Ratings based on 505 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from terrace bc

Close to main areas for new people.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Downtown perfect, nice security to feel safe. Staff was always nice, chambermaid always patient. Definitely would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chilliwack, BC

Great Location

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: The breakfast and secure parking.
Cons: New pillows, clean sheets.
Location: Great downtown location, you can walk to the park, restaurants and shopping.
We stayed here 3 years ago and were really impressed. This time around we noticed it was more run down. There was a big stain on our sheets that seemed as though the bedding hadn't been changed since the last guests used it. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were too soft. The towels were soft and plush but the water pressure in the shower was lacking, it was difficult to rinse clean. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice downtown hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Room was very comfortable and quiet. Great staff. Underground parking option was nice since our car was full of stuff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Very good, centrally located property

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Quiet, convenient, friendly, modern
Cons: No makeup mirror in the bathroom (magnifying mirror would be nice)
Location: Downtown, close to stores, the hospital, city hall, etc. - good for doing business and close to Centrepoint meeting facility.
This centrally located hotel had everything I needed as a business traveller. Newly renovated, tastefully done, relaxing and quiet. Excellent, helpful staff and friendly service. Very comfortable bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Kristen, Hotel Management
Dear Annie, Thank you for your great review of Hotel 540. I am glad you truly enjoyed your stay and we met all of your travel needs (exeept for the makeup mirror). Thank you for your feedback as we continually strive to improve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What's not to love

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Very quiet and beautifully appointed hotel, great beds, good tv programming plus on demand. tried restaurant last time, just fabulous....
Cons: Can't think of anything really
Location: my favorite Brewery The Noble Pig is 200 meters away.
This is the second time I stayed here. First time was a conference 2 years ago, this time just t not have to drive home (2 hrs) after a surgery. Great place to work and to relax
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2017 by Kristen, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hotel 540 and for your 5 out of 5 rating, We are truly glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back again. Sincerley, Kristen
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
thank you for your 5 out of 5 review. We are very happy to see that you truly enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return. Sincerely, Kristen
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

If you stuck and have to stay in Kamloops!

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: For Kamloops it is a best hotel
Cons: Customer service, cleanliness
Location: Blenz coffee
It is a best hotel in Kamloops, but it doesn't mean it is a good hotel, because other hotels are much worse. It is the only one more or less decent hotel in the whole Kamloops. Staff are need to learn what is customer service truly is, hotel is poorly maintained, poorly managed. If you stuck as us and have to stay in Kamloops - this hotel is the best option.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2017 by Kristen, Hotel Management
thank you for taking the time to review Hotel 540. I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay. We would like to hear why as you can see by other reviews this is not the norm. Sincerley, Kristen
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Nice hotel...unless you need sleep!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The rooms are clean and attractive, although very small. The beds are comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Cons: Absolutely no noise insulation. Every thing your neighbours are doing - inside their rooms, out in the hallway - might as well be right inside your room. Vents connect the bathrooms in neighbouring rooms, so conversation is amplified. We started on the 2nd floor. The noise from the street was like we had the windows open, and the paper thin walls meant neighbouring activities kept us awake all night long. The next night we were moved to the 4th floor. The street noise went away, but the inside noise was just as bad, and we were treated to a yelling match down the hall in the middle of the night as well as cigarette smoke through the vent system. Basically, this seems to be an old, low grade hotel that has been upgraded to look very nice, but the underlying construction is still very cheap. It also seems to attract low-etiquette clientele. I am surprised at the high rating this hotel has; I am completely put off and grumpy from sleep deprivation. It's been a long while since I've been this frustrated with a hotel experience. Yes, the lobby is pretty, the interior has been renovated tastefully. But the main reason I book a hotel is for the sleep. Didn't happen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
thank you for your review. We are very pleased to receive this 5 out of 5 star rating and pleased you had a great experience at Hotel 540. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Kristen
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
thank you for your 5 out of 5 review of Hotel 540. We are glad you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Kristen