Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017
One of the best onsen hotel that we have ever stayed in Japan. I would recommend everyone to stay at least one night of accommodation in onsen hotel such as Sumiya Rokyan to experience Japanese onsen and the traditional Kaiseki dinner. Value for money!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Asia

Not value for money

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Paid a fortune but got only dinner with seasonal vegetables. Onsens very small and not well equipped. Strange that no drinking water was provided in the changing room. Just small towels provided in the onsen, and you will be charged if you need additional bath towels ! Service not on par with general Japanese onsen standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Relaxation destination

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: The onsen is lovely and the atmosphere is nurturing. We had an extraordinary experience.
Cons: One very minor thing was the smell in the elevator - it was kind of dank and musty. Perhaps the carpet needs to be changed.
Location: There is a shuttle that will take you to kameoka station and nearby attractions, but we didn't go anywhere. It was so peaceful at the ryokan.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing experience, felt fully relaxed and pampered.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Great service , not too far from city , easy to access
5 out of 5
by Hong from Gillette, NJ

Delightful experience

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great onsen experience and room service. Exceeded our expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

It was a great experience

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: The staff was very nice and the food was great! It was also easy to get to.
Cons: The location is next to a main road. It doesn't really bother you, but if there was no road and just nature it would have been perfect.
Location: There is nothing really nearby. Be sure to bring snacks or eat before. Take the shuttle back into town and catch that to Arashiyama for a day trip
I've stayed at another Ryokan in Nikko that was THE BEST experience, but I could say this is almost just as great and easier to get to. I went with my girlfriend and stayed for two days. We hit the onsen each day, had kaiseki, breakfast, and also the private onsen. I would say that is a MUST do at this place and do it during sunset. you won't see the sunset, but you'll see the nature in both light and dark. The food was authentic and delicious, the onsens were not the biggest, but nice, and everyone working there was VERY nice. I'd go again for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great authentic experience of Japan

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: The onsen, the food, and the people
Cons: I know this on me but being 300lb man their largest yukata could not accommodate me, but since its an onsen it didnt really effect things.
Location: the hotel is in the mountains so its a great place to walk around a hike!
The onsen was great, I wish I could go back tomorrow, for a japanese room it was huge and had plenty of great features, which really let me heal after the last couple of days of walking across tokyo for 8 hours at a time. Everything was very organized and there were set times for dinner and breakfast. the breakfast was insane, just great food after great food. I spent my night hiking around the town of Kameoka and it was all very gorgeous and I took a ton of photos. The shuttle was very convenient and was pleasant too and from the train station.
5 out of 5
by BENNY from Hong Kong

Excellent ryokan fantastic private outdoor onsen

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Great service for an excellent couples retreat