Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great beachfront !

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: ambiance. Exterely polite staff
gorgous room. Fabulous pool and ocean access and view. service and as outstanding from the minute i arrived I was treated like a vlued guest. Very short walk to Bentota train station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite and relaxing

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Deck chairs in poor condition, wooden and broken. Very humid rooms. Property dated. Wooden boards at the pool rotten and repaired by nailing rubber mats on top of the holes. Breakfast reasonable, staff very attentive and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvanis

Great location

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Excellent attentive service! On a fantastic beach. Wonderful pool. Easy walk to Bentota train station and 5 min tuk tuk ride to Other station, this experience is why we love SRI Lanka.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beach side hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
the hotel was a very peaceful beach front hotel. beach was busy at weekends with locals but quieter in the week. the al la carte restaurant quality of food was much better than the evening dinner buffet. though the buffet was fine. good breakfast buffet. expensive alchohol if youre venturing out of the hotel would recoomend VTS Lanka - local tour operator and drivers. if you venture out alone (particularly women) you are constantly pestered by hawkers and locals trying to guide you / sell to you. VTS were very professional and extremely well priced.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Beautiful hotel in need of some maintenance

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Design and the suite
Cons: Attention to detail
Location: Good
The staff were wonderful and on first impression it looked amazing! On closer inspection there was a lack of attention to detail such as floors not being absolutely clean and the shower having a lot of visible soap sum on the shower screen. This was fixed as soon as it was brought to their attention. Slight mix up with booking which was rectified the next day was a misunderstanding on my part and a compromise from the hotel. The food was mostly great (steaks were tough but they're not Sri Lankan food so maybe understandable), fresh grilled fish was incredible as was the fresh fruit and other foods. They made a very special effort for my daughters birthday which was greatly appreciated. The beach was the best we had seen but the pools had a few loose/missing tiles. Minor complaints but overall we had a lovely time here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Expected more from AVANI

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Quiet beach
Cons: Consider changing the bathroom toiletries. The shower gel provided has a very strong unpleasant smell. Smelled almost of turpentine.
Enjoyed the beach and swimming facilities but I'd expected more from AVANI, given its brand name. Room had a musty smell when we entered. Bedroom floor was also sandy (note. bedroom slippers were not provided).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location on the beach

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Cleanliness was a big issue all over the property. Internet did not work for 5 days and nobody took any action. This was very inconvinient and made me shorten my stay: Hotel location is ideal for vacation and food is great. Staff attitude is very pleasant in general in all Sri lanka which make your stay pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dubai

Lovely hotel right on the beach with amazing views

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Super friendly staff who are also very helpful. A lovely relaxing place to soak up the sun, take beach walks and have a massage. The continental breakfast was amazing too. The best looking hotel in Bentota.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi

Great beach.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: It has a variety of dining options. They are needed as there is not much in the town.
Cons: Dehumidifiers in the rooms.
Location: River boat trip, jet skiing, kayaking, turtle sanctuary and many day and half-day trips.
Loved the beach and rough surf. Good hotel with friendly staff. Stayed there 12 years ago. The name has changed but still excellent staff and friendly service.