Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malmö

Trevlig ryokan med bra onsen

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Maten är toppen men om du är västerlänning så beställ inte frukosten (waist of money då det inte är mycket du kan äta). Boka deras Secret air onsen i god tid innan (det är väl värt pengarna). Hotellet har gratis pick-up och lämning på Kameoka stationen. Kameoka ligger bara 15-20 min med tåg från Kyoto!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of tge best hotels i have staied on

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Great place, wondeful staff and outstanding room and food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from korea

레스토랑 가이세키 요리코스가 아주 훌륭함

Posted Aug 2, 2015
교토시내에서 좀 떨어져 있어서 불편하긴한데 그이외엔 직원들도 친절하고 공기도 좋아 가을에 다시 한번 가고 싶네요.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to turn off your brain

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Stayed for one night with a party of four. Ordered the Secret Open Air Onsen (private hot springs) for about $40 USD. Could not reserve the spa, even though we asked several months in advance. Pros - Friendly staff. - Free 30 minute shuttle bus to/from Kameoka station. - Delicious food (Bento Box and Tempura). - Relaxing atmosphere. - Room reasonably comfortable as it can get with futons on the floor. Cons - Food expensive. No other options for food in area. - Nothing in the area, although you are best spending the whole day in the ryokan relaxing. - Secret Open Air Onsen was a little dirty and had more bugs than I would have expected. A significant part of your time-limited paid experience will be spent trying to find it. - If they removed the television from the room, it would have made things significantly more authentic feeling. Overall pleasant, relaxing experience. It was very much needed after 6 days of exploring Tokyo on foot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James from Singapore

Very good, worth staying

Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
Very good. Feel like we are treated like a VIP. No wifi in the room. Opt for the japanese style dinner & breakfast. Not used to it. If you want to try the Secret Onsen, suggest book days or weeks before as we booked when we check-in and given time slot 10pm to 10:45pm and late at night is quite scary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by TATT JIN from Malaysia

Ryokan Luxury

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
Staying at the Ryokan Sumiya Kihoan is truly a one of a kind experience for travellers. Though on the pricey side, I highly recommend a short stay for those looking for something different.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Evelyne from Bruxelles

Super dépaysement !

Posted Apr 16, 2015 on Hotels
Cet hôtel fonctionne avec le respect des traditions japonaises...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional Japanese-style Ryokan

Posted Apr 14, 2015
A must stay for the full Japanese experience. Wish I had time to stay longer, and will definitely book again. Beautiful traditional-style rooms and hot spring. Great service with authentic feel. Only negative is somewhat far from the city, but the hotel provides a shuttle back to the train station after checkout.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Phooi Leng

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Beautiful and peaceful place.

Posted Apr 5, 2015
It was one of my best experience in Japan. Staffs make you feel very welcome and couldn't do anymore to please me. I stayed 2 nights, they made sure I had a different diner and breakfast each time. I highly recommend it. They put attention to each details, up to the moment the bus leaves to the station. What a great Japanese experience.