Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Private beach but beware (read on)

Posted Dec 8, 2017
So we stayed 5 nights at Novotel Kamala Hotel. Wow, Novotel, a branded name. But little did we know we were in for a cumbersome time. Firstly, upon reaching and check in, their front desk staff was arrogant with the way they were talking and explaining things to us. Due to accent adjustment issues we sure did not fully understand at the first explanation, instead of patiently explaining things again, she started to sound frustrated and passed off an arrogant vibe and look and sounded really impatient again when we did not understand what she needed. This is Strike 1. Secondly, after a not so welcoming check-in, at The Land of Smiles again, the room was a disaster. Upon entering, it was okay, for a few seconds. Mosquitoes (yes in plural form) started flying everywhere, within minutes, i had become a serial mosquito murderer (about 7 in a matter of a few mins). Basically the room was not neat and tidy as you’d expect upon entering a hotel with a reputation. We didn’t get the ocean view but we got a construction site view, definitely not the best of views and the sound. But that’s okay, we had pre-empted ourselves with regards to that. In the end, my family had to shift to another room because of quite a number of issues with the current room. This is the first time ever in my life in any hotel in the world I had to do this. Well, there’s always a first for everything. We had to keep calling room service for missig items too. Strike 2 & beyond. Overall stay was a 2/5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2017
I only had a day at the hotel. But had a great stay. Hotel is located in a quiet corner of Kamala Beach that can be quite busy depending on the time of the year. I booked the ocean view superior and let’s put it this way. I could see the ocean. I think they shouldn’t market and charge extra for it. Besides that, everything was great !
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by Clara , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to warmly thank you for your 5 star review regarding your recent stay at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach. It is always a real pleasure to receive such positive feedback. It is an honour for us to read that you everything was to your liking and it is with pleasure that I will share your compliments to our team. We sincerely hope we can welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Best regards Clara Horlon Digital Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, quiet, affordable hotel.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Location, pool, breakfast
Cons: The property itself is aging and is in need of some upgrades. Seems construction is underway already.
Location: Patong beach <15 mins by taxi. 45 mins from the airport
The Novotel Kamala is dealing with construction on the adjacent property. We were upgraded to a villa on the opposite side of the resort and could not see or hear any noise (granted it was over the weekend with minimal work being done). The property, visibly, is in need of some renovation with the exterior showing water damage and rusting. However, I feel good value for money and in a decent location. Breakfast buffet was excellent and staff was very attentive and courteous. Caution: From June-Nov, Kamala Beach coastline is littered with garbage. This is not a knock on the hotel. The Novotel clearly spells this out and organizes multiple clean-ups daily. A group of about 20 guests + locals + staff headed out and had the entire beach cleaned in <30 minutes. This is not a Phuket problem; this is a global problem. Spend the 30 minutes it takes then enjoy the rest of the day as you see fit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Clara Horlon, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write in to share your experience on Expedia. It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed the upgrade to the villa, it’s true they are amazing and the privacy they offer whilst getting the views over the bay are second to none. You made a valid point with regards to the hotel walls and facades, we are in a challenging environment on the seashore and as such we are continually working on maintaining the hotel and its facilities, nevertheless thank you for raising it to us. Thank you also for highlighting the great effort from the team to clean the public beach several times per day, as hoteliers on this beach we take great care and pride in ensuring it is kept in the beautiful state it is in. We can only hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon. Warm Regards Clara Horlon Digital Marketing Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA

Nice but near construction

Posted Aug 8, 2017
The room was nice. The value was worth what I paid for. The room was very basic, spacious and comfortable. The noise from construction wasn't too loud compared to some tourists outside in the morning getting ready to go their day tour. I believe the cheapest room was the furthest which felt a little bit like a maze walking to the rooms. Hotel staffs were nice and kind. Always ready to help. I would stay here again but I would pay for more for the room with view. A little more can make a difference.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Clara, Hotel Management
Dear Mel, Thank you for writing in and let us know about your experience during your recent stay at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach. We are very proud to read how much you appreciated our employees' quality of service and willingness to help, I must agree that they are the best, and they’ll be thrilled to hear your lovely words. We can only apologize for the behavior of other guests, and we are very sorry it affected your stay. Please be assured that the inconvenience you had has already been addressed to our Management team, so thank you for bringing that up to our attention. It would be an immense pleasure to welcome you again at the hotel, Best regards Clara Horlon Digital Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
by K K

Romantic location for couples. Nice & private

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
Right on the beach. One has a constant sea breeze the whole day. . Roof top bar has a great view especially for sunset. Food was good at the Cafe, for Dinner a well as breakfast.. It would be nice if the Hotel runs a regular shuttle service into the Kamala Town area. Don't mind paying a bit for the ride if necessary. Shower area needs a door to prevent water from spraying out to the rest of the bathroom
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017
Dear K K, It was a delight to read your 5 star review regarding your recent stay at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach. We are always very happy to read how much our guests enjoyed their time with us and I do agree with you that we enjoy an ideal and beautiful location at the end of Kamala Beach. We appreciate you sharing your suggestions about adding another shuttle service to Kamala village, we will review your comment with the Management Team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon Best Regards Clara Horlon Digital Marketing Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad check-in service, renovation outside room.

