Ratings based on 1,029 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2017
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
stayed for a long weekend in the Budget part of the hotel. A very pleasant stay. Had a good sleep in the bed and the room was spacious. A big plus is the breakfast and light evening meal, and complimentary tea and coffee all day.
5 out of 5
by William

A refreshing stopover.

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Couldn't be a handier location for a one-night stay on our drive between Stockholm and Copenhagen. Hotel right across street the Kalmar 'palace/fortress' on the waterfront. Very good food, including free dinner, at dining hall in the back courtyard. Lodging in dorm on side street was spartan but comfortable. On-street parking posed no problems.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by William

Enjoyable stay

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
Very nicely kept old hotel in a historic district. Enjoyed!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy stay, early checkout possible

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel dinner that was incl was less tasty. Some strange yellow risotto with cheese on top, breakfast was just fine. Alright bed!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

ABSOLUTELY NOT A 4 STAR Hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: Most everything
I just do not understand who give this hotel a 4 Star. What criteria do they use? I went from this hotel to a 4 Star hotel in Lund and the difference is heaven and earth. We were in the Annex, I would rather call it barracks. Poorly maintained, not clean, a lot of food smell from people using pentrys due to poor ventilation, terrible little showers etc. etc. The list can be made long. The main building has two small nice bar rooms for an evening drink. But as they were filled with families with small children until midnight, they resembled more a day care center. The breakfast is just the basics, but with poor quality and the worst morning coffee I have ever tasted in Sweden. All in all, if you are adults without children and do not need to cook food in the room, stay away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Nice city hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2016
It was a very nice old fashioned hotel, both breakfast and dinner buffé was included in the price and it was better than expected. It was close to main shopping and sightseeing such as the Kalmar Castle.
3 out of 5
by Stuart

Well located hotel with some deficiencies.

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
I thought the room was too small with inadequate space for storage; we had to reposition some items in the room to make more space; given the amount we paid, the size of the shower room was inadequate. The breakfast was good (but I have had better variety elsewhere) as was the complimentary evening meal; good location in relation to the town centre. The parking available was only street parking which was something of a lottery; at least it was free.