly welcome. Pat is very personable, knowledgable, funny, and full of life. I am so glad to have met her and loved being around her! Mike (Pat's husband) is also very personable and genuinely a very nice guy. Nick (their adult son) works with them to prepare the amazing breakfast and a host of other behind the scene functions. He is most definitely a significant part of why I highly recommend this guest house! So, while it's obvious that I was thoroughly impressed with my hosts, the property itself is beautiful. The house has been exceptionally well kept and is very beautifully decorated. This place has quality written all over it from the mattresses and bedding, to the beautiful furniture, bathrooms, living room, grounds and dining room. I cannot recommend Sonnekus Guest House highly enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Pat, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Gosh, Thank you for taking the time to write us such an awesome review. We really enjoyed your company as well, and look forward to seeing you again another time. Best wishes from all at Sonnekus
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

A real gem on the sea

Posted Oct 4, 2017 on Orbitz
After a month of traveling, we ended our Africa adventure with the warm, wonderful, generous and gracious hosts at Sonnekus Guest House. Our stay was superb. The accommodations absolutely clean and comfortable. The breakfast delicious and bountiful. Most importantly, Pat and her family were a delight...going beyond the norm with their hospitality. Only wish we could have stayed longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by Pat, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed being with us, and perhaps one day you will return and then you can stay longer. Best wishes from all at Sonnekus
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxation

Posted Sep 22, 2017 on Hotels
It was the place i needed to rest. It was really lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us such a good rating. I am so pleased to hear that you were rested when you left us. Best wishes From all at Sonnekus
5 out of 5
by F H

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great rating. We appreciate the feedback. Kind regards, All at Sonnekus
5 out of 5
by William

An amazing stay!!

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
This was a wonderful experience for us. After travelling around some of South Africa we were looking forward to staying in one place for a few days and couldn't have picked a better place. Pat, the owner, was very accommodating and so pleasant at all times. Nick, her son, was also very easy to deal with and very informative; we even booked a tour with him as guide (through his touring company, TourScape) to Cape Point and that was one of the highlights of our trip. The views of ocean and mountains were spectacular. They went above and beyond and set up an extra bed in our (very spacious) room to allow our daughter to come and spend a night with us. I can guarantee that should we return to St. James we know exactly where we will stay!!
5 out of 5
by William

Best in Kalk Bay.

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
If you want a luxurious stay in Kalk Bay, this is the place,very spacious accommodation, an excellent host and a breakfast to die for, lots of choice and plenty of it, we were spoiled here from the moment we arrived, no need to say more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Best wishes, Everyone at Sonnekus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

Family run- caring and considerate: six stars

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The very adequate facilities and the personal caring of the owners who personally run the guest house
Cons: nothing of any significance
Location: situated on a quiet suburban strip and not surrounded by shops, but over the road to the beach and where one can swim. Shops 5 minutes away by car.
Ranks with the world's best and especially because of the warmth and attention of the owners and their staff, all of whom went the extra mile to make our stay like home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Mother1, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. We really appreciate the positive feedback as it helps other travellers to choose us as their destination. Very best wishes, All at Sonnekus.
5 out of 5
by Richard

Perfect St James BnB

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful one night stay with my 92 year old mother and a very welcoming host. It was ideal to have the option of their ground floor room for her as she struggles with stairs.One suggestion might be the option of an early morning self service breakfast if one is unable to stay for their full delicious breakfast on offer
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We are so happy we could accommodate your Mom's need to be downstairs, and we've noted your suggestion of a self serve breakfast for those very early morning travellers. Very best wishes, All at Sonnekus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Very spacious rooms, close to sea.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
We stayed in eight different locations during our trip to South Africa and this was the best accommodation. Huge room, lots of light. Safe and secure. Excellent location for touring the Peninsula.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Mother1, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a glowing review. We really appreciate positive feedback. Kind regards, The Sonnekus Team