Posted Jul 30, 2017 on Hotels
Bad: We booked this as a wedding anniversary trip, having stayed in Novotels in both Asia and Europe before. Never have I seen such bad check-in service by staff named AN**E( not a thai name, hair in braids. Avoid.). She KNEW that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and she gave us a room directly facing the renovations and we had to deal with all the noise while workers could peer directly into the room from outside. (We asked if it was possible to get a free upgrade only to be told that all rooms are full, they need to prioritize the waitlist for upgrades, however if we wanted to pay more, a room was available? So if we pay we can upgrade? Aren't all rooms full as she mentioned? Aren't celebrations a priority? It is very obvious that she looks down on Asians. (We aren't even Chinese, my husband is Korean and I am Singaporean and we speak perfect English.) Left a bad racist taste in my mouth and completely spoiled our anniversary trip right at the start. (I don't mind paying more if the service is good, we had an awesome dinner at Diavolo in Paresa resort that cost 4 times more than a room in Novotel.) Just to think, any gracious action on her part could have resulted in 5000-6000 Baht spending for food and drinks inside the hotel by us. Good: All the other local Thai staff had wonderful service. Pool was great. PRO-TIP: for transportation, use GRAB Taxi! Do NOT use the overly expensive hotel car or taxis the hotel calls which overcharge by a lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach. We are disappointed to read that your experience at the hotel for your anniversary didn’t meet your expectations. As an International hospitality company with diversity at the core of our values it is upsetting to read your review. Our company prides itself on being inclusive and welcoming to all. The team member that you mention in your review is indeed Thai and is also disappointed that the interaction gave you that impression, as that was not her intention. During peak periods we do our best to give complementary upgrades when possible; in your case, the room types available were of our premium categories and unfortunately these do incur additional charges as we are unable to give this benefit to all guests due to physical availability. The transportation arranged by the hotel is from a local partner that insures a level of service and the driver’s level of English, with these additions a premium is added the charge. We employ this option as we cannot insure the safety or the level of service with local taxis. Once again we apologize if the interaction with our team impacted your stay at the hotel; We do hope we are able to better serve you in the future. Best regards David Talbot Executive Assistant Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BAD

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Poor room no hygiene kit in bathroom, very bad tourist tour provided by hotel pool animals on chain and long boring drive around collecting fees for travel agencies visiting stupid places, dirty water crossing beach! Very bad
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Clara Horlon , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review with the Expedia community and let us know about your recent stay at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach. Please allow us to sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you encountered whilst with us, this is definitely not what we aspire to deliver to any of our guests and for that we are very sorry. Thank you for raising up some areas that need our attention. The areas you mention, from the tour desk to the bathroom cleanliness have been taken seriously and measures have already been put in place to address the shortcomings. In regards to the water in front of the hotel; unfortunately during this time of year it can be quite challenging to control it, but you will be pleased to know we are working together with our neighbors to improve direction that the water takes and appreciate your kind understanding on this. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future With best regards Clara Horlon Digital Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
by Nicole

Paradise.

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Quiet and relaxing. Amazing breakfast and friendly staff. Best spot on kamala beach . Only problem was noise of construction is going on next-door. But that is temporary. I definitely would stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017
Dear Nicole, Thank you so much for taking the time to write in following what sounds like an amazing holiday experience; one that we truly love to hear about. We are very proud to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate our employees' quality of service and their friendliness. I must agree that they are the best, and they’ll be thrilled to hear your lovely words. Regarding the comment on the construction site, we understand how frustrating this might have been and please note that we are closely working with the owner to minimize the impact on our guests, we are just sorry it impacted you stay. We truly hope to welcome you back in the near future With best regards Clara Horlon Digital Marketing Manager
3 out of 5
by Ravindra

A business hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Pros: 1. Near to Kamala beach which is quite beautiful. 2. Breakfast spread good. Food (and presentation) in restaurant is very good especially pineapple fried rice. Cons: 1. Construction work going on. I was upgraded to partial see view but I could view a drainage. 2. A lot of safety hazards. The room is quite compact so a lot of time you hit one thing or another. 3. I didn't like the swimming pool. It had a lot of obstructions like plants in the middle even though it was big. 4. Need security deposit of minimum 1500 THB per room per night otherwise you will have to pay everywhere. 5. Quite far (12 Km) from Patong area which is the most happening area and it takes a lot of time to cover that distance because of slope and only one lane. 6. Entrance and parking. There is only one gate used for entrance and exit however security staff helps a lot in taking car out. 7. Taxi services provided inside hotel staff are useless. Taxi and Tour staff is not friendly. 8. It's more like a business hotel than leisure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017
Dear Ravindra, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your most recent experience at the Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach. Please allow us to sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you encountered whilst with us, this is definitely not what we aspire to deliver to any of our guests and for that we are very sorry. Thank you for raising to us some areas that need our attention. The areas you mention, from the tour desk to the swimming pool, have been taken seriously and measures have already been put in place to address the shortcomings. Regarding the comment on the construction site, we understand how frustrating this might have been and please note that we are closely working with the owner to minimize the impact on our guests, we are just sorry it impacted you stay. However, we’re happy to hear that the front office team managed to allocate you another room. We truly hope to welcome you back in the near future With best regards Clara Horlon Digital Marketing Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Cons: Halal food options would be nice.
Good experience all round. View and proximity to the beach is spectacular.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017 by Clara, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to warmly thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay at Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach. It’s nice to receive your positive feedback on what sounds like a great and relaxing holiday with our quiet location on the seashore. You will be pleased to know I have shared your feedback with the Soul Kitchen team in regards to your Halal food feedback; thank you for mentioning this to us. We can only hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon. Best regards Clara Horlon Digital Marketing Manager