Ratings based on 1,021 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno

Very nice hotel in center of town

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Hotel in center of town. Easy walk to castle and eating places are only a block away. Will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Malin, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for your review! We hope to see you back here in the near future. Best regards, Malin Devida Carlsson, Reception
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

solid hotel in bustling area

Posted Aug 17, 2017
This hotel was right in the middle of the beautiful town square. The hotel staff was friendly and even upgraded our room. I stayed in Stockholm before this, and the Kalmar hotel was much nicer and more comfortable. I had the best night's sleep! I definitely recommend the bar next to the hotel, Pipes of Scotland as well.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Old school and I liked it.

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
Hardwood floors, great staff, good breakfast, good dinner on the main square. Quiet, comfortable, old scholl and I liked it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location

Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
On a cooler day, perhaps this hotel would be rated higher. It looks marvellous and is in a wonderful location but on the day we stayed (25 degrees) the hotel and rooms were hot and uncomfortable.In some ways, it is a hotel of contradictions. There seems to be an old and new hotel. Service for check in and dinner was pleasant but slow. Dinner was lovely and inexpensive yet car parking in their own car park was as expensive as that in Gothenburg and Stockholm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bloomington, IN

Wonderful hotel in a wonderful city

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Large room with a great breakfast
Location: See the castle, cathedral and a wonderful city museum.
Beautiful walkable city and wonderful castle. Hotel is on the main square in a well renovated building. The free breakfast is over the top with a variety of breads, fish, yogurt, juices...
4 out of 5
by Angela

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was nice. Should probably give details on hotel location that here is no parking in front of the hotel since it is in the town square. Our room had a skylight and no windows. Sort of a loft area. I don't think the hotel was very busy so an upgrade would have been welcomed to a room with windows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Nice hotel close next to the square

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Close to shops and restaurants
Nice hotel. There is no clear sign outside that it's the Calmar Stadshotell (just Hotell). The location is great, next to the main square and walking distance to shops and many restaurants. The room was nicely renovated with comfortable bed. The was room is well lit and excellent shower. Breakfast was also excellent. All in all, great experience there and will likely be back. One draw back is the lack of open, free parking. There is underground parking for a fee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Middling hotel at a good price

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Quite clean, nice room with refrigerator, nice shower albeit tight quarters, great buffet breakfast and great breakfast staff, very conveniently located, good price. Cons: We were in a room on the public square side of the building (#303 I think), with a window that was more of a skylight, not a true window. The hotel does not have a/c, so as weather was exceptionally nice, room was too warm and the skylight had to be opened for cooler air - unfortunately this meant morning light and public square noise came in and disturbed our sleep. They do loan fans to you, which is nice, but too hot for me to leave window closed unfortunately.