Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Halifax, Nova Scotia

Old world charm and service

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Great location. Beautiful setting between mountain and sea.
Location: Beach directly across the beach. Kalk Bay is an "English" fishing village full of pubs and great restaurants.
The St. James Manor consists of three side by side luxury properties owned by Rovos Rail which operates 5 star train trips. The "Manor" with its Victorian furniture and Persian carpets and the Seaforth are a bit more 'hotel like' than Homestead which is more light and open. At the Manor you would order a drink at the bar but at Homestead you can just help yourself to the excellent wines and well appointed kitchen. The breakfasts were great. The staff, particularly Good News and Lawrence were amazing, making local recommendations and reservations for you. Lawrence was waiting at the roadside when we arrived to park our rented car, carry our heavy bags, give us a tour, and opened two bottles of wine and set us with bowls of crisps on the deck while he put away our luggage. We had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Vos, the owner, and you could see that his hands on management, pride, and attention to detail would ensure an amazing stay for every guest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Dené, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback and staying at ST James Guesthouses. We wish you a wonderful festive season ahead. With best regards, St James Guesthouses
5 out of 5
by Ajay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Chandru

Truly the Best experience ever!

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
One of the must surreal stays I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. Was upgraded to their renovated facility and was Lorded upon for the entire stay. Can't stay I've ever received such exemplary service anywhere in the World. Well done guys. You're definitely on my list for future stay overs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to host you again in the future. With best regards St James Guesthouses
5 out of 5
by Anders

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Laid back Luxury

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The well appointed rooms and relaxed lounge area, with drinks
Cons: Minor attention to the pool area
Location: Nice beach across the road with a tidal pool. Short walk to hippy Kalks bay along the coast road. Kalks bay itself has a number of (busy) restaurants
Lovely stay at the St. James Homestead. Staff (especially Clive) really friendly and accommodating. The rooms are superb: beautifully decorated and refined. The kitchen and lounge areas with the all inclusive drinks and nibbles, make it a very relaxed but pampered atmosphere. The pool area is good too with great views over the sea. Enjoyed the breakfasts which were cooked to order and delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Lee-Anne Koller, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Meryl, Thank you for the feedback received. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the valued feedback. Wishing you a pleasant 2017. With best regards, Lee-Anne Koller
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

Excellent Stay - pleasantly surprised

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Everything..
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very convenient and close to Falk Bay as well as Cape Point
This is a great old house converted into a hotel with only 7 rooms. The entire ground floor is used as a study, reception, lounge, dining hall and a bar which is very spacious and old colonial style. Rooms are well designed and very comfortable. Staff are courteous, helpful and always eager to please. Both the persons on day duty, Michael as well as Goodnews were very helpful and took care of all our queries. Amazing to find a hotel that let you use the entire Bar on the ground floor and let you have any drinks for free, including champagnes, wines, cognac, liqueurs, scotch etc.. Very convenient location quite close to Falk Bay and about 30 minutes from Cape Point.. Whilst all hotels refers to its customers as Guest, whilst the St James Manor and its staff actually makes you feel like a real GUEST..
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Lee-Anne Koller, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review. We strive towards experience orientated offerings, and celebrate that your experience has been real. We trust that you will enjoy the remainer of 2017. With best regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A return visit already anticipated

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Great location. Great value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the St James Guesthouses. We look forward to welcoming you back within the near future. With best regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
There is absolutely nothing to complain about. Amazing place. Book it now before it's gone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the compliment. We will be sure to give thanks to the team on your behalf. Wishing you all the best for 2017. With best regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luxury feel and comfort of home

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing hotel right on the beach. Luxurious property and beachfront view with incredible staff. Best part about it is the beer, wine and liquor included as part of the room.
5 out of 5
by hamza from Antibes

Posted Mar 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great people and beautiful place to stay, feel like home